We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2009

My wife and I fretted a bit about staying here because we usually choose charming B&Bs and are used to a bit lower price point for our accommodations. However after looking at many locations in Amboise and nearby, we simply could not find anything nearly as nice as this. We were very glad we splurges with the room rates and got their deluxe room which is on the second floor with a terrific view out the front with the Castle and sunsets right there.

The room was truly great. Elegant and comfortable. The bath rooming was impeccable with toiletries provided as typical with a hotel rather than a B&B. There were terry robes, excellent WiFi, good closets, safe box and mini bar fridge. The bed was great and the linens very fine. The room has spotless maid service.

The public rooms were elegant and filled with light. The breakfast room was beautiful. The terrace was also very inviting. There was an open bar area (for a charge) and some room service food items available but we did not partake of them.

The staff was very friendly and professional and quite fun when having lighthearted conversations with them.

many have complained in their reviews about the high priced breakfast surcharge and we too thought that the price at first glance was very high. We thought we might try to cruise into town to get something cheaper, but when we checked prices, they were not very much cheaper. We decided to try the breakfast once. Well, it was just excellent. The china and tea/coffee service were beautiful and the buffet had more food than anyone could eat. There were even eggs (hardboiled) and ham along with all the other typical large French breakfast standards and some cold cereals. We realized that when considering the prices that we were already paying for the room, the beautiful surroundings and decor, the quality of the food, and the sheer convenience of eating on the property, that it was well worth it. We ended up eating all four of our breakfasts there and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

I think it would be better for them to raise their room rates and include the breakfast so that people would not have to gnash their teeth over whether to partake of the breakfast or not, but i am sure they have their well thought out reasons.

We really enjoyed our stay here and have no negative comments to make at all. Non-stuffy luxury all the way. Oh, and free secured parking in their front lot on the property - that was very nice!

One quirk. When you register they ask for a deposit and actually charge your charge card. This is quite unusual in my experience and at first I was put off by it, but our experience at the hotel made all of that melt away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imagier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2009

My 15 year old daughter and I stayed two nights at "Minimes" in November. The hotel was easy to find in the dark! (with GPS...) - when we arrived we were greeted by the most friendly staff that spoke lovely English to our horrible French. The front desk clerk insisted on carrying our bags up to a cosy third floor room in the attic of the manoir. There was everything you could want in the hotel, an informal bar downstairs, lovely room, lots of common rooms for lounging, a gorgeous courtyard, view of the Loire, great breakfast where your drink selections were remembered, sheepdog at the door. The staff recommended a local restaurant that was great and even called ahead to help us work out the menu, good internet access. The town of Amboise is a great base for journeys to the local chateaux, and wine tasting in Vouvray. One word of caution, there were signs all over banning outside food and beverages at the hotel, on the grounds, even in your room - so lock your sandwiches and that fine bottle of wine in your trunk at Minimes!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan_0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay at Hotel Le Manoir. The hotel is beautiful and has a friendly and helpful staff. You can walk to the shops, restaurants, Sunday market, church, Chateau d'Amboise, and Chateau du Clos-Luce and Leonardo da Vinci Park. It is also an easy drive to various caves for wine tasting.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuthBrussel_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We spent two nights at Le Manoir Les Minimes touring Amboise and nearby chateaus (Chenonceau and Chambord) in the Loire Valley. The hotel was beautiful. Our room (a suite that slept 3) was very nicely furnished and had a great view of the Loire. The hotel itself is ideally situated, right between the wall of the Amboise castle and the Loire, an easy walk to the restaurants in town and up to Clos Lucé, the Da Vinci museum that should not be missed on a trip to Amboise. The hotel had a nice little terrace for a drink before dinner and an excellent petit dejeuner. Extremely helpful and warm hotel staff. Pricey but worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank americain_a_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We had a great stay at this lovely little hotel. The location is very central in Amboise, with the castle and restaurants a short walk away. The town is also a very nice option in the area... we found it far more charming that Blois or (and especially) Tours. The major chateaux are within short drives, though the better wine regions are further afield.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We were familiar with the Loire valley and decided to stop in Amboise for two nights on our way to the Dordogne. At the time we made our reservation, several months in advance, all rooms in the Manor had been booked and so we reserved a deluxe room in the cottage.
Our reservation was handled professionally.
On our arrival we were greeted warmly and the check-in was handled well. The staff were most helpful and readily assisted with our heavy luggage and with suggestions and recommendations.
Our room in the "cottage" was perfectly clean and spacious, although headroom was lacking on one side, however, we found some details lacking, especially drawer space.
We would return but only to a room in the Manor.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlighWestVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I don't think there is a better place to stay in Amboise area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boazleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
241 reviews
15.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Address: 34 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amboise
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: $114 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This authentic 18th century Manor house was built on the foundations of the ancient medieval Monastery des Minimes and is situated in proximity of the old town. It is the ideal place from which to explore the chateaux and vineyards of Loire Valley. The selected stopping place offers its visitors comfort "a la francaise", a harmonious blend of sophistication and intimacy, whilst affording glorious views of the Chateau Royal d'Amboise and the river Loire. Air-conditioned rooms. No restaurant. Private enclosed parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Les Minimes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing