We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Manoir Les Minimes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Magnificent Manoir Les Minimes”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a beautiful hotel this is. We stayed here for two nights in December 2012 and absolutely loved our huge suite. It had a very comfortable king size bed and then in a little alcove a lovely couch that made out into a double. Every evening when we returned from dinner this couch had been pulled out and made ready for sleeping which was one of the lovely little extra touches of which this hotel had many. The room was beautifully decorated in period furniture with plush decor and the bathroom was modern and spacious. We had a lovely view out over the courtyard with the river on one side and the lovely Amboise Chateau on the other, both of these were lit at night and made for a lovely view. The downstairs public areas were again beautifully presented. There was a main lounge with gorgeous antique furniture, even an old harp and off this was the breakfast room which was beautifully appointed and offered an excellent spread in the morning. There was also a library with more period furniture yet modern conveniences such as computer facilities. The offstreet secure parking was a bonus. What made this place stand out for me was the wonderful staff. Unfortunately I didn't get the name of the lovely night receptionist but he was such a friendly and helpful young man and made our stay thoroughly enjoyable. The hotel is a very short stroll from the main trading area of lovely Amboise in which you will find plenty of good restaurants and shopping opportunities. If you are looking for a lovely stay in an authentic old chateau without an exorbitant price tag then this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    171
    26
    11
    0
See reviews for
168
714
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was nice enough and the location was amazing but not a place for children or adults having fun. We are not a wild group by any means but just gathering in our suite at 10:00 drinking wine and laughing warranted a visit by the noise police!!
We weren't even allowed to drink wine in the outside area that we had purchased from the local winery we had just toured! We were told we had to buy from the hotel. They even charged for ice!
Not impressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ayeshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricDEFORGES, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, but sorry that you are dissatisfied with the issue you addressed in your review of us.

We are a boutique hotel with only 15 rooms. Because we are intimate in size, we must take into consideration the noise level as it affects all of our guests. While we want all of our guests to enjoy themselves, we can not allow one guests fun to hinder other guests rest and relaxation. We feel that a 10 pm restriction on noise is more than adequate. While we are sorry we could not meet all of your expectations, we would be even sorrier if we had complaints from the rest of our guests.

We do thank you for feedback.

P. LONGET
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuilly
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Only one receptionist upon arrival at 5pm who wanted to be helpful but had to manage several phone calls while he was escorting me to the room. Room was ok, rather small but overlooking the Loire. Nice bathtub but no shower available except a small "douchette" to clean the tub. Breakfast had really nothing exceptional. Nothing hot and just what you would find in a common 3 star hotel. The yogurt I picked up appeared to have a consumption date exceeding 2 days... Last but not least, when I mentioned to an unpleasant receptionist in the morning that there was no shampoo in the bathroom, he did not even know if this was normal or if customers were supposed to use shower gel to clean their hair.

Room Tip: Overlooking the castle or the Loire river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konnect92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricDEFORGES, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Sir or maybe should I call you dear colleague as a fellow manager of a hotel in Paris …
Thank you for your comment, but we would like to clarify your review in order for the Tripadvisor's members to get an accurate picture.
On your booking form your requested “the cheapest room” and requested a free upgrade as a fellow colleague. Of course it was our pleasure to accommodate your request!
At your check in, the receptionist didn’t stay behind his desk, but meet you in the parking lot to welcome you and to carry on your luggage.
He familiarized you with the House: informed you about the night security, the breakfast room, the different lounges, the free Wi-Fi access in the hotel. He also assisted you with outside dinner reservation at La Fourchette where you apparently enjoyed a delightful evening…
He also escorted you to your room. Unfortunately, during this time, he did receive two in house calls; By the way they were both very short.
We wish we could offer a better staffing level, such as the service you could find in the finest palace with 200 to 300 rooms. Unfortunately as a hotel manager, you know that a smaller bed and breakfast such as our can not support such a staff level and provide a competitive rate such as the 95 Euros you paid. However it does not mean that we do not take care of customers like you suggested!
Secondly, your bathroom had a large corner bath tub overlooking the Amboise Castle with a hand held shower head. The receptionist asked you if the room was to your liking. To his memory you told him that the room was nice. If you would have mentioned that you wanted a shower it would have been our pleasure to try to accommodate your request based on our availability as we had rooms equipped at that time with showers.
For the breakfast, you are correct. Unfortunately one fruit yoghurt had slipped through the cracks and was 1 day past expiration. We apologized and immediately replaced it! .Thank you again for having brought this to our attention.
Regarding the shampoo, you did indeed complain to the receptionist that there was none in your bathroom. He did inform you that the “corp et Cheveux” (body and Hair) amenity was different than some other hotels. They were in a large green bottle branded Thierry Muggler (luxury brand of cosmetics that obviously you did not know).
We are not sure what answer you were expecting when in the morning you told us that there was not any shampoo except that large big bottle.
We are sorry you felt the receptionist was unpleasant when he was doing his job correctly and trying to stay diplomatic.
We are dedicated to our guests and we try to do our best to make their stay a memorable one and fortunately the sincere testimonies of Trip advisor's member showed us that we are succeeding. Unfortunately it seems that we failed with you and we are very sorry about it....

Eric Deforges
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Wife and I spent one all too brief night at this lovely hotel just before Christmas. Alexandre welcomed us to the hotel, and kindly made dinner and sightseeing suggestions, both of which proved to be very helpful.

Our room was perfect, small, but not more cozy than inconvenient. The bathroom was great, and the a hot bath in our oversized tub offered a lovely respite from our travels.

The location is wonderful, a 3-5 minute walk from the main shopping street, and our room offered an enchanting view of the Amboise Chateau and the Loire River. As an added bonus, the hotel offers enclosed parking, which is particularly convenient if you're touring the Loire by car.

We'd recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking for a couple nights of peace and quiet in a lovely town conveniently accessible to several Chateaus.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tybbalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My mum and I stayed for two nights during our 10 day trip and it was well worth it: wish we could of stayed longer. We had a lovely top floor room overlooking the river. We read reviews that complained about the beams in the bathroom - it was one of our highlights! The service was exceptional from assisting our arrival, a glass of wine in the late afternoon after a busy day and a cup of tea late at night before bed. The room was quaint and the common area was wonderful. We could have spent a week especially with our view of the river. The new we were paying more than other hotels in the valley and it was worth it.

Room Tip: Their website shows each of the rooms, a great feature to select the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This review is long overdue. I stayed with my husband and mother-in-law in September. We shared a deluxe manor room which provided more than enough space for the three of us as the bed slept two and the sleeper sofa comfortably accommodated the third adult. I can’t add anything that hasn’t already been mentioned; service was excellent, parking was convenient, the setting was beautiful, etc. What I enjoyed most about staying at Manoir les Minimes is its proximity to many nearby attractions. It is an ideal place to stay if you’re interested in exploring the East Loire Valley. The décor and ambiance of the hotel really add something special to the overall experience. The only thing missing is a restaurant/bar however there are plenty of places within walking distance that offer good food & drink. Also, I’m not sure if it just happened to be a coincidence but we seemed to be significantly younger than other guests (and we’re not super young - mid 30’s). Since my goal was to relax, I didn’t mind but if you’re looking for something a bit more lively, this may not be the place for you. Overall, I found the hotel to be the perfect place to take in scenery and enjoy the little time I had in the Loire Valley. I would definitely stay again – the hotel was one of the highlights of my trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank electra005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

When visiting the Loire Valley, Amboise is a charming town to use as a base. The shops, boutiques and restaurants meander at the foot of the chateau--it is majestic at night with all the lights. The Manoir is just steps from all the center and very tranquil. The service is impeccable and the owners take pride in the hotel. I have visited several times and have noted a difference in the room standards. Some are quite cramped and in need of a refreshing while others are spacious with beautiful views. Be sure to ask for a larger room. Naturally it will cost more but it will be worth it especially for stays of more than one night. Breakfast was elegantly presented but was a bit lackluster in its offerings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
562 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
589 reviews
15.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes

Property: Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Address: 34 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
#1 Family Hotel in Amboise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This authentic 18th century Manor house was built on the foundations of the ancient medieval Monastery des Minimes and is situated in proximity of the old town. It is the ideal place from which to explore the chateaux and vineyards of Loire Valley. The selected stopping place offers its visitors comfort "a la francaise", a harmonious blend of sophistication and intimacy, whilst affording glorious views of the Chateau Royal d'Amboise and the river Loire. Air-conditioned rooms. No restaurant. Private enclosed parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Les Minimes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing