We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but a bit dissappointing”
Review of Hotel Le Blason

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Blason
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok but a bit dissappointing”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Travelling through on a bike trip with my 2 adult children and stayed for 2 nights. A bit to budget for me. Very good value for 3 people sharing if you dont expect more than a clean bed. Room for 3 was large enough but no thought gone into decor at all and the bathroom was very small with inadequate ventilation. Could be a problem in winter. Bed was comfortable. When I booked I expected more charm than we got. some staff were not that friendly. Breakfast was really aweful. Greasy croissants from the microwave and reconstituted oj and coffee from instant machines. Breakfast was very cheap and a rip off even at 7 euros. could have bought beautiful fruit and fresh pastries up the road for less. The restaurant next door seemed like a convenient option but was not very good. The hotel location is good. Old charming exterior disappoints inside. Air con is a mobile unit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    141
    54
    24
    14
See reviews for
72
131
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in a double room for 3 nights, we had a nice clean room, nothing excessive but very nicely kept and quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location in Amboise, not too close to the castle and restaurants but a quick walk. We did some biking to the nearby chateaux so we liked that Hotel Le Blason had a deal with a local bike shop to store bikes in their garage and hold our bike pump and lock for the bike shop owner to come pick up. Great French breakfast with fresh homemade croissants for a good price that we could eat in the dining room or our room. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMirvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel was very good value for money, in the heart of Amboise. Close to all the resturants and city centre. Staff friendly and helpful. The room was on the small Sid and the bathroom very small but manageable. The hotel had a great old world charm about it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, it was easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tess57sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ideally situated hotel with a free car park right outside. We selected this hotel as it is used by cycling holiday companies, and we were cycling using a locked bike carrier on our car. Yet the staff were not very helpful to us in that regard, implying that the bikes might not be safe left on the car (they were safe) and then trying to charge us 3euros each bike to leave them in an insecure open garage down the road. Also, when we were soaked to the skin(!) the staff could offer us nowhere to dry our clothes - so we thought it a strange choice for a cycling holiday company. That said, there was a heater in the room. It's a splendidly old hotel and very clean - rooms are small and bathrooms smaller still and the smallest shower in the world but it all worked and the bed was big and comfortable. The breakfast is inadequate for the price, although fresh. It would be easy for them to make a little more effort and offer fruit, yogurt....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntyRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel Le Blason is nice hotel budget-priced and very centrally located near old town, restaurants, & attractions of Amboise. Very friendly and helpful staff. There is free Wi-Fi in room from ‘Hotspot’ service, A simple breakfast is 7.50E extra, no elevator.

We liked the old timber-beamed quaint feeling of this hotel, good soundproofing on windows so pretty quiet, free parking for our small car was available near the hotel every afternoon and they have inexpensive paid parking if you cannot find a place. Located at: 11 place richelieu, www.leblason.fr, tel: 02 47 23 22 41

We recommend going to Le Clos Luce for the Leonardo da Vinci displays and recommend the Restaurant L’Alliance next door (14 rue Joyeuse) and Chez Bruno near the Chateau (38-40 Place Michel Debre).

Travel tips on where to stay... The town of Saumur is a very good place to base your explorations of the western Lorie Valley. Saumur also has some very excellent restaurants and is the center of excellent wine tasting drives with unique chateaus to visit. The quaint village of Amboise, with its plentiful lodging and dining offerings, is a good place to base explorations of Loire Valley’s eastern side where the large most popular chateaux exist.

General Loire Valley Travel Tips... Visiting the Loire Valley during the peak season (Summer – July & August) can be very busy with traffic, higher prices, overwhelming crowds visiting the chateaux, full restaurants, advanced reservations necessary, etc. Visiting during the ‘shoulder’ seasons (May/June and September/October) is much better. When we visited in early May we walked right up to buy our tickets and had many places to ourselves with choices of restaurants booked the same day and hotels the day before. The weather cooperated with us but you should be prepared for rain some days. Be nice and many waiters will assist you with the French-only menus. Eat a lot of French food – it’s wonderful!

Hundreds of chateaux dot the Loire Valley comprising a thousand years of astonishingly rich architectural and artistic treasures with their sky-topped turrets and glittering banquet halls. The first were fortifications, with moats, drawbridges, and arrow slits. The more extravagant construction took place later, in the 1500’s and beyond, with over-the-top Renaissance flare as French kings and nobility went on a building spree, each trying to outdo the other. That spree ended in the 17th century when French royalty choose to stay in Paris and neighboring Versailles.

Some of our favorite major chateaux were the large ones located in the eastern side (Chaumont, Chenonceau, Cheverny, and Chambord) and the medium sized in the west (Azay-Le-Rideau, Villandry, Breze, and Langeais).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WayneDunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spent one night in this hotel. The owners were very nice and accomodating. I had a ground floor room which was perfect. The rooms on the 2nd floor have dormers that make it a little inconvenient for the person who sleeps on that side. The hotel was very well situated for exploring the town which was quite lovely. Wish we had more time to spend. The breakfast, which was extra, was very nice. Free parking was almost at the front door a big plus.

Room Tip: If you don't like to climb steps or if you are at all handicapped, ask for Room #1. It has a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We needed a place to stay during a long weekend of castle visiting in the Loire. We wanted to stay in Amboise for its central location, and this hotel was an easy-to-find good value within walking distance to Amboise Castle, the Loire, the Sunday market (a must) and dozens of restaurants. The half-timbered building is atmospheric (from the 1400s). Parking is plentiful on the nearby street and square, even over the weekend. The breakfasts included croissants and yogurt. Restaurant service was OK but I would characterize it as "self service" instead of a proper restaurant. (Coffee is from a vast machine, for instance.) I would stay here again based on excellent location and value for money. It's very easy to find excellent and extremely expensive hotels in the Loire, but this middle-of-the-road good value hotel is harder to come by.

Room Tip: Top floor quadruple bedroom was tight but workable for a family of four. Good wifi throughout. Watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chalmerswayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chaptal
Hotel Chaptal
#14 of 25 in Amboise
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#5 of 25 in Amboise
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#19 of 25 in Amboise
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#4 of 25 in Amboise
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.7 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#11 of 25 in Amboise
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Blason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Blason

Property: Hotel Le Blason
Address: 11 Place Richelieu, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Blason 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of town, 900 feet from The "Chateau Royal" and of Leonardo Da Vinci's house, Le Blason welcomes you in a fine XV and XVII century house. Our 25 rooms are all fully equipped with bathroom (shower), private toilets, telephone and flat tv screen. We provide private and secure car park and free internet access in the lobby or in your room (wifi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Blason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Blason Hotel
Le Blason Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing