We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Blason

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Blason
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here with my son and was unimpressed. The bathroom was the smallest I've seen outside of an RV, the carpet thin and stained, and the wireless connection was so bad I finally gave up and walked to the lobby to update email and check the weather forecast. Breakfast was expensive and not worth it--the only cheese offered was "Laughing Cow" wrapped cheese you can buy in an American supermarket and otherwise included breads (those were excellent of course) and yogurt. Service and location were both good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjconbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    134
    53
    22
    14
See reviews for
68
124
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in a family room at Le Blason. The room was small and the bathroom tiny, but we really enjoyed our stay anyway. We had very good service and liked the breakfast, which was simple but plentiful. The owner gave us helpful advice for sightseeing. The location was good and we were able to walk to dinner and explore on foot. There was also free parking on the street right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharzanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Possibly one of the worst hotels that I have ever been to - rooms were stifling, no aircon on the lower floors and tiny. The only positive is that they were clean. As a seasoned traveller I don't mind old fashioned rooms but I do expect a friendly welcome. The staff here are sneeringly unhelpful and I almost gleefull when we complained about the poor quality of our room and asked for airconditioning. Although they were not full they refused to give us an alternative. The room was 35 degrees and hotter than the square outside. I would not recomend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PuddingPeggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amboise hotels

London, England
Level Contributor
200 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have stayed here twice as part of walking tours, the holiday company picks the hotels and they have mostly been good or very good but we really felt this place lets them down. Maybe the staff at Le Blason are nicer to longer-staying of privately-booked guests but both timew we have received a grim, off-hand welcome and been given dull, stuffy pokey rooms. the first time (2 years ago) we thought (as other reviews seemed positive) that this might be just an off day, now we know that it wasn't and we will not return.

Room Tip: Choose one in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Location is good and very central and rooms quiet. Luckily we booked the 'superior' double and on the top floor with air conditioning. The air conditioning is a godsend as it can get extremely hot in Amboise, it is essential. The room was fine but could not possibly have been smaller with a standard double bed and not much room to move. I was suprised at how dated it was as website said renovated in the last 4 years (this must be a big stretch could only have possibly been repainted and air con installed? but definately not renovated in the usual sense of the word). The bathroom was very unusual similar to an aeroplane capsule, again extremely small - a large man would not fit. The shower has a removeable head but no where to actually attach this (just a hook to sling it over) so if you don't want to wet the entire bathroom it is very very awkward. We asked if there were rooms with bigger bathrooms but were told they are all the same. Room smelled a little musty. Wifi was frustrating - one of those external systems that you have to log into on a webpage (needed to constantly relog in everytime phone went to sleep and even then the signal would cut in and out often not strong enough to do basic things).

Room Tip: Only a room with air con! And can't see how anything below a superior double would be liveable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

You know the type of hotel that just has an irresistible appeal to it despite having none of the characteristics most people today associate with a good hotel? Well, Le Blason is one of those hotels.

Its rooms are small, furnishings and decor look like they date from the late 80s/early 90s, there's no elevator and the (circular) staircases are quite narrow, there are no fancy soaps and lotions (just simple soap and shampoo packets), there's no pool or spa services, its not part of a chain so it doesn't award points or miles, etc.

Yet, I absolutely loved Le Blason.

Housed in a 15th/16th century building, the whole place radiates a certain charm that I haven't experienced in a very long time. I mean, your staying in a place that was built around the time that Cartier claimed Canada for France and/or Columbus set sail for the Americas! Creaking floors and staircases, exposed wood beams and hap-hassard passageways add to the appeal. Even the fact that the room keys are like they used to be back in the day (that is, actual keys with heavy metal key fobs) and not electronic cards also somehow add to the charm of the place. Our rooms (we had two) both had a view of the Chateau d'Amboise which was the "cherry on the sundae" from the charm perspective.

Speaking of rooms, they are basic but clean (and I'm picky about clean rooms and bathrooms). Yes, the bathrooms are tiny as everyone has commented but they're functional. So some water sprays under the shower curtain when you bathe - big deal... it stays in the bathroom and gets dried/cleaned up by housekeeping anyway. Besides, I never go barefoot in any hotel (including the shower) so wearing something like flip-flops basically eliminates the issue. I could see how a larger person (like 100+ kilos) might find it hard staying "contained" within the shower or easily manoeuvre in the bathroom itself, but for most people, it won't be a problem. Beds are comfortable (just don't expect down pillows and comforters).

Le Blason's location is excellent - a 2-3 minute walk to the center of Amboise where most shops and restaurants are located; a 5-6 minute walk to the Chateau d'Amboise; about a 20-25 minute walk to the Clos de Lucé. There is plenty of free parking right outside the hotel (though you can also park in the hotel's covered/gated parking for 3€ per night).

All staff I interacted with were very friendly and helpful, and I don't think it was because I speak French. I heard them interact with others in English and they provided the same level of service.

Add to this the price per night Le Blason charges (it's very reasonable given its location) and you have a complete winning proposition, in my opinion.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel, unless of course you're looking to spend time soaking in a bathtub or lounging around in your room while in the Loire. ;-)

Room Tip: If you simply cannot sleep without A-C, ask for a room on the higher floors. Rooms on the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank French_Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived and left after less than an hour - this hotel is dreadful. The room we were given was tiny with a plastic prefab cubicle for a bathroom. The temperature was 32 degrees with no aircon. We asked for a change as some rooms do have aircon. We were on the ground floor but as we had our dog with us (as agreed in advance) they said we couldn't have a different room - the dog, a small well behaved lab, was too big. They would have given us a better room if we had a smaller dog. The service was dissmissive, rude and they laughed at our obvious discomfort. Do not go there if you have pets and do not go there unless you like staying at youth hostels!

Room Tip: don't go to this hotel (try the Pavillon Des Lys down the road - lovely)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinterSolsticeDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#19 of 25 in Amboise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#11 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chaptal
Hotel Chaptal
#18 of 25 in Amboise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Blason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Blason

Property: Hotel Le Blason
Address: 11 Place Richelieu, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Blason 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of town, 900 feet from The "Chateau Royal" and of Leonardo Da Vinci's house, Le Blason welcomes you in a fine XV and XVII century house. Our 25 rooms are all fully equipped with bathroom (shower), private toilets, telephone and flat tv screen. We provide private and secure car park and free internet access in the lobby or in your room (wifi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Blason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Blason Hotel
Le Blason Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing