We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Le Blason

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Blason
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I've stayed in a few hotels and B&B's in Amboise, and this is probably my favorite. The prices can't be beat for this type of budget hotel in the center of town, and it's a very old, historic building with a lot of charm and character.

My single room was very small with a large double bed, small closet/storage area, and very little room for walking or anything else! That said, the room is clean, and I rather like the "boat style" bathroom, as everything in there as modern, immaculate, and functions properly. It happened to be rather warm while i was there, and with no A/C, it was a bit warm and stuffy in the room... I managed okay, but i could see this being an issue for some. I didn't spend much time in the room fortunately.

The hotel offers free use of a computer w/ internet in the front lobby. The owners speak great English and are very friendly and accommodating. Quaint breakfast room/restaurant, though i did not take advantage of it while visiting. Very short work to the chateau, Clos Luce, and shops/restaurants in this very small town. I like this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Roamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 305 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

Excellent, very central location. Friendly, helpful staff. A small, clean, comfortable room at a very good price.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed for one night in July as part of a driving trip around France. The location was great - about 5 minutes walk into the centre of Amboise and ideal for us with public parking right outside, although I think the hotel also does have parking available. The hotel is full of character, the rooms are basic though. A bit like an etap room, with the capsule type bathroom but perfectly fine for one night and very clean. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment. We had breakfast at the Chocolatier in Amboise and can thoroughly recommend that! La Reserve for dinner was also very very good. Would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Budget, good location, great breakfast, garage for the bikes and friendly personel!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charliecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel is great for a short stay: it'c central and cheap but rooms are small and the small bathroom reminds of the bathroom in a ferry boat.
Breakfast is good (fresh croissants and pain au chocolat, orange juice, bread, butter).
They have a garage where we left our bicycles (cost: EUR 1 per bike).
The room was clean but small (ok given the price) but the bathroom was too way too small, all in plastic and uncomfortable.
Free wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank IlGenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Well presented Hotel with a central position, WiFi available and a good breakfast.
The Hotel is rather old so the rooms are not huge, but they were clean and the en suite was recently refurbished.
The staff were helpful and booked a restaurant when we could not.
Hotel has secure parking and WiFi is in all rooms.
would not hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MAT900XLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

If you want an overnight stop in the lovely town of Amboise, this is the place to stay. It may be old and have narrow windy staircases but that gives it character. The rooms are clean and the service friendly and the price reasonable. What's more, there is free parking outside (or an inexpensive hotel car park nearby) and it's only a short walk to the various attractions and shops in the heart of the town. Great place to stay.
PS It has family rooms for those who need them. Only fault we could find was that the free wifi didn't seem to work but that could have been down to us!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Victor_Delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chaptal
Hotel Chaptal
#14 of 25 in Amboise
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#6 of 25 in Amboise
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#19 of 25 in Amboise
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#10 of 25 in Amboise
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Blason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Blason

Address: 11 Place Richelieu, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range: $79 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Blason 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of town, 900 feet from The "Chateau Royal" and of Leonardo Da Vinci's house, Le Blason welcomes you in a fine XV and XVII century house. Our 25 rooms are all fully equipped with bathroom (shower), private toilets, telephone and flat tv screen. We provide private and secure car park and free internet access in the lobby or in your room (wifi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Blason reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Blason Hotel
Le Blason Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing