We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful value - we loved it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amboise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderful value - we loved it!”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

The Auberge Forestiere de Marcheroux was such a wonderful location for making day trips to the surrounding cities and castles. Close to Amboise, and ideally located between Blois/ Chambord and Tours. My children (11 & 14) loved to "come home" after a day of site-seeing to this cute Auberge in the forest. There was lots of room for the kids to play frisbee, throw balls and challenge each other to table tennis. It felt so relaxing and comfortable there. The continental breakfasts were delicious and we recommend eating there in the evening. The owner is an experienced chef and prepares wonderful regional foods. My picky kids ate everything. The rooms are simple but clean and such a value for the location. Not difficult to get to and no problem with parking. There's a pool but it was not pool weather when we were there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stick_Club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    54
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
63
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederica, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We booked a room for 4 nights online. We also ordered a "table d'hote" for the first night to avoid to have to search for a restaurant in the area. The facility is located about 2-3 km south of Amboise in the forest. The rooms are build in the ancient stable building, and are very comfortable and spacious and clean. The meal served the first night was probably the best evening meal we had during those 4 days we spent in the area. The hostess is very nice, kind and helpful. This is a place where to come back.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — short of shelves to put clothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank opageorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We visited a chateau, and saw a sign for an auberge that turned out to be closed, but the owner called Mr Marcheroux who met us in his antique race car and escorted us to Auberge Forestiere - a very helpful gesture. The room was spaceous with a large bath/shower and very neat/clean. We enjoyed a walk through the forest before dinner and then a beer at the picnic table. Dinner was great with all the French country amenities. A highlight after dinner was a furious game of ping-pong with the owners' 8 year old son, Mascence. He showed us some of his car collection and I promised to send him some items from America. Breakfast the next morning also was great, and we were reluctant to leave.

The stay was wonderful, and if we're in the Amboise area again, we will definately stay at Domaine de Marcheroux. We highly recommend it to anyone fortunated enough to be in that part of France.

  • Liked — quiet, well appointed, friendly hosts
  • Disliked — had to leave...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Earl_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest sur Marque, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 year old son and had a wonderful fime. The location in the middle of the forest is wonderful, just a couple of minutes from downtown Amboise and close to all the nearby wonderful Châteaux.
The owner and her husband have renovated the stalls and turned them into nice rooms with private bath. The price of €60 breakfast included is a good deal for the area. Dinner is served inside or outside by the pool, and food is really good. To sum up, it's a nice place to stay to visit the area, rest in a peaceful location owned by friendly husband and wife who did their best to make our long week-end great.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TTSSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Lovely location near to Amboise. However, our mobile did not work in France and we were unable to phone 48 hours in advance to confirm booking. Room was subsequently given to another family. Our fault, and owner did offer us another room. She did not mention that the room had been released when I phoned 24 hours earlier so had no real option but to take what was offered. The room was damp. Breakfast was poor with toasted french sticks to try and hide the staleness. No tea/coffee in rooms. We appeared to have upset the owner as she could not manage a smile throughout our stay. I think she may have been stung by a wasp! She wore the same shirt for 3 days, so offer of an evening meal was politely declined. A shame, as location good and potential to be so much better.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everythng else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
2.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#10 of 25 in Amboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#11 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux

Property: Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux
Address: Rte. de Chenonceaux, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our appointment of hunting of the XVII century, located in the forest of Amboise on the road to the fabulous Chateau de Chenonceau. Ideal starting point for excursions (Chambord, Villandry, Amboise, Azay-le-Rideau, Chenonceau, Tours ...) We are close to the beautiful Parc de Beauval "Panda". We are located on the route "La Loire à Vélo" shelter for bikes and bikers. Passion of old, we have pleasure to welcome you. We will be happy to advise you on wine tasting cellars, typical village visits, troglodytes, museums. Reservation for the sound and light show at the Château d'Amboise. Possible to organize for our guests an overview of the Loire Castles Helicopter or Balloon. Enjoy the quiet of our field. - Comfortable rooms on the ground floor overlooking the park with private bathroom, flat screen Freeview, WiFi. Stay for several nights or weeks - Host table on reservation at the pool or by the fireplace - Wireless - Leisure: swimming pool 10 x 5 m, tennis. Many walks in the forest - Small animal allowed under certain conditions + 5 € - Species meal - Closed and shaded parking - Local bike and motorcycle We accept checks holiday party. Booking € 30 per room per day (check, PayPal or bank transfer). - Arrival times: from 17:30 to 19h (closed gate) if delays prevent, thank you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing