We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cute bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amboise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is a cute hotel. Caroline is attentive. The food was good for breakfast. Rooms were very clean and charming.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

This location was perfect for visiting all the sites of the Loire Valley. Just minutes outside Amboise, you seem to be miles from civilization, nestled in the forest - yet it offers the perfect access to the chateaux and other sites the Loire Valley has to offer. We took in Azay-le-Rideau, Villandry (a must see for any garden enthusiast), Chambord and Beauregard (an absolute gem of a property). The town of Amboise oozes charm and offers a wonderful selection of restaurants and bistros. Our rooms at the Auberge were very clean and comfortable. My sense is the building was formally the stable for the old hunting lodge, with Dutch doors and diamond paned windows. The hostess was very gracious, wifi connection in the lodge sitting area, and the accommodations top notch.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Our charming and easy going hostess provided a tranquil and very comfortable accommodation. Close enough to cycle in to Amboise for a visit. Our hostess provided a delicious home cooked meal of excellent value. Sincerely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The location in the middle of Amboise forest and close to the city, the other Chateaux de la Loire, close to walking and biking tracks was really marvelous, quiet and very relaxing. The owners are extremely friendly and flexible people, focusing on your maximum comfort. The rooms are comfortable, excellent beds and good bathroom. We enjoyed our stay very much and recommend this to other people as well, who like to combine stay in nature with visiting touristic hotspots. Breakfast every morning was excellent as well as the dinner on site we enjoyed the first evening. The restaurant recommendations were spot on. Thank you, we will send other friends and families!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We spent three evening here, and we loved that it was quiet, out of the way, and peaceful. Also, the proprietor makes a lovely homemade plum jam!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubynpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

The room is furnished with the basic: a bed, a drawer cabinet, a closet, and a LCD TV. The bathroom seems like newly renovated. Wi-fi is available in the dinning building, but the router is too far from the rooms so there is no reception in the room. We can get on the web in the morning during breakfast time or at night until the host lock the dinning building before going to bed. It is between the town of Amboise and Château de Chenonceaux. You need a car if you choose to stay here, and I suggest you do so anyway if you are going to see the chateaux in Loire. This place is located near the entrance of a forest and surrounded by trees, so there are bugs although not much. It is quiet, especially at night, which has the darkest sky I have ever seen at night due to the lack of city light. This is an old building from the 15th or 16th century, so don't expect to have a normal hotel environment. However, from a B&B stand point, this is perfect. The price is great, the location is quiet. It is in between Tours and Blois so you can go either way without a long drive. It is an old little construction so we felt more like in the Loire rather than just another tourist town. Our host Caroline is friendly and nice. We felt the pillows were too soft and we folded them the first night. The second day when we got back to our room, we saw an additional harder pillow on our bed. She speaks English although not very well, good enough to give us the travel tips and suggestions for places to eat. There is no restaurant at this hostel or anywhere within walking distance, so you have to drive to Amboise (10min away) or another town for food. Breakfast is the basic French style with juice/coffee and some nice bakery that were still warm when we sat down.

Overall we like this place. We will stay here again if we re-visit the Loire in the future. For those of you who have been to Paris but not Loire and want to make a comparison, this place is 1000 times better than a similarly priced hostel in Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KinLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed with 3 children (aged 8,9,11) and my wife's parents. We had no problem finding it, and it was very handy for a trip into Amboise. A great, peaceful location and a nice pool. The rooms were fine, we really enjoyed our meal (better thanmost of what we had further south in the Dordogne!) and wine and would defintiely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#11 of 25 in Amboise
940 reviews
1.2 mi away
Logis Domaine de l'Arbrelle
0.6 mi away
Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Amboise
Ibis Amboise
#18 of 25 in Amboise
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
365 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Forestiere De Marcheroux

Address: Rte. de Chenonceaux, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range: $55 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our appointment of hunting of the XVII century, located in the forest of Amboise on the road to the fabulous Chateau de Chenonceau. Ideal starting point for excursions (Chambord, Villandry, Amboise, Azay-le-Rideau, Chenonceau, Tours ...) We are close to the beautiful Parc de Beauval "Panda". We are located on the route "La Loire à Vélo" shelter for bikes and bikers. Passion of old, we have pleasure to welcome you. We will be happy to advise you on wine tasting cellars, typical village visits, troglodytes, museums. Reservation for the sound and light show at the Château d'Amboise. Possible to organize for our guests an overview of the Loire Castles Helicopter or Balloon. Enjoy the quiet of our field. - Comfortable rooms on the ground floor overlooking the park with private bathroom, flat screen Freeview, WiFi. Stay for several nights or weeks - Host table on reservation at the pool or by the fireplace - Wireless - Leisure: swimming pool 10 x 5 m, tennis. Many walks in the forest - Small animal allowed under certain conditions + 5 € - Species meal - Closed and shaded parking - Local bike and motorcycle We accept checks holiday party. Booking € 30 per room per day (check, PayPal or bank transfer). - Arrival times: from 17:30 to 19h (closed gate) if delays prevent, thank you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing