We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem, not to be missed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci

Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci
Book In Advance
More Info
$182.44*
and up
Small-Group Day Tour of Loire Valley: Chenonceau Amboise and Clos Lucé with...
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At the invitation of Francis I, Leonardo da Vinci came to live at the Château du Clos Lucé and stayed here for the last three years of his life, devoting himself to perfecting his inventions. Leonardo was prolific and inspired, working as an engineer, architect and theatrical director, organising lavish festivities for the Court. At his residence 300 metres from the Château Royal, he drew up plans for a model château for Francis I in Romorantin and designed the double-helix open staircase in the Château de Chambord.The Château du Clos Lucé is dedicated to showing and explaining to the public the great knowledge acquired by the Italian Maestro. 
Louisville
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A gem, not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Clos Luce is mixture of Chateau and museum. it has over 40 models built by Da Vinci. It has excellent film clips demonstrating how some off the ore complicated inventions worked. The garden is modest but beautiful. This is for all ages!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank klkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard-Amboise, Responsable communication at Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear visitor,
Thank you for your interest in Château du Clos Lucé.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,872
    1,135
    339
    109
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise in the Loire Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

As the title says, it was a nice and pleasant surprise for us and our 21 and 22 year old. Was raining so we didn't see much of the grounds, but the models of da Vinchi's inventions were really fun to see. It's really amazing how far ahead he was in his thinking. And as someone else said, we had no idea he spent the last years of his life in Amboise, France.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohninMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard-Amboise, Service Communication at Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your day in the last residence of Leonardo da Vinci. Indeed, he came in le Château du Clos Lucé at the invitation of Francis the 1st and stayed here for 3 years dedicating his lifetime to his inventions and thoughts.
There are the giant machines in the park but also a permanent exhibition with nearly 50 models based on his sketches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms were lovely as were the surrounding grounds. Very informative as to Leonardo's relationship with Francis I and Leonardo's various inventions.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John_and_Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard-Amboise, Communication Manager at Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear visitor
Thank you for your interest in the Chateau du Clos Lucé, last residence of Leonardo da Vinci.
We are happy that you had a nice trip in the Loire Valley.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We refused to pay 18 euro for this! They need to drop the price. The grounds and building are beautiful, so we did view these, but wished we could have seen the displays inside. Only school children, who have a very reduced rate, can afford this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcemsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard-Amboise, Communication Manager at Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear visitor,

thank you for your interest in the Chateau du Clos Lucé.We will try to improve these points in our quality process
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
235 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful but very informative as well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I wasn't aware that da Vinci had spent the last three years of his life in the Loire Valley but I'm pleased he did. The chateau isn't huge and the most interesting parts are where they have exquisitely reproduced in miniature many of da Vinci's inventions. Beside each of them, they have videos running, showing how they worked. They have also reproduced the sketches and working drawings of da Vinci so you can see his original thoughts..There is a very pleasant courtyard where you can have a meal, tea/coffee etc. The ice creams were delicious. And then there are the gardens which take a couple of hours in themselves. They are delightful and set around water. But the best part is that there are full sized working reproductions of da Vinci's inventions which are great fun.There were many children there, trying them out - what better way to teach science?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard-Amboise, Communication Manager at Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for the review.
We are happy that you liked our way to "teach science " and that you spent great time at the Chateau du Clos Lucé.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci also viewed

Amboise, Loire Valley
Chenonceaux, Loire Valley
 
Villandry, Loire Valley
 

Been to Le Chateau du Clos Luce - Parc Leonardo da Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing