We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fourchette

La Fourchette
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tel: 00 33 6 11 78 16 98 Opened three months ago
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,662 reviews
666 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 705 helpful votes
“Lovely food, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We called here for lunch on a Friday having been disappointed that they were closed the previous evening. Always call ahead as they are only open some evenings.
The food was top notch, country style cooking with no pretensions. The service was friendly and pleasant. The price was very reasonable for lunch (can't comment on Dinner), with Soup Entree 3 Euro (The best Mushroom Soup I have ever tasted!) and the mains 10 or 11 Euro.
Definitely one of the nicest restaurants i hve eaten at and deserves the high ranking on Trip Advisor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    156
    23
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Down a side street off of rue Nationale is a hidden gem in Amboise.

My wife and I dined tonight in LaFourchette, a charming restaurant with one seating for 20. The mother is the chef/cashier and the daughter does everything else from mixing drinks to waiting tables to washing dishes.  The menu cosisted of two entrees, Cod or Canard.  They started us off with some toasted bread with an olive spread. This was followed by a cup of some of the best mushroom soup we have ever tasted. For an appetizer my wife had ham and melon and I had a fois gras that simply melted in your mouth. The wine was a traditional Chinon. We both had the Canard Confit for our entree. The duck was absolutely succulent. It was accompanied by scalloped potatoes and a salad with a light lemon dressing.  Dessert for the wife was an apple tart while I had a glass of Calvados. Final charge- 77 euros.

Good food, excellent service, a quaint surrounding make for a great evening.





Sent from my iPad

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AUcouple-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Calm place and great food .... make a reservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Almost a hiden place but it's just at the centre of ville .... few places to sit so better have it reserved.

The owner is friendly but do not speak english, which is not a big problem since she has a helper that cover the whole english needed.

They served a pre-start stuff .... delicious .... make one thinking better stay just with more of this .... but there was great food ahead.

The restaurant is kind of simple at first view but the servica and food are great

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobYokoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunswick, ga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ooh La La! Tres Magnifique! La Fourchette”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were so lucky to discover this little gem in the lovely city of Amboise, France. Turning down a small alleyway following a very small sign we spied, we arrived at Christine's little restaurant on 9 rue Malebranche in Amboise. How lucky that we found this gem where local businessmen and women (in suits) were dining. This was one of my favorite meals during my stay. The server realized we were Americans and very astutely advised us that "tete de veau" was a regional dish for those with a French palate. Instead, we ate a lovely beef with scalloped potatoes and a lovely soup. The dessert, a fromage plat, was lovely with a wonderful progression. Others in our group enjoyed a richly dark chocolate tarte. Chef Christine and her daughter (I believe) were very welcoming and gracious. I would highly recommend one take the time to find this wonderful restaurant. Reservations are taken at 06 11 78 16 98, although we did not need a reservation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jujube28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Simons Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Special Place in Amboise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a small, family-run restaurant that was both spectacular and complete with a very welcoming atmosphere. The food and the service has to be rated as superb. We had a small group on a trip through France in early April, 2013. Being group travel the breakfast and dinner were furnished. The lunch was our call and at the time we were visiting the quaint city of Amboise. As we wandered through town we spotted a sign that simply said Restaurant and pointed down a narrow street so we said lets give it a try. As we moved closer it was obvious the locals knew the place as they were coming and going- many appeared to be local businessmen- always a good sign. We elected to sit at outside tables although there were tables available inside. The food and the service were as good as it gets. We were expeditiously served a very well-prepared butternut squash soup, along with delicious, medium-cooked beef with a light gravy and a wonderful scalloped potatoes. The waitress was very efficient and spoke enough English to make ordering easy. Toward the end of the meal the owner/Chef came out to check on us- she was also very nice and it was obvious she appreciated our business and sincerely cared about her customers. Since it is off the beaten path you may have to do some map reading and exploring- the rewards will make it worth the effort. I would recommend to anyone traveling through Amboise they take the time, look this place up and have a very enjoyable treat. .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jhssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fourchette also viewed

Amboise, Loire Valley
 
Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 
Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 

Been to La Fourchette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing