We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bellevue: Great place to rest and take in Amboise, France” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bellevue
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bellevue: Great place to rest and take in Amboise, France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We really enjoyed out time here. The hotel was great. …what fun to open a window to the view of the castle!!!! The desk clerk was super nice, I wish I remembered her name. The only things really is the parking. Very limited parking. Other than that I can’t say anything negative. It’s centrally located, easy walk to everything we needed…restaurants, shopping, and a short walk to De Vince last home “Château du Clos Lucé”. The bridge across the street is beautiful at night as well as the old church just down from the hotel. Beautiful town, if I ever go back I will stay longer here!!!

Room Tip: request a room with a view of the castle...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peach012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    70
    34
    15
    11
See reviews for
37
84
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The location is a great one. 2m from the chateau, in front of the bridge where you get a great view and 3m to the touristic street with restaurants.
The rooms are just average, both in size and furniture and with no A/C. At least we had a fan.
The views you get seems to depend on your luck, according to other reviews there are some good ones. We got only a high window with a roof view
The bathroom is quite outdated

The staff is friendly and the entrance is nice. Even with this location we could park easily everyday

Not sure if I would come back or recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FGE04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

When this hotel promised us a castle-view room, they meant it. I felt like I could almost touch Amboise Chateau right outside our window. The hotel has been recently renovated, and our third-floor room was tasteful, spotlessly clean, and beautiful. (I even took a picture of the shimmery drapes to show my mother.) The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, calling to arrange a shuttle van tour of Chambord and Chenonceau chateaux for us. We skipped the pricey and optional breakfast and ate at Bigot Chocolatier instead. Tastiest hot chocolate I've ever had in my life! The best dinner we had in France was at the nearby restaurant called L'Epicerie--four courses and professional and gracious service.

Room Tip: Castle view room (#23) is definitely worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBD_917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location but only an average hotel. The second floor had a very musty smell. Room overlooked the river which brought the humidity and with no A/C we had to sleep with the rooms open which caused exhaust smell and mosquitoes. Asked for a fan to put in the room as it was 90* and they had none. Had to move the bed next to the window and sleep with a cold towel on my head it was so hot. Did not sleep very well. Location is great, some outstanding restaurants nearby with great shopping and the castle in your back yard. Bathroom was small and had a vinyl door which seemed weird. If I had to do it again I would book at a B&B on the other side of the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

An unassuming front curb and quiet service attitude is one way of describing the Bellevue. After a week in Paris, it was a welcome oasis. The view of the Loire and bridge are quite enjoyable and combine with fresh summer air to knock you down to a slower gear. Our overall experience and visit came with great weather and we loved it all.

Hotel: Newly renovated and with modern décor in room and public areas. Location is great as we had a view of bridge and river. Breakfast was excellent, fruits and other high quality offerings. 9.50 euros. Bath is quite small but not untypical of a small hotel. The elevator is very small.
Bed is very good and had a great night’s sleep. The only details is that having fresh air with open windows means getting the traffic noise and easy view into room 21. Windows were double glazed and stopped the noise perfectly, if needed.
Nearness: absolutely everything was nearby; farthest jaunt was train station across the river about 15 min walk. We rented bikes in town and visited Chenonceau castle. Great day seeing France on bike. The town plaza has a dozen restaurants/cafes and is fun to hang out in.

Room Tip: Room 21 has no terrace, just windows to front. The lift is needed and is very small. Staircase is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JES006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I'll start with the good - located right next to the chateau, friendly reception staff, plenty of free parking nearby. Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our stay. The hotel is located right next to the main road and therefore if you get a room overlooking the Loire, you will get the traffic noise. What made it worse was that when we were there, it was very hot and the rooms have no air conditioning, so you need to sleep with the windows open, thus letting more noise in. Our room actually didn't have windows but doors opening onto a terrace so we had to sleep with our doors open (security risk as others have access to the terrace too, including smokers so you get the smell in your room). On top of this our room was located above the bar and you can hear the bass through the floor until late. We stayed here two nights and slept very poorly (if at all) for both nights. A minor niggle (given we understand it's an old building) is that the toilet flushing upstairs was very loud in our room too. Amboise was beautiful and a perfect location for day trips in the Loire Valley but I wouldn't stay at the Bellevue again, especially as it was one of the most expensive hotels of our trip and has been so far the worst we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Don't overlook the Loire due to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amboise hotels

Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We tried 2 other hotels nearby, in bigger and stylish houses. In one no body answered and the other was full with a delegation of cyclists. I didn't trust the lower price and comparative dull facade of Bellevue hotel, but from the beginning we started to have good experiences: with the staff, the room, the location and of course, with the lower price. I surely would come back.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor facing the street and the bridge, with a pretty view of the Loire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkeys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#11 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue

Property: Bellevue
Address: 12 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel bellevue is located to the historical center of amboise.very closed from the castle's entrance and near leonard de vinci house. americans,english,australians andalso italians a are enjoyed to stay at our hotel. all new clients are welcome at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle-Vue Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing