We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt a subtle and small town service”
Review of Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellevue
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Reviewed July 16, 2013

An unassuming front curb and quiet service attitude is one way of describing the Bellevue. After a week in Paris, it was a welcome oasis. The view of the Loire and bridge are quite enjoyable and combine with fresh summer air to knock you down to a slower gear. Our overall experience and visit came with great weather and we loved it all.

Hotel: Newly renovated and with modern décor in room and public areas. Location is great as we had a view of bridge and river. Breakfast was excellent, fruits and other high quality offerings. 9.50 euros. Bath is quite small but not untypical of a small hotel. The elevator is very small.
Bed is very good and had a great night’s sleep. The only details is that having fresh air with open windows means getting the traffic noise and easy view into room 21. Windows were double glazed and stopped the noise perfectly, if needed.
Nearness: absolutely everything was nearby; farthest jaunt was train station across the river about 15 min walk. We rented bikes in town and visited Chenonceau castle. Great day seeing France on bike. The town plaza has a dozen restaurants/cafes and is fun to hang out in.

Room Tip: Room 21 has no terrace, just windows to front. The lift is needed and is very small. Staircase is al...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JES006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Bellevue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 193 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

I'll start with the good - located right next to the chateau, friendly reception staff, plenty of free parking nearby. Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our stay. The hotel is located right next to the main road and therefore if you get a room overlooking the Loire, you will get the traffic noise. What made it worse was that when we were there, it was very hot and the rooms have no air conditioning, so you need to sleep with the windows open, thus letting more noise in. Our room actually didn't have windows but doors opening onto a terrace so we had to sleep with our doors open (security risk as others have access to the terrace too, including smokers so you get the smell in your room). On top of this our room was located above the bar and you can hear the bass through the floor until late. We stayed here two nights and slept very poorly (if at all) for both nights. A minor niggle (given we understand it's an old building) is that the toilet flushing upstairs was very loud in our room too. Amboise was beautiful and a perfect location for day trips in the Loire Valley but I wouldn't stay at the Bellevue again, especially as it was one of the most expensive hotels of our trip and has been so far the worst we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Don't overlook the Loire due to traffic noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We tried 2 other hotels nearby, in bigger and stylish houses. In one no body answered and the other was full with a delegation of cyclists. I didn't trust the lower price and comparative dull facade of Bellevue hotel, but from the beginning we started to have good experiences: with the staff, the room, the location and of course, with the lower price. I surely would come back.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor facing the street and the bridge, with a pretty view of the Loire.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkeys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

After a week in a shabby apartment in Paris, the Hotel Bellevue was a lifesaver. Great location steps from the medieval section of town and the chateau, with a great staff and lovely views of the Loire. Short walk across the bridge to Le Snackers for a picture perfect view of Amboise and a restoring gin-and-tonic or Chinon blanc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevehagata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

For us, this was the perfect location. We rented the family suite which was 2 bedrooms and 1.5 baths. The views from the larger room was very lovely. The view from the other room was not so great but that was fine. The elevator was big enough to hold multiple people and multiple bags at the same time (not always the case in older European buildings). The front desk staff was very gracious and always very helpful. Parking was very easy. There was only 1 night of our 4 night stay that we had to park a block away. All the other times (multipe trips from the hotel), we were able to find parking within half a block of the hotel. The parking was free to boot!! You could also walk to anything and everything in Amboise. The main street was about 2 blocks away. The walk to Sainte Denis church was an easy walk (though it is steep when walking up to the doors of the church). The bridge and the river were just across the street from the hotel but there was no noise from the travelling public that we noticed. The grounds for the French Market was just down the street. The only drawback to the hotel is the 9 euro charge for breakfast per person. It is lovely to have the option and we used it the first morning we were there but the price is high for what is offered - cheese, bottomless coffee and tea, yogurt, fruits, pastries, cold cuts, and spreads. If you get in late, I propose taking advantage of the breakfast in the morning (which must be reserved the night before) or making sure you plan where to go in the morning. The patisserie, Patisserie Bigot, is a nice place for breakfast just a few blocks away on Rue Nationale.
More so Amboise, than the hotel itself, is a teriffic homebase to visit the chateaus in the area as well. Where the Hotel Bellevue is located, it is very easy to get to Chenonceau, Villandry, and the numerous wineries in the area. If we visit the Loire Valley again, we will likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a chateau view and/or river view. You may hear the fireworks at night but it is...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConstantTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed with my daughter and two grandchildren at the Bellevue for two nights in June. We found the hotel to be extremely convenient for both walking about Amboise and driving to nearby vineyards and chateaux. We stayed in a family "suite" that had two bedrooms + two baths. The accommodations were very comfortable. I would recommend the Bellevue for any visitor to the Amboise area who wants a very comfortable, convenient, and picturesque place to stay. Plus the price is right.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 914Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Bellevue. The family style room was actually 2 rooms combined with 2 toilets and 1 shower. The staff was great at accommodating out surprise guest last minute. The wifi was great, location perfect for walkers or drivers. We can't wait to come back once the wine lounge is in! My choice for future stays. The beds were super comfy!

Room Tip: We were in room 32.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboise
19.8 mi away
Hotel Louise de Savoie
Hotel Louise de Savoie
#10 of 28 in Blois
172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Amboise
Novotel Amboise
#10 of 25 in Amboise
940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue

Address: 12 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range: $99 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel bellevue is located to the historical center of amboise.very closed from the castle's entrance and near leonard de vinci house. americans,english,australians andalso italians a are enjoyed to stay at our hotel. all new clients are welcome at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle-Vue Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing