We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine enough stay in a GREAT location”
Review of Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellevue
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine enough stay in a GREAT location”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

At the Bellevue it's all about location. this hotel is located directly behind the Amboise chateau-couldn't be an easier walk to get into town. the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms are dated and could use a renovation. parking is easy on the street near the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    73
    38
    15
    11
See reviews for
37
91
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here in September while on a cycling trip through France, and the owner could not have been more friendly and helpful. He let me put my bike in a private, secure garage overnight and offered advice on my route for the following day. The hotel decor is a little dated but the rooms, bathrooms and common areas were absolutely spotless - I'm not sure I've ever stayed anywhere as clean. There was also a fantastic selection of food at breakfast the next day, including some of the best pastries and bread I ate during my time in France (and there was stiff competition). The hotel is centrally located, and it was easy to walk out in the evening to find somewhere to eat. Highly recommended - don't be put off by the dated facade as this is a real gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamCervinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stayed at this hotel. We stayed on the top floor of this small hotel. The small elevator was a welcome sight! Our room was a good size with a recently renovated bathroom. The wifi was very good. This hotel is in a great location for walking to all the sights. We did not try the breakfast. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobVan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel was ideally located, and easy to find coming from the train station. We had a clean, cosy room with a view of the Loire river. We had a relaxing drink on the terrace each afternoon. The lobby was beautifully decorated. The breakfast was exceptional, everything one could ask for was elegantly presented! I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel! The staff was friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river was ideal. Lots of good restaurants nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Most affordable room on our French vacation was the roomiest and most charming! We chose a view of the castle, could have had a view of the Loire. Spacious bedroom, plus a sitting room between bedroom and salle du bain/toilette. Tasty pastries, cheeses and eggs in a comfortable breakfast room. Across the street from the river, a block from the castle, two blocks from the delightful downtown restaurants/shops, half-mile to DaVinci's studio and home. Outclassed our Paris rooms for half the price! Lovely town and castle, also close to Chenonceau.

Room Tip: I would choose a river view next time. We were there just one night to visit Chenonceau and Amboise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Belle-Vue in Amboise. The Rick Steves book (2012) had listed the hotel as having undergone a remodel in 2011. I really couldn't see it, but the room was adequate. We faced the river and while there was no AC, there was a nice breeze and free wifi. The bathroom was larger than the one we have at home and had a tub which to me is a luxury in Europe. There is a balcony overlooking the river and we enjoyed sitting out one evening with a bottle of wine watching the world go by. Parking was limited to street and we had quite a hike in with our bags, but we could have unpacked in the loading zone in front of the hotel, so our own fault. Overall, I would recommend it and I think a lot of the tripadvisor reviews have been a bit harsh.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kriswhitt128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Central and good value. The rooms face either the river or the chateau. We took a river facing room for one night and it was adequate. The hotel has seen better days but is priced appropriately. No air conditioning but rooms had fans. TV was something from another century but had satellite feed.

I would recommend for a couple of nights based on its location.

Room Tip: Chateau view seems to cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Logis La Breche
Logis La Breche
#11 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue

Property: Bellevue
Address: 12 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel bellevue is located to the historical center of amboise.very closed from the castle's entrance and near leonard de vinci house. americans,english,australians andalso italians a are enjoyed to stay at our hotel. all new clients are welcome at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle-Vue Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing