We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of Le Choiseul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Choiseul
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Yateley
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

On arrival the receptionist greeted us with a warm and welcoming smile (good start) We were upgraded to a superior room which was large and had real charm, with matching walls and curtains. We felt we had stepped back in time. It may have seen slightly better days but it really added to the charm of the hotel. It was clean, elegant and the bed was lovely.
If we had eaten there on the first evening we would not have gone anywhere else. The evening meal was excellent. We were seated at a window which looked over seine river and the service was as good as the Ritz.
On recommendation to friends, they also felt it was worth every penny and booked in again on their return trip back to the UK.
It is very close to the Chateau and the town, you can walk to both. It is a delightful town that I would return to at any time with pleasure.

Room Tip: Room 15 upstairs at the back of the hotel is quiet, but you also get a view at the front of the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    121
    46
    23
    11
See reviews for
50
237
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel makes guests feel pampered with welcoming entry ways & rooms charmingly decorated (wallpaper matching the drapes matching the duvet) & a bathroom I wanted to live in…roomy with lots of vanity space - quite different than the hotels in Paris. Fluffy towels & plenty of them, along with robes, meant we enjoyed every minute we had in our room. The breakfast laid out each morning was fabulous & catered to both heavy & light appetites. The location is great for walking all over Amboise. Good thing since we needed to work off all the great food. Also, we arrived on Sunday & the rental car place wasn't open until Monday, so again, the proximity to local shops & restaurants is helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikkiD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Michelin guide 2011 says this is a 3 star hotel. The hotel awards itself 4 stars, a hint of the pretention we discovered. This hotel is in a super location, but it is very expensive for what you get. The restaurant is overstaffed and over expensive. The wine glasses are tiny, the house wine poor but the price at 8 euros was big.

I could hardly get a good morning out of the chambermaid. But then she was on her way to remove the light brown (continental i assume) cockroach that crawled across my bed the night before, so maybe that is understandable. The sense of low staff morale was unmistakeable.

All in all you'd be better off in one of the smaller, jollier hostelries in the centre of Amboise, which is a fascinatruing town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very friendly and extremely helpful staff. The grounds are beautiful and the location is excellent. Our room was a bit cramped and we had a little trouble with the A/C but the clerk came to our room and helped us sort it out. A really nice stay. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossbjcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel's(Le Choiseul) decor is very warm and service also very nice!!~^__^~
Breakfast is very fresh and delicious for me and my husband;
If I have the chance to go to France I will stay here again~haha!haha!~
PS : This hotel is very close to Chateau d'Amboise to walk within about 10 minutes'.
這間飯店的裝潢非常溫馨且還有花園走道,
早餐非常的豐盛,很多選擇可以吃到飽~很棒~
步行幾分鐘就有一條餐廳街,有高級的餐廳也有平價美式的餐廳,距離安布瓦茲城也是非常的近,非常方便呢!!~

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaTuTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is ideally located for walks to the amazing castle and fun town full pleasant eateries. We were given a lovely room with a fantastic river view. The bedding is rather shabby; it needs to be upgraded at once. The restaurant has wonderful wine, food and service. The pool area is magnificent and adjacent to not to be missed caves.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bbmf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

historic look of small chateau; but definitely dated and worn; could maintain historic appeal and have updated interior; we had adjoining rooms for family of four; problem with bugs in the rooms; lots of them; dozens of dead ones on the walls and ceilings in the bathroom; we mentioned it to staff; they understood what we were talking about, but nothing was done; guess that's part of country French living??? very nice breakfast buffet; hotel was to arrange a mini-van for us for transport to and from St. Pierre des Corps train station; when picked up at train station, driver had sedan, not minivan; sat with some luggage on my lap; mentioned it to front desk staff, but same driver came with same car to take us back to train station! conveniently located near Amboise Chateau and just a few blocks from center of town; was great location for our day trip to chateaux of Loire valley (Chambord, Chenonceau and Cheverny);
beautiful views of the scenic Loire river (no boat traffic allowed in this region thanks to the river being named to the UNESCO list of World Heritage Sites;

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hschatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
604 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Choiseul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Choiseul

Property: Le Choiseul
Address: 36 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Choiseul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel in Amboise with panoramic view over the River Loire.At the foot of the Amboise Castle ramparts, overlooking the Loire, The Choiseul is a collection of private residences built in the 18th Century, surrounding Italian-style gardens.An ideal base for those who wish to visit the royal castles of the Loire Valley & to savour the area's celebrated cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Choiseul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Choiseul Amboise
Le Choiseul Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing