We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amboise Retreat”
Review of Le Choiseul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Choiseul
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amboise Retreat”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Perched right above the Loire in Amboise, this hotel is really a compound - a collection of buildings backed by limestone caves. It's unusual and charming. The restaurant, Le 36 served some of the finest food I've ever had. We stayed in the Hermitage, in a large ground floor junior suite with a private patio, a mini-canopy bed, a large bathroom, and a comfortable sitting area.

The style of the place is very old school French Provincial with fussy patterned wallpaper in mauve-pink tones. Don't get me wrong, I love modern, but in this part of France, I kind of liked this slightly outdated, but very characteristic look of the wallpaper with the historic prints on the walls, and the swaths of striped curtains.

One slightly odd thing - I did see a few ants on the floor of our room, but the building is old, so for me, this is forgivable. I'm not one of those travelers who expects everything I touch to be super-pristine. If you are, you would probably be taken aback by this. The mattress and bedding were not the highest quality, and could have used a refresh. What the place lacked in up to the minute furnishings, it made up for in charm.

The staff were quite helpful and very sweet. The hotel is walking distance from the gorgeous Amboise Chateau, and the center of town. The casual garden restaurant, where we had breakfast, is functional and nice enough, with a view of the pool.

FYI, I stayed here as part of DiscoverFrance.com's Deluxe Loire Valley Bike Tour.

I would heartily recommend Le Choiseul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcemsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    121
    45
    22
    11
See reviews for
49
234
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a lovely, if slightly cramped room in the eaves. Great view from our window in the room, even better view from the toilet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast overpriced. Dinner really top class.
Garden a delight and Amboise itself is well worth a visit. We stayed 5 days which is probably one day too many.

Room Tip: Check if you are paying extra for breakfast. If not, don't do it - not value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked here at the last minute to split our journey back from Bordeaux to the ferry at Cherbourg. Price wasn't the lowest in the town but generally TA reviews had it as a good hotel, which it was in general, just not for the money they charge! - Maybe it was because it was Easter Saturday or just maybe it is a hotel charging more than it should.
Room was decent, with a good, if not great, bathroom. It overlooked the Loire, which in summer is probably very nice, but as this was Easter 2013 and it was 5c when we arrived, and overcast, then there wasn't much to see.
Upto now we were content, even with the high price, and a drink before dinner, in the lounge was very agreeable - as were the other cliental enjoying a drink.
Went up to dinner at 2000 to find a decent dining room with plenty of staff, but then it started to go down hill! The hotel (and Restaurant Le 36 - the restaurant) advertises itself as 'Fine Dining' and other TA reviewers had commented as to why it hadn't got a Michelin star - the reason is very simple, in that Michelin star restaurants are not like Kindergartens!!!!!!!!!
Almost half of the restaurant were children, most of which were reasonably well behaved, but the babies crying, more or less constantly throughout the meal was just not on for a restaurant claiming to offer a 'Fine Dining' experience. There was even a dog under one of the tables. I realise that the French like to take their dogs everywhere with them but the hotel even states in their guide that dogs are not allowed in the restaurant - but none of the dining staff did anything to remove the dog or to ask the people with crying babies to leave the restaurant.
The good news was that the food was excellent, if a lot overpriced, and the service was excellent. We decided to take our coffee down in the lounge and the waiter understood perfectly why we were heading away from the Kindergarten. Just a pity upon mentioning it to the reception staff on checking out that they didn't seem to hold the same views - 'it' that time of the year (Easter)' was all that the receptionist could muster to apologise for the restaurant atmosphere the previous evening.
All in all, a very expensive stay, with a good meal in poor surroundings - definitely one to avoid in future if you want 'Fine dining' without children and babies everywhere around you!
We won't be going back as the Loire has far better hotels and restaurants

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mab_robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxbg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

a very nice location and many mentions of this noble place in the tourist folders that can be picked up in the area.
The actual building is charming.... the bar, the deco ... everything is nice until you get upstairs
into the restaurant.
a waste and dull hall with few charms and furniture from the 50ies....
The waiters are actually the same than in the bar on the ground floor...so they continuously run up and down to perform their simultaneous roles.
The service is horribly slow, the food is mediocre but the price tag is a wake up slap.
All in all, bad value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank okrased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Charming and comfortable hotel with lovely staff. The bathroom in our room was excellent and the view from our window of the river just fabulous and uninterrupted! It is only a short walk to the city centre and the chateau. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

best location in Amboise, explore the city by foot or by bike (ours were delivered by a rental bike service and were parking in one of the caves of the hotel); best service , the staff managed all our needs.
Excellent cuisine; good breakfast in a charming place. excellent dinner at Le 36 restaurant.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Le Choiseul struck us a an hotel of contradictions. Located just a little too far from the centre of town, it has a great deal of character but for us a difficult access to and from our room to facilities and carriage of luggage.
We thought that the decor was starting to "age" a little and could do with a little attention,. The room itself was quite large and comfortable with good bathroom facilities. When I say difficult to access - the walk through passageways and up and down stairs was less than desirable. Breakfast was excellent - but again - quite a trek from our room to the dining room. Staff were quite helpful and organised a day tour of the local Chateux at short notice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard-Ausartim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#5 of 25 in Amboise
597 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#4 of 25 in Amboise
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Choiseul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Choiseul

Property: Le Choiseul
Address: 36 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Choiseul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel in Amboise with panoramic view over the River Loire.At the foot of the Amboise Castle ramparts, overlooking the Loire, The Choiseul is a collection of private residences built in the 18th Century, surrounding Italian-style gardens.An ideal base for those who wish to visit the royal castles of the Loire Valley & to savour the area's celebrated cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Le Choiseul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Choiseul Amboise
Le Choiseul Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing