We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Le Choiseul Amboise - perfect base for the Loire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Choiseul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Choiseul
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Le Choiseul Amboise - perfect base for the Loire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

A beautiful place in a very central setting for exploring the Loire Valley and it's charming chateaux. Large incredibly quiet rooms, even on the main road, great bathrooms, and friendly helpful multilingual staff. The gardens are spacious and very French, the pool welcome after a hard day touring, and it is just a short walk from the centre of the village with its great choice of restaurants and cafes. Plenty of parking well off the road. Wifi was a bit temperamental about the only small negative.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnno31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Le Choiseul, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you for having taken the time to write a comment concerning your stay in our hotel.
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed Le Choiseul and the Loire Valley and hope to welcome you at another time !

Best regards,

Hotel Choiseul team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    117
    42
    20
    11
See reviews for
48
223
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely character hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location as we could walk to all the shops and restaurants.

Our room was overlooking the garden and we could see the Loire River from the hallway behind.
The wallpaper, bed linen, lamp shades all the same floral material and very "French" and what you would expect from such a charming hotel. The only problem we had was that the walls are "paper thin" and you could hear the people in the next room. This was not a problem for us as we appreciated the age of this lovely hotel.

The room we had was huge and so was the bed and we did sleep well. There is no issue with car parking and you don't need the car during your stay as you are within walking distance to everything in Amboise.

Breakfast was most enjoyable. Dinner at the restaurant first class. We did not eat at the restaurant every night as it is a little expensive. We would recommend a small restaurant in the main street... Chez Bruno.

Le Choiseul is an expensive hotel but it is a lovely old hotel full of character, excellent service, first class restaurant and perfect location and for all this you do pay the extra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteFamily144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Le Choiseul, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your three nights stay at Le Choiseul. We will transfer your congratulations to the staff of the hotel.

Sincerely Yours,

Hotel Choiseul team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at the Le Choiseul on June 1, 2012. We were early and understandably our room was not ready. The property is very charming and consists of 3 buildings. It is located literally at the foot of the Chateau Amboise. The receptionists were friendly and helpful especially Marie Pierre who spoke good English. We left our luggages behind and toured the Chateaus. When we got back, we were given the room we had requested (Junior suite w/ an adjoining room that had a sofa bed for our 2 young children with a view of the water). No elevators but the staff offered to bring our luggages up. We enjoyed lounging in the salon which was beautifully decorated. We did not use the pool so I can't comment about it. The breakfast was expensive at € 22/pp but had a wide variety of choices from coffee, tea, hot chocolate and my personal favorite, the freshly squeezed orange juice. (You have to cut the orange yourself and extract the juice with an easy to use juicer.). Fresh eggs that you could softly boil using a water bath provided, baguettes, croissants, pastries, fresh cheeses, chorizo sausages, apple tartin, cereals and fresh fruits. The lone staff was attentive and friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Le Choiseul.

For those wishing to use Amboise as a base for touring the Chateaus, it is a great location however, if you are using the train to get here, be warned about the lack of taxis unless you have pre-booked them. We ended up walking from Gare Amboise to Le Choiseul. If you need a rental car, the hotel recommended Garage Jordan/Renault. The receptionist showed us a map which was not to scale and so what looked like a short walk from the hotel to rental car turned out to be
more than 2Kms at least!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

A jewel of a hotel on the banks of the Loire. Friendly competent staff. Historic rooms and luxurious furnishings in an intimate setting. Excellent food. The breakfast is five star, as is the hotel dining room which looks out on the Loire. Try the local wines as recommended by the friendly maitre d'. We loved our stay, our windows faced the Loire. Parking was perfect. The bed was huge and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The public rooms are in the grand style. Our room had a fire place and classic furniture. Huge closet and lovely atmosphere. The hotel is right beneath the castle. You can walk to the center of town for shopping or other restaurants or to see the chateau. We will return.

Room Tip: There is an interesting selection, from large grand rooms, to small intimate cottage type lodging wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

First of all, this property is not a chateau but a big house by Loire river with perfect location, 5 min walk to Amboise castle and town. The first minute stepping into the property, we were treated with excellent service just like we were guests of this house. The place is cute with unique setting, nice garden and some caves (as part of their landscape). The room is large with cute decoration in matching silk wall paper, lamps, bedsheet. The room is next to the river and a small street but the double windows and doors bar all the outside noise (some inside noise of people walking upstairs can still be heard though). Bathroom is big and there is also a big closet area. Dinner was excellent, the best on this trip. Service was perfect as well with attentive and friendly staffs. Breakfast was also good. I would come back to this lovely place again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house and outside are, in my opinion, equally good. We stayed in the main house b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRATANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambroise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

On first view, this hotel is charming and appears to merit it's 4 stars. By dinner I was questioning that rating - yes, it has a pool (unheated from what I could tell, yes the restaurant is very good, yes, the location is good, but that's where it ends. My husband and I are staying in the second level of room. We had to carry our suitcases up two flights of winding stairs, OK we're in Europe and that's how they build. When we got into our room 2 of the light bulbs were out, the floor in the bathroom was dirty, the lights in the closets have been removed (and the electricity appears to have been capped). There was no safe and we weren't offered a secure place for our valuables. The bigger problem was the staff. When I raised these issues and mentioned that, to me, this is unacceptable in a 4-star hotel, they told me I should have paid for a better room. Really, cleanliness and basic maintenance is only available to certain clients? Not impressed and won't likely be staying at this chain again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Le Choiseul, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Madam,

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay at le Choiseul ; however we thank you for having taken the time to write a comment. We confirm you that it is not acceptable that you had to carry your luggages up to your room because the staff always offer to provide help with bags.
As explain in the hotel information book, there is a safety box available at the reception of the hotel in order to secure your valuables.
Your opinion is very important for us in order to improve the quality of our service all the time.

Best regards,

Le Choiseul team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

The hotel has very good location, within walking distance form the sights in lovely Amboise. Our room was nice, clean and quite spacious with a very comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and helpful and buffet breakfast excellent, as well as the restaurant. We had a great time in the Loire Valley and it was definitely one of the high points.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivek090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Choiseul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Choiseul

Property: Le Choiseul
Address: 36 quai Charles Guinot, 37400, Amboise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Choiseul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel in Amboise with panoramic view over the River Loire.At the foot of the Amboise Castle ramparts, overlooking the Loire, The Choiseul is a collection of private residences built in the 18th Century, surrounding Italian-style gardens.An ideal base for those who wish to visit the royal castles of the Loire Valley & to savour the area's celebrated cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Le Choiseul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Choiseul Amboise
Le Choiseul Hotel Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing