We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at Novotel Amboise”
Review of Novotel Amboise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Amboise
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at Novotel Amboise”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our room was clean, comfortable and well equipped with extra pillows - importantly for us it was also genuinely non- fumeur.

After a long drive we were happy to dine in - restaurant service this sunday evening was a little erratic - but staff were friendly and minor order mistakes quickly rectified. We slept well and found the City Breakfast sufficient for us and a more reasonable price than the full buffet.

Reception staff were efficient and helpful with directions.

The hotel is well situated on southern edge of town - good access to the chateau and town centre and also to the numerous other Loire valley attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank jamesgower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    461
    201
    40
    22
See reviews for
420
311
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very calm, a bit of the center of Amboise town, however, no problem as you have anyway to take the car to visit the castles.

Staff at reception desk is very friendly, speaks very well english (a rarity in France, not very important for me as I speak french, but I saw a lot of US tourists being relieved when realising front desk staff was perfectly mastering english language )

They were as well very helpfull. (i was allowed to leave my bikes there during one week after a car problem).

The rooms are standard Novotel, beds are fine, bathroom is big enough, internet is for free, there is a X-Box360 and IMac in the lobby (free), my kids loved the last ones.

Hats off for the staff, thanks to them Novotel amboise gets a 5/5.

Room Tip: Didn't notice any problem even if we were sleeping at groundfloor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hjeang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz In Rome
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed in this hotel for 2 nights visiting Amboise and surrounding area. The hotel is located on a hill overlooking the town and chateau. It is quiet and clean. The staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good. It has a mini golf, tennis court, swimming pool and pool table. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
5 Thank J_in_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is an average hotel with a beautiful view of Amboise from some rooms (my room had a view of the parking lot) and from the dining area. 30-45 min walk to the town center with some restaurants and shops. Enough to keep you busy in town for a day with the chateau and Di Vinci's house and garden. Small outdoor pool. Hotel was clean. Breakfast buffet ok, as was my dinner, though nothing special. Eating at a restaurant in town would be a better choice, had an excellent lunch at one of the italian places there. Big chocolate shop in town too. Wifi was spotty in the rooms, desk told me too many people were using it, but it worked fine in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrmisrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We got two rooms for 4 days in here. The hotel is well located, beatiful view and good facilities for adults and kids. However services are very poor. The Wifi conection is easy to be done, but does not work well in the rooms. There was a day without hot water in the bathrooms and took a while to be fixed.
I realy expected more of this hotel, I will probably not try it again if I return to Amboise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank rlomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We found this to be a nice, clean hotel with great friendly staff. Our rooms were nice and clean. The heat worked well and the windows had a very nice view (facing toward Amboise) and could be opened for fresh air. The beds were comfortable and there were a number of outlets making it convenient to charge electronic devices.

We had the morning buffet breakfast at the hotel saving us the time to try to find somewhere else. The food was typical of most hotel buffets - decent enough to fill you up - but nothing to get excited about.

The kids enjoyed the Xbox console. Given it was early March, we didn't have the opportunity to use the pool.

The location was very easy to find and had ample and safe parking. I'd definitely recommend a vehicle to visit downtown as it is a bit of a walk for most people.

The town was very nice. We ate a Chez Bruno one evening and highly recommend it as it has incredible food at very reasonable prices.

We'd certainly stay at this Novotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing downtown Amboise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zorax22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Novotel Amboise is a nice property on the outskirts of the quaint town of Amboise. The property sits on a hillside overlooking downtown Amboise and the Loire Valley. The infinity pool is very attractive, as is the on-site restaurant. The adjacent vineyards give the property a very charming feel. The big downside though is the distance to downtown (about one mile). Walking is out of the question. A taxi is a must for dinner/shopping as there is nothing nearby to walk to.

All in all a nice property, but with some shortcomings.

Room Tip: It is probably better to stay on the upper floors as the lower level had a bit of a musty smell. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley
1.8 mi away
Ibis Amboise
Ibis Amboise
#18 of 25 in Amboise
557 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Logis Domaine de l'Arbrelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amboise

Property: Novotel Amboise
Address: 17 rue des Sablonnieres, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amboise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, spacious an comfortable rooms have been designed to accommodate your wishes, regardless of the reason for your stay, so that you can relax (bathtub or separate shower, comfortable sofa, flat screen television, etc...) or work (Free WIFI connection, pivoting desk, etc...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amboise Hotel Amboise
Amboise Novotel
Accor Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing