We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel...location is on outskirts”
Review of Novotel Amboise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Amboise
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Very nice hotel with nice, modern, spacious, and clean rooms. We arrived in the evening and woke up to a fabulous view of the Amboise Chateau. Nice restaurant and facilities. The outdoor pool looked lovely..but it was too cool for us to use. The only disadvantage is the location, which is on the outskirts of town. A nice 20 minute walk downhill to the main part of town (where the action is).. through a lovely residential area; however when we wanted to return to the hotel in the evening..a taxi was a must...and there are only 2 taxis in town. After the first night, we learned that it is necessary to reserve a taxi an hour in advance. But all in all the hotel & service were good.

Room Tip: ask for a chateau view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoraDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 959 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

i satyed here a couple years back as the leader of an educational student trip. The facility itself is nice enough - very "chain-hotel"ish. But I was so disappointed by the location! We had a lovely view of the chateau and town of Amboise in the distance... we had been booked here by a student travel, so it was not my choice since being centrally located to sites, cafes, etc is important to me.

We did wnjoy the lounge area and the pool table. It was too cool for swimming , but there is a very beautiful pool overlooking the chateau/town a couple miles down the hilll.

The desk worker was so very nice to our group, though and we did not have a bad experience in that way. The beds were really not very comfy... and if you are American....be prepared that there was no top sheet.

If you are just looking for a quiet place with a nice, view then this would work for you. If you want to be able to walk to see sites, and stroll the town, look into something else.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hcvoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chester
11
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed on a stop over on our way to Nadillac, fantastic value for money. Clean, modern and very polite staff. On return home we stayed in a travel lodge in England, same price but could not have been further apart in quality and cleanliness. No hesitation in staying in another novotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Very nice hotel! Building was updated and chic. Rooms were clean and comfortable. In-hotel restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalBlueScrubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
haarlem
11
Reviewed May 3, 2011

nice hotel, somehow you are always tucked away facing the building next door... never the nice rooms with the valley view. a real let down! and now I have to complete my review to make it 200 characters....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed a total of 5 nights at the Novotel Amboise. The hotel is located outside the town proper on a hill side. Some of the rooms therefore have wide open views of the surrounding landscape with, in the distance, the castle of Amboise. Thanks to its off-center location the hotel enjoys blisfull tranquility as it is set in a nice modest park with garden in which mini-golf and table tennis and tennis facilities are available. The hotel also has an outdoor swimming pool. The rooms are the standard but comfortable typical Novotel rooms. If you are looking for charm and personality then this may not be the best choice for you. The rooms have double doors so that the noise from the corridor is sufficiently blocked. The lobby has a pleasant bar area and an Apple computer is available to hotel guests at no charge (maximum 20 minutes per guest). The dining area is set by the side of the hotel overlooking the valley and the castle in the distance. It is very bright and agreeable. The quality of the food however leaves much to be desired. We started with a 'fondue of potiron and comté' which was totally devoid of flavour. The same thing happened with the 'dos de cabillaud' which came to the table without any flavour whatsoever. The best part of the meal was the selection of local cheeses (although they were not very ripe) and the wine. The chef and the kitchen staff obviously disappointed us and should make it a point to taste the food they prepare before they send it out. It was a sad minus point in what was otherwise a pleasant hotel stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

On a weekend trip to the Loire valley, this hotel provided an excellent location to visit the chateaux and the Beauval zoo. The pool & tennis courts provide good outdoor activities (mini-golf is quite badly damaged). Breakfast was decent, rooms & bathrooms clean (no bathtub however, even in the higher category room). Staff was friendly as well. Brief, I'd definitely recommend this hotel to visitors to the Loire region.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxmax92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Le Vinci Loire Valley
1.8 mi away
Ibis Amboise
Ibis Amboise
#18 of 25 in Amboise
582 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
637 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amboise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amboise

Address: 17 rue des Sablonnieres, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amboise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amboise
Price Range: $112 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amboise 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, spacious an comfortable rooms have been designed to accommodate your wishes, regardless of the reason for your stay, so that you can relax (bathtub or separate shower, comfortable sofa, flat screen television, etc...) or work (Free WIFI connection, pivoting desk, etc...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Amboise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amboise Hotel Amboise
Amboise Novotel
Accor Amboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing