We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres Bien!”
Review of La Grange Chambres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amboise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Grange Chambres
Ranked #11 of 31 Amboise B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Friendly, welcoming, charming, comfortable, tres, tres bien! Ask for the large room with the table set in the middle of the room in the style of the local chateaux. Everything about this room reminds you that you are in the valley of the chateaux, very modern yet oh so French. Yveline and Patrick were very welcoming, gave us good recommendations and made sure our stay was comfortable. Yveline even stopped traffic on the street so we could back our car into their gated courtyard. I would recommend La Grange B and B to anyone who wants good value, good comfort, and an excellent French experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 77 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

It's a good thing there is free overnight parking nearby because this B&B sits right at the fork of two one-way streets. The front door into the courtyard has just enough sidewalk space for you to stand on as cars whiz by. But it's a nice home behind the door. On our arrival, we were greeted at the door by Yveline, the warm host. She showed us to our room up a flight of stairs and handed us two keys, one for the front door and one for our room. Her English is much better than the few French words I know but there is no problem communicating. We would meet her friendly husband Patrick later but he just pops in and out. At least two other rooms were occupied during our stay but you couldn't tell because the place gets quiet after dark. Breakfast is served on the big dining table downstairs. In addition to typical items like baguette and croissant, Yveline lays out eggs, yogurt, and home made spreads. She even baked a tasty cake for the guests one morning. The property is strategically located in Amboise as most places and restaurants you want to visit are within easy walking distance. Chenenceau is only 20 minutes by car. A day trip to Blois and Chambord can be done quite leisurely. We didn't get enough of Loire Valley on this visit and guess where we'll want to stay on our next visit? La Grange!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sf88fs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Researched this B&B on the internet. Could not have asked for better accomondations. Very friendly and gracious hosts (Patrick & Yveline). Breakfast was excellent, and the location in Amboise was perfect. You can park your car inside the gate, and walk anywhere in town. You will enjoy staying here, and the price is right. As they were not full during our stay, they gave us the best room. We also stored our wine in their refridgerator. Looks like these ratings really work.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Very warm, welcoming, comfortable B&B in wonderful little Amboise. Bedroom was huge, very clean, comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious. As it was March, could only imagine how nice the garden would be in a few weeks. Innkeepers very friendly and helpful even with limited English.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights using it as our base for visiting the chateaux of Le Azay de Rideau, Chenonceau, Chambord, and Cheverny. The owners Yveline and Patrick couldn't be nicer. Yveline is really sweet - making every effort to speak English. This B & B is located in a quiet, private courtyard where you might park your small car. We slept with windows open and slept great. There is no air conditioning, but we didn't need it in early Oct. Our room was huge with a double bed and 2 twin beds. The bathroom looks updated recently. The shower did not have a head on the wall, instead it had a long hose with a sprayer end. These are so difficult for me to use without getting water on the floor. Everything was very clean. Breakfast is included in the room price and is better than most French breakfasts. Cash only; lots of ATMs nearby. This B & B is situated in the main part of the town, so all of Amboise is within easy, fun walking distance. Tea is available anytime in the common area. There are also plates, silverware, wine glasses, for bringing in your own snacks if you like. We would highly recommend this lodging.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravellingTLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We loved Yveline and the beautiful La Grange. She was so warm and friendly and made everyone feel so welcome. You enter from the street into a beautiful garden with a table where you can picnic or enjoy your breakfast or a bottle of wine. The breakfast room inside has one table where all the guests can eat together and get acquainted. The rooms are lovely with a big comfortable bed. But the best part is the charming and lovely hostess Yveline. La Grange is conveniently located too. Tres magnifique!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

As stated in the other reviews, the hostess is as friendly and helpful as can be, and the room was wonderful. The breakfast room was great, as was the breakfast - above and beyond as far as they go for B&Bs in France.

We are vegetarian and the hostess helped us out by calling around to find a local favourite that could accommodate us.

Very happy with the stay overall.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank snwbrdwndsrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0 mi away
Inter-Hotel Chaptal
Inter-Hotel Chaptal
#14 of 25 in Amboise
226 reviews
2.3 mi away
L'Auberge de la Ramberge
L'Auberge de la Ramberge
#1 of 1 in Poce-sur-Cisse
82 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grange Chambres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange Chambres

Address: 18 rue Chaptal, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Amboise
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing