We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madame Sylvie, it's perfect..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Au Charme Rabelaisien
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
231 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Madame Sylvie, it's perfect..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

What a charming, helpful, delightful lady. Our rooms were beautiful, tastefully furnished, very spacious and oh so comfortable. Breakfast was a feast fit for a king and the presentaion was excellent. Made us feel like royalty for just a couple of nights which we all wished was a whole lot longer. The location is excellent no need to take the car out to explore the town and Amboise Castle and there was a carpark without an additional fee, which was very much appreciated. An excellent location for getting to many of the amazing Chateau's in this area.

Room Tip: Can' go wrong it's superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollygobbleblissbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
91
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

This little B&B is an absolute find. It is tucked away in a side street about 2 blocks from the Castle, restaurant strip and shopping centre. If you want to be in the centre of things in Amboise, this is the place to be. We stayed in "Couture" which is the ground floor suite. It was a fantastic room; very spacious with a sitting area, very comfortable bed and one of the biggest and most luxurious bathrooms I have come across in a B&B. The room looks out onto the garden area which is a serene little oasis in the midst of the very bustling tourist town which is Amboise. Mdme Sylvie is the perfect hostess, always available for information and recommendations for restaurants etc. but totally unobtrusive at other times. Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is a feast and certainly sets you up for the day ahead. There is also secure car parking available which is a must if you are staying in the town centre.
Au Charme Rabelaisien has earned a place in Michelin accommodation guide and I can totally understand why.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jancv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

We spent 6 nights with Madame Sylvie in September 2010 and we really enjoyed our accommodation. Our room was spacious with a great bathroom and long french doors which opened directly to the garden. The breakfast room was beautiful and we ate like French royalty. The room was very clean with beautiful furnshings. The location just one street back from the main part of town was very quiet yet close to everything. We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lianewarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

Madame Sylvie Viard has done wonders restoring this chateau and meeting her guests needs. From her welcome at the door to escorting us to the private car park, tour of the chateau and preparing the "to die for' breakfast, we can't wait to visit again.
Our room "Cozy" is small, but well appointed and met our needs of cozy slumber and personal hygiene. If you're looking for relaxation, off the beaten path, this is the place. However, note that "Cozy" is cozy and cozier for the traditional builds. Relaxing in the garden or by the pool after a days drive is the perfect end of day. Madame Sylvie is at your disposal to make your dinner reservatins at L'Alliance or another choice. We wish our schedule allowed for more time at Au Charme Rabelaisein as we could get very used to living the lifestyle provided by this excellent hostess and her chateau.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stayed 7 nights in this B&B at the heart of the Loire Valley. We did not want to stay in a hotel and decided to go for a upmarket B&B. We had the groundfloor room in the main property with direct access to the beautiful garden with a heated swimming pool. Although at the heart of Amboise, this B&B is a heaven of peace and relaxation. The room was huge (35m2) and the bathroom wonderfully airy and light. The hostess is very discrete although always available to give tips and advice.
The only minor point might be the price: it can be seen hefty for a B&B but you get a hotel-equivalent service with the bedrooms made everyday, towels changed, WIFI and satellite TV without forgetting secure parking ( very rare within Amboise) all for free.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
1.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Au Charme Rabelaisien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Charme Rabelaisien

Property: Hotel Au Charme Rabelaisien
Address: 25 rue Rabelais, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Au Charme Rabelaisien 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel - Au Charme Rabelaisien Au Charme Rabelaisien, a luxury bed and breakfast for 10 years, is reborn into a boutique hotel.« Au Charme Rabelaisien » will receive a complete renovation of its facilities and its services (elevator, relaxation area, bar). Scheduled to open in May 2016, Au Charme Rabelaisien invites you to experience the new Loire Valey must stay. Now freshly restored, its stylish decor and intimatate garden with pool welcome guests to rediscover a unique atmosphere and the inimitable French art de vivre. We are located in the city center of Amboise, close to Amboise’s Royal Castle. Au Charme Rabelaisien in a few lines: •10 refined and comfortable rooms with attractive modern touches •Elevator in the main house •Heated outdoor pool in summer •Relaxation and wellness area: Jacuzzi, sauna, gym •Landscaped garden •Concierge and personalized services •Luggage Storage •Laundry service •Continental breakfast served in the dining room or in the garden •Bar (snack) with lounge •Free WIFI •Paid parking (subject to availability ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Au Charme Rabelaisien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing