We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very, very average.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Via Roma

Via Roma
Ranked #25 of 86 Restaurants in Amboise
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lincoln
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very, very average.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

After a lovely day in Amboise, we thought we would have dinner in one of the restaurants facing the Château. Admittedly it was always going to be a challenge with a 4 month old baby and accompanying buggy but........... we found we could just about squeeze into a couple of seats in this restaurant.
The waitress was very disinterested, when she did arrive with our drinks she brought 5 glasses - we were seated at a very small table. The waitress moved the buggy out of way without asking! On offer were 4 salads, 4 pizzas and 4 pasta sauces with either fusilie or penne. We opted for salad which arrived in a small bowl and with 2 very thin slices of baguette. Total bill with a drink each - 25Eur.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chodlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    192
    97
    34
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always difficult choosing in a Tourist Trap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We only wanted a light meal so went into the heart fo the tourist area. We both had the veal, which was very chewy.
The restaurant was very busy as were all the restaurants along that road, which is probably why they can get away with being average

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank oldcarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another dull cafe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was in a strip of cafes parallel to the entrance to the Chateau de Amboise. The cafe was crowded into a small space, slow service and dull uninteresting food aimed at tourists.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank xubery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Having been in France for over a week my children were in need of pizza, and we weren't disappointed. The pizza was great, as good as any we had in Italy, and it made a change from the "menu enfants" which are offered in most tourist restaurants. Good service as well, on a very busy Saturday night in August. We booked in the afternoon for the same evening, and were glad we did as there was a queue for tables by the time we left.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kidsandcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best for basic good quality Italian food in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very nice, reliable italian food with a good range for all the family. We went back again , so that's probably as good a measure as anything. Oizzas all good and pasta with chrizo enjyable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMB5190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Roma also viewed

Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 
Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 

Been to Via Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing