We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”
Review of Le Paquerie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amboise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Paquerie
Ranked #23 of 31 Amboise B&B and Inns
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I first need to apologize to Therese and Brian for taking so long to post this, but we never seem to stay home!
In Europe for 7 weeks, 17 different locations, and by far...the first place I rave about is Le Paquerie. When you tell people you've stayed in a cave....it conjures up some strange images. It was absolutely beautifully done, everything one could possibly need and oh my...what a comfortable bed. And quiet.
Brian was extremely interesting to talk with, they both are, but Therese is a little more quiet. Both world travelers, breakfast with them was very enjoyable...she's an amazing "chef" also!
Would love to return some day.

Room Tip: There is only ONE!!!!!! And it is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

From the moment we made our online booking (thanks to Trip Advisor), Therese and Brian went out of their way to ensure that our visit to the Loire was special. Located just a short drive out of Amboise (Brian emailed the GPS coordinates), this B&B is an outstanding, beautiful and peaceful respite at the end of a busy day as tourists. Separate to the main house, the 'cave' accommodation is spacious, cosy and thoughtfully appointed. The shower & separate toilet were modern and spotless. In additional to the many helpful tourist brochures provided, there were gastronomic pleasures aplenty - from Therese's delicious homemade jams at breakfast to excellent recommendations for local patisseries and restaurants. Therese and Brian are outstanding hosts. They went out of their way to help us with our own GPS problems and to share their intimate knowledge and passion for the region. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at Therese’s B & B “Le Paquerie” for 2 nights at the end of July. If you are touring in the Loire Valley, a stop at this B&B is highly recommended by us. You do need to have a vehicle as it is a short drive to Amboise and the many beautiful Chateaux in the area. Le Paquerie is very accessible by car from Tours and the nearest TGV station, St. Pierre de Corps. Unique though, is the guest accommodation which is set into a limestone hill. It is actually a “cave”. What an experience! We were both looking forward to the different style of accommodation but really didn’t know what to expect. What we had read on Trip Advisor (thanks – we always check) helped to reassure us that the accommodation would be delightful. We were not disappointed and I have to say it was wonderful. The bedroom and living area is large. Off this, are a comfortable amenities area and a separate shower and toilet. Everything is beautifully clean. Free WI FI is available which was a bonus to us. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in our room. The view over the Loire Valley from the outdoor area is beautiful. We enjoyed a glass of the local wine while taking in our surroundings. To add to the ambience, we were fortunate enough to enjoy hot air balloons drifting down the valley. Therese and her husband Brian made us very welcome. As has previously been said by other visitors, Therese is an accomplished artist and Brian has the same ability in photography (ask to see some of their work). They were arranging an exhibition during our stay. We took their restaurant recommendations on board and had delightful meals on each occasion. A continental breakfast was taken in their home, and they offered a variety of juices, homemade jams and croissants – light and beautiful. Just to add to what was already an outstanding experience, Brian gave me a few tips to taking better photos! Thank you so much for making our time in France just that much more enjoyable. Jenny and Gerry - Melbourne

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

My husband and I recently traveled to France for our wine business, and lucky for us, we discovered this wonderful gem. While technically, I guess, it is a bed and breakfast, it is not like typical ones where you have a single room and bath within a house shared with others. Here, the owners live in a house right next to your stay, which is in a "cave" on the property. You have plenty of space (indeed, the original owners used to live here and the "house" on the property was their stable), but most important, amazing hosts. Brian was abroad while we stayed, but Therese helped us incredibly. She served wonderful breakfasts, helped us find our way around, had spot-on recommendations, and was willing to adapt to our needs. While she would have happily left us to our own devices should we wished for privacy, she also accommodated our high social needs: we had a lovely "picnic" dinner on the patio in which my husband and I brought some bread, cheese, and meat we had bought in town, and Therese brought fresh radishes and cherries (picked just that morning), wine, and her homemade pate. She also went above and beyond and made some calls for us to some French-only speaking winery owners we had to meet with. I can't say enough how wonderful this place is. The views are incredible, the location is perfect, and the place itself is as welcoming and clean as can be. You'll be in heaven!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summitepale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

My wife and I had our second honeymoon in Brittany, the Loire and Paris in fall, 2008. Of all the places we stayed, this was the most charming and one of the most reasonable. The lodging was a spotless and wonderfully furnished cave about 3 miles north of the charming town of Amboise (absolutely worth a visit). Caves dot the Loire and Brian and Therese have retired to the house (in Therese's family for years and just steps from the cave entrance) and restored, rewired, plumbed, etc. the adjacent cave.

The main room has a firm kingsized bed, huge fireplace, large windows, grand, antique armoire and lots of books and other warm touches. The modern sink, toilet and large shower are each in separate alcoves off the main room. The cave walls are whitewashed and the feeling is light and bright. Lots of toiletries and nice robes and linens. It was like staying in the best Hobbit-hole in the Loire.

Brian was gone during our stay, but Therese was a perfectly charming, warm hostess who spoke very good English. She provided a very nice breakfast "next door" in their home and recommeded a very good restaurant beneath the walls of the castle in Amboise, a five minute drive across the Loire to the south, not too far from Leonardo's home.

All in all, a wonderful, unique experience with a great hostess. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Jay and Mary

  • Liked — Clean, bright, well-furnished and unique!
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niwotois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Francais
Hotel Le Francais
#23 of 25 in Amboise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Bellevue
Bellevue
#19 of 25 in Amboise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon des Lys
Le Pavillon des Lys
#5 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
VillaConcorde
VillaConcorde
#5 of 10 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Roma
Villa Roma
#17 of 31 in Amboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Paquerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Paquerie

Property: Le Paquerie
Address: Amboise, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Amboise
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing