We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners care - it shows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Pavillon des Lys
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Owners care - it shows”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a very welcoming place and the service is very good. The hotel has been tastefully decorated and seems to me to be very much a one-off. Considering it costs the same as the Novotel up the road, I know where I'd rather be...

We stayed in Suite 20 which is at the top of the hotel. Again, well decorated and lots of nice touches in the room. Air-con isn't the most ferocious in the world and could do with being slightly more powerful in a room where management advise against opening the windows due to midges.

We ate dinner - it was excellent. Indeed, the seafood fricasee was one of the best things I had in France this summer. The dining room looks good but the tables are quite close to one another and there is no background music - we were both conscious that we could hear what other diners were saying and vice versa. Also had breakfast, again this was excellent.

Nice to stay in a place which the owners have put their heart and soul into, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaherty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    95
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
237
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just returned from a 3 day stay at this wonderful hotel. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend it. We stayed in the cottage with a loft. We had our own patio out in front of our room. Had coffee there every morning and cocktails at night. Sebastian and Vincent were so helpful and went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. It was a perfect place to explore the Loire Valley. We arrived by train (had been visiting other parts of France and Spain for 3 weeks)
and took a taxi to the hotel. Sebastian was able to book us tours to see the Chateaus in the area.
We would definitely stay there again. We were debating between this hotel and others rated high on tripadvisor. We were so happy we chose this one because the location was so much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in a great location....however on a hot night the air conditioning went out.
When I called the night manager to see what he can do he came up to the room and told me there was nothing wrong with the air and if I did not like it I should find another hotel.
Then I asked for a fan for the room....he told me they had no fan and that the next day he wanted me to leave the hotel.
NOT a great way to get a good review!!!

Room Tip: there are lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePavillonDesLys, Gérant at Le Pavillon des Lys, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment.
We understand you difficulty facing the heat wave in Amboise during your stay, and that there was a problem with the air conditioning, that has been resolved. We are sorry that this had happen during your stay. But this problem did not allow you to have the attitude you had with the staff of the hotel by yelling on them at midnight. During your stay you had never said hello or thank you neither. So the only solution we had was to propose to you to find an other hotel.
We are sorry that you didn't have a nice stay, but it doesn't allow you to leave without paying the bill for your extras and making us run after you so we could get the key of the room back.
We regret that you did not have a pleasant stay.

Sébastien Bégouin,
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We loved this hotel - it is comfortable, welcoming and first class. Do stay here if you are staying in or around Amboise. We found it by accident but were so thrilled to find it> The rooms are fantastically comforable and they said ours was small but it had a sitting room bedroom and fantastic bathroom. We couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: phone them - they are so helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterSolsticeDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is great. It looks like it has recently been completely renovated. It has lots of charm and is nicely decorated. The staff are very helpful. Breakfast is fairly standard for France, but it feels very elegant due to the nice breakfast room and nice linens.

Our room was a deluxe room that was very large. The bathroom was band new with a great shower. Very clean and comfortable. The room was on the top level (3rd floor I think). No elevator, but very cool old staircase.

Parking is good and behind a locked gate at night. The location is great, but very difficult to find. It is on a very narrow one way street, right on an intersection. It is an easy walk to the pedestrian area. It is centrally located to several chateaus, but you will probably need to drive to get to them. Some guide books like Rick Steves talk about biking to them, but I do not see how that would be possible. It is about 1/2 hour drive to most of them.

Overall a great hotel, great location, good staff. A little pricey, but I can see why they are able to charge a little more than most hotels.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have a great shower, and are very big. I suspect that any room here would be very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We just stayed one night in this beautiful hotel. We called the day before and had to take the only room available, a Deluxe Suite (as it was August, peak season, this was not surprising we had little choice). We took it and enjoyed a touch of luxury during our holidays. We enjoyed: a splendid room with exquisite decoration, a practical, mostly shadowed parking, a central location, 3 minutes by foot from the Castle of Amboise, and most restaurants, and a standard but delicious continental breakfast. This was the perfect choice for a one-night stop-over, as we wanted to be close to the attractions. Only minor annoyance: pillows were to soft for us (and we did not bother checking with the reception if they had alternative, but maybe we should have).

Room Tip: We had a ground floor, separate entrance room, front of the parking. This was OK, not much traffic i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antanarive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here as part of a package organised through RiverLoire, and loved it. A gorgeous old building with beautiful decor, lovely attention from Vincent and Sebastion, and fantastic location - very close to all restaurants and the chateau, but in a quiet street. The only downside (and it's a minor one) is that the Wifi is a bit iffy on the top floor, as noted by previous reviewers. But there is a comfy lounge in reception where you can sit while browsing, so not a major problem. Would absolutely recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboise hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
Hotel le Clos d'Amboise
#4 of 25 in Amboise
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Choiseul
Le Choiseul
#8 of 25 in Amboise
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
591 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
563 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon des Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon des Lys

Property: Le Pavillon des Lys
Address: 9 rue d Orange, 37400, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Amboise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon des Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Pavillon des Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing