We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, lovely, lovely!”
Review of Le Lion d'Or

Le Lion d'Or
Ranked #16 of 86 Restaurants in Amboise
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
“Lovely, lovely, lovely!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went last night because La Forchette was closed. We did not regret it and are going again tonight!!! :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naryves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    179
    68
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, fun place”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just there last week. Food was delicious and the ambience was lots of fun. Had a wonderful pate and they had a good wine list. Would return in a minute. .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank stokesey541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Based on the reviews Le Lion d'or was not our first choice and after waiting about 30 minutes to have our order taken (it was very crowded), I would have walked out but for my wife wisely asking "what's our other choice?" Eventually, the appetizer arrived and it was great so my mood began improving, and when the main course, steak, was tasted I was in love with the restaurant. And the desert was the best part of the meal.

We were in Paris for a week before visiting Amboise with meals at FL, Au Petite Sud Quest, Florimond, and Reed all very highly rated and while we enjoyed all our meals at them Le Lion d'or was the best meal we had in France.

Two recommendations to solve what appears to be a problem of timely service on some nights (we ate there a second time with no service issue): 1. they open at 7:00 PM so arrive early as darn few eat dinner at that hour and 2. be more patient than I....it's worth the wait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidgpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We ate here twice”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We ate two times in the big dining room with high ceilings and an old fashioned feel. The food was absolutely delicious and gorgeously presented. We both had the pre fixe menu both times, different selections, and didn't have anything that we didn't like...a lot.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great meal for a reasonable price”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We walked by a couple of other places but based on reviews from a couple of different sites I wanted to check out this place and we were very happy with it. Not all the staff spoke terrific English but they were very nice to us.
They had a nice options for the menus that were the same as some of what seemed to be the more casual places that were in the middle of the tourist area. This seemed to be a better value and we really enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler89675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Lion d'Or also viewed

Amboise, Loire Valley
 
Amboise, Loire Valley
Amboise, Loire Valley
 

Been to Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing