We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Depuis le pont
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Depuis le pont
Vue du haut du château
L'enseigne sous la neige
Gîte du premier étage : vue d'ensemble avec le séjour et les 2 chambres au fond
Depuis le coin cuisine
Vue depuis l'autre angle : la porte d'entrée, celle de la salle d'eau
Le coin cuisine
Juste en face du château...
Cuisine complètement équipée
Chambre coté Loire : le Velux semble encadrer le château
Seconde chambre sur cour
Salle d'eau avec toilettes fermées
Lavabo
Gîte du rez-de-chaussée : la Loire est toute proche, le château juste en face
Vue de tout le rez-de-chaussée
Gîte du rez-de-chaussée
La Porte Bleue est tout en haut de la photo, à droite
Coucher de soleil sur le château : photo prise devant la maison
Soir d'orage devant la maison
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Amboise, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Burradoo
Bowral, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of 4 adults stayed in the upstairs apartment that has 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. The apartment is in the most spectacular position, on a small island in the middle of the Loire. The view of the chateau and the town directly opposite is fantastic. At night it is lit up and so beautiful! the apartment is comfortable with plenty of space for 4 people. Everything is well equipped and the host is charming and very helpful. It was cold when we were there but the heating was good. It is a very short walk across the bridge to the shops and restaurants of the town. There is a small bar just around the corner if you just want a drink and simple food. Amboise is a great centre to visit the chateaux of the Loire valley. My only warning would be don't rent the upstairs if you can't manage stairs easily. Otherwise, this place is highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailorman...
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed November 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

During a month-long visit to France in September, my wife and I spent four nights in the downstairs apartment of Chantal Salvaudon's wonderful La Porte Blue. What a very special treat it was!!!! From its perfect location on an island in the middle of the Loire directly across from the magnificent Chateau d'Amboise, to its welcoming, warm and spotlessly clean interior, to its comfortable bed and fully equipped kitchen, and on and on and on; you can't say enough positives about this place! Added to the accommodation is Chantal's incredibly warm and welcoming greeting on your arrival. And, throughout your stay, she is ready and willing to offer assistance and advice when/if needed. She is a font of local knowledge. Too, nearby on the island, and should you be tired and/or simply prefer not to cook or go further, there are two very satisfactory places to eat within a very short walk from La Porte Bleue.
As you can tell, we loved our visit to Amboise, and loved our stay at La Porte Bleue. Thank you, Chantal, for sharing your former home with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgunnLu...
Lucas, OH
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chantal's Magical Blue Door”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed the last two weeks in September 2016 on the upper floor of La Porte Bleue. It was wonderful from the moment charming Chantal met us at the train station until she dropped us off again for our return to Paris. Amboise is a beautiful town with much to see and do -- the magnificent castle, Clos-Luce and Leonardo, Chateau Gaillard, lovely churches, the amazing weekly market, the Chanteloup Pagoda, nearby chateaux, bike rides, boat trips, walks along the Loire River, and more. Two things made our stay in Amboise so marvelous: Chantal and La Porte Bleue. The view of the castle and sound of the river outside the window cast a magical spell over us -- it was difficult to leave and go touristing each day! The apartment is comfortable, well-equipped, and convenient to everything. Chantal is just across the street if any questions/problems arise. She is a jewel and is treasured throughout Amboise. Everyone knows her and her electric bike! We highly recommend a hot air balloon ride with Touraine-Montgolfiers (tickets sold next to the castle). The train station is an easy walk from the apartment for day-trips to Chinon and Blois. But Amboise and La Porte Bleue are so special, you might not go anywhere! We have only grand memories of La Porte Bleue and are already planning a return visit to Amboise. Without doubt, we will stay again with Chantal.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2016
Thank you very much K. and W. for this lovely comment. You have been lovely guests, I won't forget you.
So happy if you come back... Maybe. Take care, be happy !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian d
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent accomm”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Great value for money and top view of chateaux and amboise
Very helpful with local info and well equipped gite
Would recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmostFif...
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our favorite stay on our recent trip to France”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Myself, my husband and my 3 adult children recently stayed her on our 2 week trip to France. We only had one night to stay and had a late arrival. Despite a bit of miscommunication as how to gain entry arriving so late, the owner was accommodating and wonderful in every way. Even when we had to wake up the owner at 4am (after searching for the key and correct door for 2 hours - partly our own fault - we did not have a local phone to contact her), she greeted us with a cherry smile and a look of understanding. The place is just beautiful, with every convenience you could ask for. The rooms are warm and cozy (the bedding is warm and toasty!) and the view across the river is simply breathtaking. The old city is right across the river and we could not have asked for a nice accommodation. Five stars! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The beautifully convenient location and the friendliness of our host
Liked least: A bit confusing to find with a late check-in, but no problem if you have a local phone
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2016
Thank you very much ! I can't forget your arrival... And I hope you can come back for a longer stay ! Maybe...?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patricia...
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every way !”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
5
people found this review helpful

My husband and I live in Des Moines, Iowa, USA. We decided to spend an extended vacation in the Loire valley, 5 weeks being at La Porte Bleue in Amboise May 9 to June 13, 2015.
We discovered the accommodation on the internet, were captured by its charming photos and prime location facing the Chateau Amboise, but convinced by the outstanding reviews of previous visitors. It was an easy decision to request a booking from the owner Chantal Salvaudon a year before our arrival.
We travel extensively now that we're in our 60's and love to stay in apartments and self-accommodating facilities, but none has ever exceeded our expectations like La Porte Bleue. Every positive comment you may already have read regarding this home and its warm and welcoming owner is absolutely true.
However, for those of you still trying to make a decision where to spend a few days or a few weeks in the Loire valley, we cannot recommend this charming house and its owner more highly.
Chantal is La Porte Bleue ! Her vivacious personality is reflected everywhere in the furnishings, the artwork, her books, the handpainted walls, hand crocheted curtains, the happy La Porte Bleue sign swinging outside the front door, towels and cheerfully patterned bed sheets replaced weekly - maybe dots, stripes, "flowers today!" neatly ironed and left in a basket at the back door when Chantal's 'coucou' tells you she was there.
Her thoughtfulness to provide so many details that make the accommodation and the experience so unique is echoed in a passage from one of the books she showed us - a biography she had read that was set in our home state of Iowa. Here is the quote I chose, " Find your place. Be happy with what you have. Treat everyone well. Live a good life. It isn't about material things, it's about love. And you can never anticipate love."
Making each and all of her guests feel special and welcomed and important is her passion. Nothing was neglected, missing or overlooked in this visit.
We needed help planning drives, places to eat, towns to visit, unusual sites to visit, the best baguettes, her 2 bikes at our disposal, great washing machine and dryer, nothing was too much trouble. The fact that her own home is just around the corner on the island meant that she was readily available if we needed advice or had a 'crise'. (I lost the key one day....'pas grave' as she cheerfully gave us another).
She knew that i was keen to improve my rusty high school french and invited me to have le petit dejeuner with her while she patiently helped me to listen and learn.
The private courtyard behind the house provides a sunny and safe spot to dry clothes if the sun is shining and to discover one day at Chantal's beckoning, a family of baby birds in the climbing greenery trying out their first flight - just another endearing example of her happy demeanor and the lovely surroundings of this home.
We found La Porte Bleue to be the best accommodation we could possibly want for a vacation in Amboise and the surrounding Loire valley. The town itself is so conveniently close across the bridge and paved walks along the Loire were a daily event. It is well situated to visit the beautiful chateaux and our timing in May/June seemed to be just ahead of the main tourist arrival and the heat of summer.
In addition to the big name chateaux , make sure you visit Chaumont, so close to Amboise. The chateau itself not a bad alternative for Diane de Poitier after Catherine de Medici evicted her husband's mistress from Chenonceau following the death of Henri II. But the expansive gardens with their large scale contemporary outdoor artwork provided a unique and full day experience.
The daily view of the chateau Amboise from our windows was stunning in every kind of weather, thunderstorms probably outlined it the best. On calm days we watched hot air balloons drifting past the battlements and frequent tourists stopped to admire 'our' prime view then photographed the sign La Porte Bleue for future reference.
We rented a car from Europcar (than you Stephanie) near Amboise through the Kemwel website and were amazed at the very reasonable rates Kemwel was able to offer. Parking was never a problem on the island and having a vehicle really made the difference to expand our touring and fully experience the area.
With Chantal's advice we had several memorable meals and eating experiences: Chez Bruno, Le Maitre d'Art near Clos Luce, L'Horloge fior a light snack on Rue Nationale, La Pause du Temps, Eric Gauvreau boulangerie/patisserie for a daily baguette, La Croix Verte in Posse sur Cisse for a unique trogledyte environment, Le Val Joli on the main road to Vouvray, wine tasting at marvelous Huet in Vouvray to name a few.
And importantly we gained a new friend whom we were truly sad to leave when the time came to return home.
Without hesitation we give La Porte Bleue a five star recommendation.
Thank you Chantal. We miss you. Au revoir.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyHike...
Chardon, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find!”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in the charming ground floor apartment for 2 nights. It was roomy, clean and comfortable. The location could not have been better! It is a 5 minute walk to cafes and shops, the view is outstanding, it is quiet (with the sounds of the river flowing by), and free parking is nearby. Chantal offers the use of a washer and dryer and two bicycles. The kitchen is thoroughly stocked with equipment-I wish we stayed longer to take full advantage of all the amenities. Chantal is cheerful and quite helpful with suggestions of cafes, restaurants, and attractions.

Hint: While the choice of cafes on Rue Fancois I are plentiful, do explore more of the town to find other options, as well. Walk down Rue Nationale several blocks to find interesting eateries and shops. We especially like l'Horlage for breakfast.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing