We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Wonderful Find!”
other travelers have booked this property
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Depuis le pont
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Depuis le pont
Vue du haut du château
L'enseigne sous la neige
Gîte du premier étage : vue d'ensemble avec le séjour et les 2 chambres au fond
Depuis le coin cuisine
Vue depuis l'autre angle : la porte d'entrée, celle de la salle d'eau
Le coin cuisine
Juste en face du château...
Cuisine complètement équipée
Chambre coté Loire : le Velux semble encadrer le château
Seconde chambre sur cour
Salle d'eau avec toilettes fermées
Lavabo
Gîte du rez-de-chaussée : la Loire est toute proche, le château juste en face
Vue de tout le rez-de-chaussée
Gîte du rez-de-chaussée
La Porte Bleue est tout en haut de la photo, à droite
Coucher de soleil sur le château : photo prise devant la maison
Soir d'orage devant la maison
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Amboise, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
HappyHike...
Chardon, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find!”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in the charming ground floor apartment for 2 nights. It was roomy, clean and comfortable. The location could not have been better! It is a 5 minute walk to cafes and shops, the view is outstanding, it is quiet (with the sounds of the river flowing by), and free parking is nearby. Chantal offers the use of a washer and dryer and two bicycles. The kitchen is thoroughly stocked with equipment-I wish we stayed longer to take full advantage of all the amenities. Chantal is cheerful and quite helpful with suggestions of cafes, restaurants, and attractions.

Hint: While the choice of cafes on Rue Fancois I are plentiful, do explore more of the town to find other options, as well. Walk down Rue Nationale several blocks to find interesting eateries and shops. We especially like l'Horlage for breakfast.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita G
Richmond, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hostess, lovely home, fabulous view!”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed at La Porte Bleue in September 2015. Our hostess Chantal graciously offered to meet us at the train station when we arrived in Amboise, and we took her up on that. The home is simply charming; the location perfect (a 5-min walk over the bridge to everything in Amboise), and the view of the chateau was directly across the river. I'd pinch myself in the morning when I flung open the kitchen curtains to see the magnificent river and castle view. Oh, and the lulling sound of the Loire River was lovely at night, as were the sky full of stars above. Chantal oriented us with her suggestions (she has a folder for guests with recommendations of places to eat, things to do.) It was the perfect jumping-off spot for a castle tour, which we caught at the convenient Tourist Information office. Note: We did a half-day tour (2 castles) and that was enough for one day. Nice shopping in Amboise. Good food. (We got pastries from Bigot Patisserie every morning, usually bringing them back to the Blue Door for a relaxing breakfast (did I mention the awesome view across the river?) before starting our day. Highly recommended.

Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joyandmar...
Anaheim, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Like other reviewers, we wish we could have stayed longer (next time!). Chantal was a wonderful hostess and helped us with suggestions on places to visit in the area. We stayed in the upstairs apartment with the most amazing view of Chateau Amboise across the river Loire. The rooms were clean and included two bedrooms (sleeps 4), living room, kitchen and bathroom. Entrance is from the rear up a staircase, but not an issue. A very charming place to live. Hope to return someday soon.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayasfan
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Gem in the heart of the Loire Valley”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed in the ground floor apartment for just 2 nights but wish we would have stayed an entire week! The owner, Chantal, is a delight. She lives a few doors away, and shared much local information, restaurant tips, and maps. The location is unique and beautiful, just as pictured on their website ... Fabulous treat to open the kitchen window each morning. Scrupulously clean. Bathroom has large shower and plenty of storage space. Washer and dryer in basement were extremely handy. Free parking nearby. Walk across the bridge to the town proper, and to visit Amboise Chateau and Clos Luce.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennyk198...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming house - location cannot be beaten!”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Look no further! Stay here!! Amboise is a great town to base yourselves to see the chateaux in the Loire Valley and this location in Amboise is unbeatable. We stayed in the downstairs apartment which was huge for the two of us, comfortable and has everything you could ask for (from a very well equipped kitchen to washer/dryer in the basement), not to mention the stunning view of Chateau d'Amboise to greet us everyday when we woke up and returned home. The place is so much better than I expected. It is understated, charming and the host Chantal (who lives a few doors down around the corner) is very helpful (she reminded us a little of Julia from ‘Julie and Julia’). The bikes came in very handy. We really loved riding around Amboise. My husband also rode across the bridge in the morning to get us fresh baguettes.

La Porte Bleue is very special and is great value for money. I honestly can’t fault this place. It’s like staying at your long lost family’s holiday house. Just trust me - stop looking and stay here!

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
Oh thank you Jenny, you're so kind !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcuziseds...
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Give yourself the best gift ever and stay here!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Chantal is the best host ever and the gite is perfectly situated for amazing views of the town and chateau.. it's like being in a picture book. Centrally located for viewing the Loire River Valley and it's chateaux and local wineries. Loved very second!!

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I wish I could have stayed longer”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Blue Door was exactly what we were looking for. A great view across the river to Château Amboise and an easy walk to everything we needed (basically restaurants and night, pastries in the morning and Châteaus during the day). As an added bonus, Chantal was great. Email before, during and after our stay, met us at the door, welcomed us in, made suggestions (and reservations). She really made us wish we could have fit in another day (or two?) in the area.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing