We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming apartment with the best view in Amboise.”
other travelers have booked this property
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Depuis le pont
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Depuis le pont
Vue du haut du château
L'enseigne sous la neige
Gîte du premier étage : vue d'ensemble avec le séjour et les 2 chambres au fond
Depuis le coin cuisine
Vue depuis l'autre angle : la porte d'entrée, celle de la salle d'eau
Le coin cuisine
Juste en face du château...
Cuisine complètement équipée
Chambre coté Loire : le Velux semble encadrer le château
Seconde chambre sur cour
Salle d'eau avec toilettes fermées
Lavabo
Gîte du rez-de-chaussée : la Loire est toute proche, le château juste en face
Vue de tout le rez-de-chaussée
Gîte du rez-de-chaussée
La Porte Bleue est tout en haut de la photo, à droite
Coucher de soleil sur le château : photo prise devant la maison
Soir d'orage devant la maison
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Amboise, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
TALKHolid...
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming apartment with the best view in Amboise.”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were not keen to stay in mass-produced chain-style accommodation during our time in France and so we were looking for the smaller and more authentic places to stay. We made some excellent choices and La Porte Bleue was one of them. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment upstairs with our tween/teen daughters. It was very comfortable and charming and had fantastic views across the Loire River to Amboise town and chateau. The entrance to the upstairs apartment is via the back door through a little storage cellar (where the washing machine and dryer are and for which you need to duck your head if you are more than 5ft tall) and up a flight of stairs. We felt like part of the neighbourhood. Chantal lives a few doors down and was extremely friendly and hospitable. Overall a fantastic stay.

Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2014
Thanks for taking your time to submit a great review. I'm glad you had a nice time. Ch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrolman...
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A wonderful base for exploring the Loire Valley”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My wife, infant son and I stayed here for 5 nights. It was so pleasant we could have easily stayed twice as long.

The upper suite we stayed in was spacious and comfortable. The views of the chateau are spectacular... it was really amazing to open the window in the evening and hear the river rushing by while you gaze at the beautiful view. It is really quite mesmerizing. The location on the Ile d'or was very convenient... you are within the town but also apart from it.

The suite is well equipped with appliances and other conveniences. Beds are comfortable, the kitchen is functional and the washroom is very nice. It is obviously well cared for by the charming prioprietor.

The location of the suite is ideal in that you are a short walk over the river from the heart of Amboise, and just a short drive from many of the Loire's famous chateaux. This is the sort of place where a week just flies by. All things considered it was great value for the money and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2014
Oh, thank you, W. Thanks for taking your time to submit a great review ! I'm glad you had a nice time and hope to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaCar...
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy and quiet place to spend a few days”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

I visit Amboise with my parents and we stayed in this nice penthouse. We had a great time. there is 2 separate rooms, very spacious. a living room and american kitchen fully equipped. Castle area and restaurants are quite near and there is a local market with french food and products.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: En familia
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross W
Kingaroy, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I spent 4 nights here in late December. We couldn't have wanted for more. The site is fantastic across the river from the Chateau. The rooms are comfortable and the welcome very warm and friendly. Chantal was good company on the times we saw her and a font of knowledge of the area. The car park was a little down the street but that gave us another opportunity to admire the statue of Leonardo sitting looking across the river. We were very happy with our choice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaseon
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have wanted any more”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent two nights here on a Chateaux crawl in July 2013, and we couldn't recommend it more highly.

The accommodation is comfortable, well located and easy to find, with everything you'd need. The view is to die for. I can't say how wonderful it is to wake in the morning, draw the curtains and have a postcard view of the Chateau Amboise over breakfast.

The owner Chantal was lovely, popping in to make sure all was well, and with great help planning our daily trips.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcateesph...
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“La Porte Bleue is Magical”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the ground floor apartment at La Porte Bleue in late September. The apartment is wonderful. The main room, with kitchen and living room is large and very comfortable. It feels like home. The view from the kitchen table is out of a guidebook - straight on to Chateau Amboise. The setting on Ile d'Or, a short walk over a bridge to the historic center, could not be better. And Chantal is a wonderful host. She is generous with her enthusiasm for the area and with her advice. She recommended visiting the Chateau Blois, which turned out to be a perfect chateau visit. We will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2013
Merci L.. et S.. c'est très gentil. Ce sera un grand plaisir de vous revoir à Amboise et à la maison !
Toutes mes amitiés
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My son and I stayed in La Porte Bleue for a week in July, 2012. It was everything it advertised. It was large, comfortable, and extremely clean. Chantal the owner was very friendly and helpful. While we were there she had ordered new beds and asked us to give her feedback. I can tell you the new beds were great. Very comfortable.

Chantal picked us up at the train station even though I told her we could walk to the gîte. She loves meeting people and knows when to leave people alone and when to offer advice. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2013
Time goes by too fast : you were here in 2013!
Thanks a lot Randy. See you soon...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing