We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“La Porte Bleue is Magical”
other travelers have booked this property
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Depuis le pont
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
La Porte Bleue vue depuis l'autre rive, au pied du château.
Depuis le pont
Vue du haut du château
L'enseigne sous la neige
Gîte du premier étage : vue d'ensemble avec le séjour et les 2 chambres au fond
Depuis le coin cuisine
Vue depuis l'autre angle : la porte d'entrée, celle de la salle d'eau
Le coin cuisine
Juste en face du château...
Cuisine complètement équipée
Chambre coté Loire : le Velux semble encadrer le château
Seconde chambre sur cour
Salle d'eau avec toilettes fermées
Lavabo
Gîte du rez-de-chaussée : la Loire est toute proche, le château juste en face
Vue de tout le rez-de-chaussée
Gîte du rez-de-chaussée
La Porte Bleue est tout en haut de la photo, à droite
Coucher de soleil sur le château : photo prise devant la maison
Soir d'orage devant la maison
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Amboise, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
mcateesph...
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“La Porte Bleue is Magical”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the ground floor apartment at La Porte Bleue in late September. The apartment is wonderful. The main room, with kitchen and living room is large and very comfortable. It feels like home. The view from the kitchen table is out of a guidebook - straight on to Chateau Amboise. The setting on Ile d'Or, a short walk over a bridge to the historic center, could not be better. And Chantal is a wonderful host. She is generous with her enthusiasm for the area and with her advice. She recommended visiting the Chateau Blois, which turned out to be a perfect chateau visit. We will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2013
Merci L.. et S.. c'est très gentil. Ce sera un grand plaisir de vous revoir à Amboise et à la maison !
Toutes mes amitiés
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My son and I stayed in La Porte Bleue for a week in July, 2012. It was everything it advertised. It was large, comfortable, and extremely clean. Chantal the owner was very friendly and helpful. While we were there she had ordered new beds and asked us to give her feedback. I can tell you the new beds were great. Very comfortable.

Chantal picked us up at the train station even though I told her we could walk to the gîte. She loves meeting people and knows when to leave people alone and when to offer advice. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2013
Time goes by too fast : you were here in 2013!
Thanks a lot Randy. See you soon...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loki_craz...
Ballarat, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An amazing place to stay.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two nights in the first floor apartment. It’s lovely – and enormous! The bedroom has a double bed, and there is a single bed in the living room, along with a sofa (sofa bed?), a TV and plenty of books. There is a dining table with four chairs, and another table and chair which we used as a desk. The kitchen is fully equipped, with a fridge, stove, oven, microwave, kettle, coffeemaker, toaster and ample cutlery and crockery. The bathroom is gorgeous – bright, airy and colourful, and the towels were soft and fluffy. There is wi-fi in the apartment. Chantal was lovely – we had some great email conversations before we even left Australia, and she popped in a couple of times to check that all was well. We loved looking out the windows at the river and the chateau and the people walking by who were admiring the view, and I thought: you’re just walking past – we actually get to stay here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2013
Thank you very much for this review. Je suis contente que vous ayez passé un bon séjour à Amboise et à la Porte Bleue. Toutes mes amitiés. Chantal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albywon
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
2,428 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 887 helpful votes
“Book well ahead if you want to stay here”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The website is http://www.laportebleueamboise.fr/
At the moment Chantalle says she is booked up six months in advance. We came here on the recommendation of a friend and were lucky to get a two night window - the only time available for several months - we would have stayed longer if we could.
We stayed in 'the loft' which was lovely. It has great views of the Loire river, the Chateau Amboise and the bridge. It is very comfortable and spacious with fully equipped kitchen and access to laundry facilities. The weekly rate is very reasonable, 440 Euro weekly for mid-season, but you do need to plan ahead as stated above.
Definitely recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2013
Merci Lisa et Nigel, it's lovely !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline S
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delight in Amboise”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We rented the main floor of La Porte Bleue for 1 week in April. We had a wonderful stay, thanks to the very warm welcome and generous hospitality from Chantal. The apartment was immaculately clean, comfortable, very tastefully decorated and equipped, secure, and terrifically situated with unforgettable views. Amboise and environs is a wonderful place to visit, made all the better to have a great place to come home to make our own dinners and be 'at home'. We took advantage of many historic and other attractions without having a car, and we were lucky to have Chantal as a tour guide for one lovely and unforgettable day. We would certainly recommend to others and will return ourselves when we are in that area.
Thank you very much Chantal!

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaslam
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautifully Positioned”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

La Porte Bleue is well positioned in Amboise to all this beautiful village has to offer and the greater Loire Valley region. Chantel is a delightful host, even picked us up at the station which was lovely. She ensures you have all the information you need to make the best of your time in the region. The apartment had good amenities, we had the loft with two bedrooms and my only feedback would be that the beds are a little low and hard. We easily walked to the shops and town for supplies each day and sightseeing and even managed to venture further afield without a car. The local tourist office are helpful with details on getting around to sights even beyond Amboise. The view is absolutely as described to enjoy Chateau Amboise changing colours of the day and night as the light comes and goes across the day. We would recommend this as great base to explore the Loire Valley and to be well hosted with Chantel.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2013
Merci pour cet avis très aimable et constructif.
Je pensais à changer les lits du gîte, votre avis me conforte donc dans ce projet. Ce sera pour très bientôt. Un grand merci à vous, Chantal

Thank you for this very kind and constructive comment.
I thought of changing beds, your opinion thus consolidate in this project. I will buy new beds soon.
Thank you very much ! Chantal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubilado1...
San Miguel de Allende, México
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal in all ways”
Reviewed June 12, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Perfect location for touring the area.
Easy to get in and out of Amboise, easy to park the car, easy to walk everywhere in Amboise.
Very comfortable accommodation with good bed, nice kitchenware, and gorgeous view of the castle. Chantal is a fine ambassador for the Loire Valley.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing