We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel of our whole trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Compostelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Compostelle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vezelay
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
195 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Best hotel of our whole trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

The other reviews have said it all... This is the place to stay at in Vezelay! Casimir and crew are a delight to meet and this is a great place to stay at!
My Mom forgot her glasses in the room and they were promptly returned by mail to Paris... Amazing service!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ranger22SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    78
    22
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
71
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

This was our best holiday EVER!!!!
The staff was simply GREAT, very very very friendly!
The place was soooooo beautiful! and we loved the delicious breakfast with a view (I still dream about those croisants! and that valley!)
The room was big, very comfortable and without carpet! (I am allergic )
We are planning to go there again in October!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gisle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

The hotel and staff were exceptional. This is not a Hilton. But, if you would like something that approximates an authentic small town experience in France, this is perfect. The kids loved the loft where their beds were located. The breakfast was excellent. The town is picturesque, and the locals are friendly. A word of caution to the restaurant across the street called Le Dent Creuse. The food is quite good, but if you do not speak French, be prepared to wait behind the regular clientele.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eurotraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

It is a hotel that in some ways shouldn't really leave you feeling so good about it. The room was basic, some areas really need a refit and are tired looking and to some (and possibly I include myself) would make you turn and run. But what a super place. It was clean and that is always a plus but the lovely management and staff have created a very authentic, relaxed and generous atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble and in the end you end up revelling in the very French ness of it, warts and all!
A happy place.
The breakfast is fairly high at Euro 9.50 but is generous and again comes with a smile. What price on that and it is more convenient than wandering out for breakfast.
Great location at the foot of the town. Get a room at the back for views.
Also it is close to the through road and there is a degree of heavy traffic (a local controversy I believe) but it died down at around 10pm when we were there.
That noise is chiefly at the back.

I have posted a blog:
http://www.travelpod.com/travel-blog-entries/nealrover/2/1280585244/tpod.html

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nealrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

We chose this inn based upon reviews from Trip Advisor and the fact that a few other inns listed were booked already. The price about 69 euros was certainly fair for a clean, sunny room with large and clean bathroom. The host at reception, owner or manager, was very helpful and friendly. Drawbacks, - bed was soft- a shame when on a get away weekend with your hubby. And the breakfast for 9.50 was way overpriced and a disapoinment. Coffee was tepid, 2 choices of dried cereals, canned fruit, so so croissant and baguette. This is France, afterall. Breakfast for 2 cost almost 1/3 the price of the room and must be a profit center. Better off to take a nice coffe and croissant at one of the lovely cafes heading toward the church. But for a reasonably priced room with charming host, it's worth a try.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fontygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

Three of us occupied two rooms. One, a twin bedded first floor room with small veranda and delightful view over the countryside, the other a top floor single. A warm welcome and authentic feel captivated us all. Breakfast might be a little expensive 9.50 euros, but was ample. A wonderful place to appreciate this lovely village.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SouthWalesPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

The hotel was clean, comfortable and had an excellent location. We loved being able to walk to the cathedral and to restaurants. The staff was very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChriswT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vezelay
0.1 mi away
Le Relais du Morvan
Le Relais du Morvan
#3 of 3 in Vezelay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Poste et du Lion d'Or
6.1 mi away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
#1 of 1 in Vault-de-Lugny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel les Deux Ponts
Hotel les Deux Ponts
#1 of 1 in Pierre-Perthuis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
5.7 mi away
Logis Les Fleurs
Logis Les Fleurs
#2 of 3 in Pontaubert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Compostelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Compostelle

Property: Le Compostelle
Address: Place du Champ-de-Foire, 89450 Vezelay, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Vezelay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vezelay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Compostelle 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Compostelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Compostelle vézelay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing