We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Chouette qui Chante
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge du Morvan(Alligny en Morvan)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Auberge de l'Atre(Quarre-les-Tombes)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly(Chailly-sur-Armancon)
$259
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostellerie d'Aussois(Semur-en-Auxois)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Commerce(Pouilly-en-Auxois)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Nord(Quarre-les-Tombes)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
25
1
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
1
0
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 28 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This was our first trip abroad with our son James (7 months). The gite itself was beautiful and everything a baby could need was provided including baby bath, highchair, plastic plates and cutlery. The meal service, as other guests have already commented, is exceptional. The food is delicious and very reasonably priced and it meant we could fully relax whilst James slept in his cot. The toys, swings and communal garden all helped to keep him entertained.
For those who enjoy their croissant in the morning, bread can be pre-ordered and collected from a shop in the village six days a week. The shop also acts as an unofficial tourist information centre for the area. In nearby Saulieu, the three Michelin star restaurant, Le Relais Bernard Loiseau, is very child friendly.
We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return one day perhaps. with James' grandparents. The way the two gites are situated above a communal area would make them ideal for families traveling together.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red19catherine82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is a perfect place- very kid-friendly but also great without kids if you want to explore the Burgundy countryside. Bikes were provided for free, as well as toys and a swing for our daughter.
the setting is lovely, green and open, and the apartments are in a beautiful restored barn.

best of all was the in-room meal service- excellent food with good house wine, great meal, no washing up, while our daughter slept we were pampered with lovely dinners without having to go out. great concept.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hello_Bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
percy_jpw, Owner at La Chouette qui Chante, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your review of your stay with us
We are always pleased to hear that guests have truly enjoyed their time with us.
Our very best wishes,
John and Annemarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

What a wonderful 3 night stay in the heart of Burgundy! Annemarie and John are the most hospitable and knowledgeable hosts we encountered during our month-long travels thourgh France. We enjoyed everything about our stay with them -- spacious room with comfy bed, serene surroundings, cozy communal living room, fantastic and filling breakfasts, and our gourmet dinner with our hosts the night of our arrival.

This is truly a gem and the perfect choice for comfort, location and ambience while visiting the Burgundy area of France!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryandkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Fantastic stay in one of the gites. Perfect for our 14 month old daughter and very relaxing for mum and dad. This excellent rural location is made extra special by the meal service provided by Annemarie. The weather was good enough to eat outside for two nights and this was a unique experience. The food is outstanding and delivered with a friendly face. If you want a quiet, comfortable base to explore the area, this is it. Great places near-by are Chateauneuf, Mersault, Beaune and Sameur. A big thank you to John and Annemarie for a very welcoming and great value stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Himsworth946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stopped off at La Chouette qui Chante on our trip back from Fayence up to Calais. Looking at the map we thought somewhere in the Dijon area would be about right so we could take a more relaxing journey back home.

Driving through the winding lanes you get to the main house of the B&B which is somehow both unassuming and stunning at the same time. A warm welcome certainly awaits from John and Anne-Marie.

We were staying in Hayloft 1 oppsite the house, which was just lovely. Finished to a high standard with plenty of space (one main double bedroom plus one double sofa bed; a large bathroom with walk in shower; eating area and beautiful views of the countryside).

Before our very lovely dinner (we went two course, but there is a four course option) we wandered around the large garden which gives more awesome views of the surrounding countryside and also entertainment in the form of a boules area - this kep us amused for quite a while!

I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B at all and we will certainly look to stay here again as a stop off point between Calais and the South of France.

S

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews