We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to for amazing food!”
Review of Le Sauvage

Le Sauvage
Ranked #27 of 594 Restaurants in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to for amazing food!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

First point - MAKE A RESERVATION. You can chance it by showing up at the door when they open but as soon as they run out of free tables that's it. The atmosphere is right on target. You can walk in off the street by the aroma of the grill firing up but inside is where it puts you right into the dinner mood. The beef tournedos were excellent. Ask for the Dijon mustard : ) or pepper sauce. The vegetables were great although the dinner set popcorn was a bit curious for me. It still made a great experience. If I'm ever in town again I will definitely call ahead for this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    252
    62
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B.C., Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Amazing grill/restaurant! Nice selection of meats for grilling, I had the pork filet mignon w/mushroom risotto & dijon mustard..simply delectable! My friend had the beef tournedos w/ morels, sweet potato mash & pepper sauce...he loved it!
The place has a cozy & rustic feeling with the grill being a show piece, service was delightful & efficient, prices were very reasonable. Highly recommend you make a reservation, as we arrived as soon as they open (1930) & we were lucky to get the last table available. Very worth the visit! Thanks TA people for making another wonderful dinner recommendation! :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ucfhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent grill in Dijon, great option for Sundays”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a great night here last Thursday. Good amount of outdoor seating so we managed to get a table at 7:30 (early I know). By the time we left it was packed, around 9 or 930. We started out with some kir, dry / cheap white wine with cassis liquor (about 3 € ea/) and came with some little snacks. Had a bottle of wine (~25 €) with dinner which was a duck breast (~18 €) and lamb (~18 €). Both the meat dishes came with risotto, which was a little over cooked. The price / quality of the wine we got wasn't fantastic, but we didn't ask for a recommendation, maybe there was a better choice in our price range. We ended avec un café (biensûr), and the whole dinner came out to about 70 € for both of us.

The service was really amazing, fast, friendly and overall very pleasant. Definitely go here on a Sunday if you aren't sure where to head. The BBQ is a bit expensive, that might just be in comparison to what I can get back in CA, but overall it was fun, and the food was good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SneakyCreekan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best "grill" I have ever been to.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went there twice while in Dijon. The first time was by default, as very few restaurants are open Sunday night in Dijon, and choice is minimal. I was a little concerned about the grill [didn't really want a barbecue place], but it is just one of the tools of the kitchen. The service was very friendly and the food excellent, so we returned another night for a second great dinner.

There is an extensive wine list as well. I followed the waiter's suggestion [rare for me] and chose a modestly priced but excellent Hautes-Côtes de Nuit.

The restaurant is located at the Hotel Le Sauvage, 64, rue Monge, Dijon, but is independent from it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank takki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Attention meat lovers!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Le Sauvage has a great atmosphere - we booked for a Sunday night at 19:30, and already there were patrons there. It's a warm inviting restaurant, and the service was great. Our waiter didn't speak a lot of English, but was happy to play a bit of charades with us to explain the cuts of meats!

There is a massive grill inside the restaurant, but it never smells smoky nor do you leave the restaurant smelling like food. We started the evening with a local appetiser of Kir, and they bring you some nibbles of popcorn, vegetables (cauliflower, carrot, baby tomatoes) with dip, as well as bread.

Starters were good enough - eggs in red wine sauce (a regional specialty) was well executed, but the frogs legs with crayfish was a let down (overcooked and we think the ingredients had been frozen rather than fresh).

The star of the evening were the mains - if you are a meat lover, you will not be disappointed. The servings are huge!! The pigeon is highly recommended (you get 4 medium sized pieces) and the steak is chargrilled and juicy (ask for it cooked longer than you would normally expect, our steak came out more rare than medium rare). We were so full we couldn't even finish our mains!

It was well priced - we paid EUR50 per person (one bottle of wine, kir, tap water, starter and main - we didn't order any desserts).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snow_winky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sauvage also viewed

 
Dijon, Cote d'Or
 

Been to Le Sauvage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing