We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marc D'Or Dijon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B & B of the Marcs d'Or
Ranked #6 of 15 Dijon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Couldn't rate this higher. As someone who visits France regularly for holidays, this has to be the best overnight stay in more than thirty years. Excellent rooms and bathrooms, a friendly host with superb spoken English and breakfast taken overlooking a wonderful garden. Go to Dijon just to stay there.

Room Tip: May need to request a parking space inside the gates, although there is some free parking just outsi...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nevlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for B & B of the Marcs d'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

What a beautiful find in Dijon! We had the suite booked for our 1 night stay, but could easily have stayed for longer. It was fantastic accommodation, spotless, quiet, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. Ludovic was fabulously helpful, giving us a city map and directing us to a selection of restaurants for our dinner. We only had a short time to explore the city, but we came away wanting more and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on our return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This place gets different reviews so I thought I would throw mine in as well. Having read the other reviews, we went in thinking we better be on our best behaviour. And that is what we did. We were met by Olivier who indicated that he was helping Ludovic who was away. we were shown our room which was smallish with a double bed that was rather uncomfortable. The next morning Ludovic was there and when I told him we had not slept well (bed and a bit of traffic noise) he offered us the suite which was empty for the second night (that was very nice). I got along very well and enjoyed our host. The breakfast had more that just bread, jam and coffee which we appreciated.

Unfortunately I am allergic to cats and although they claim they don't go in the rooms, we were having a bite to eat when one of the cats startled us in our room. (I could not have stayed more than the 2 nights we stayed because of allergies)

He also gave us good tips for our road through the Route des grands crus which turned out to be helpful. We requested and paid extra to park in the yard, so maybe that doesn't come with the room. There is parking across the street but many spots.

Room Tip: If you can afford the suite, go for it. Stay away if you are allergic to cats.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

As the actual B&B was booked out, I stayed in a Gite right in the middle of town and it was absolutely great. One cannot get more central, and at the same time more quiet. The room itself was newly refurbished without being modern. And, important to me, the bathroom was in perfect working order. Hot and cold water working perfectly at normal water pressure and, needless to spay, spotless. For breakfast I found alle the necessary items in the fridge plus a great bakery round the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weltreisender1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Before I wrote this review, I went back to the website to check that I hadn't hadn't misunderstood. Having read another review about the 'rules', I thought maybe that the writer had overstepped the mark, but I now understand what they mean.

The Marcs d'Or is lovely, next to a park with red squirrels coming into the garden, although the road to the side can get a bit busy. Breakfast was great - various fruits, croissants, breads, ham, cheese, yoghurt etc - it couldn't be faulted. I agree with a previous comment - the bath towels are ridiculously small unless you are VERY thin. We stayed in the Paul Troubat room which was very nice and beautifully clean.

Ludovic was lovely - very welcoming and so helpful with local information and recommendations, allowing us to use the guidebooks. He was a wonderful host. However, having been invited onto the terrace by Ludovic one evening, and with the website indicating that the garden was available for use, we had a completely different impression from Olivier who pointedly asked us if the gate had been closed and made us feel quite unwelcome. The gate had been closed, but we had assumed that this was to keep the dog in, not the guests out. However, the next evening the gate was locked, and we decided not to go onto the terrace and into the garden in future as we felt that we must have misunderstood and these were out of bounds. The only other areas to sit were either near the road or very shaded. It was a shame, as Olivier played the harp in the evenings, and the terrace caught the last of the evening sun, which was lovely.

We were also confused about the rules about parking the car in the grounds. When we arrived we were told that cars had to be parked outside, but it seemed to depend on the type of car (our isn't flashy, but it's not a rust-bucket either!) or the person. Some could, some couldn't. If it was reserved for the disabled, those with children etc, I could understand, but the rules seemed random. In fact, as the drive was gravel, and we were woken a couple of times but others coming back late, I think a general NO would be the best policy.

So, yes it was nice and Ludovic's warmth and charm would encourage us to return and recommend this B&B, but the guys need to establish the rules between themselves rather than on a whim according to the day and the mood, so that guests feel truly welcome and want to return.

Lovely area, and great for visiting the vineyards, Beaune, Dijon, Abbaye de Fontenay etc. Loved Burgundy!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sussexstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

A beautiful small room with small shower room. From the reviews we were expecting a warm welcome, but the initial greeting was lacking as my husband and I struggled up several narrow staircases with our cases, once we were in the room we were told that we could have parked within the grounds, which would have been a lot better! Anyway the room and building had it's own charm so we got on with our holiday. We were recommended various restaurants and The Epicerie turned out to be really good, so much so that we visited twice. Once we met Ludovic we got the warm welcome that was initially not found. We would recommend, but the welcome needs to be consistent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barney38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

On our way back to Germany, we booked just for one night in order to get an idea of Dijon for the next trip to France.
While the Marcs d'Or is situated in the suburbans of Dijon, it lies in a nice and quite area of bungalows and villas. The place is quite hidden and has a very pleasant garden with some hidden places and terrasses.
The rooms are very tastefully designed, equipped with antique furnitures (no fakes) , while the bath and bed is new fubrished with high-quality interiours. Rooms are very clean, as it is an old building, they are not very large.
When returing back to Dijon, we will definetivly look for booking here again.
BTW: while being approx. 2 km from the center, there is a busline running right in front of the house.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
1.7 mi away
Maison Philippe le Bon
6.3 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#10 of 59 in Dijon
681 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Cour Berbisey
La Cour Berbisey
#1 of 15 in Dijon
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B of the Marcs d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B of the Marcs d'Or

Address: 9 rue des Marcs D Or, 21000, Dijon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dijon
Price Range: $100 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four guest rooms and a luxurious suite in a 19th century wine growers dwelling: whether you are touring the region, or en route through Burgundy, this bed and breakfast 1km from the centre of Dijon is an ideal stopover ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your B & B of the Marcs d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b Of The Marcs d`Or Hotel Dijon
Bed And Breakfast Of The Marcs d`Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing