We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic style room, good location”
Review of City Loft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Loft
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very basic accommodation - fine for a one night stay but I wouldn't stay longer. Clean and tidy, but outdated and more like dorm style room. Staff were helpful and everything is within walking distance - 10 mins from the station.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 194 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Not a luxury hotel but very adequate, meeting all our needs. Situated in the heart of the city, not far from the train station, Hotel City Loft was comfortable and affordable, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: A bit hard to get to by taxi as there were lots of road works going on. Rooms on upper floor the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gababout_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed there for one night in Septmber of 2012. Spacious room with kitchenette, decor is outdated, but for what we paid it was ok. Great location - all restaurants and shopping nearby. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaKNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

in a prime location in Dijon we arrived exhausted after 9 hours trip by train, but we sadly found the hotel in its very bad situation even horrible, there was vehicles blocking the entrance we couldn’t enter to the court we kept our luggage outdoor and I tried to enter and talk to the receptionist which simply told me that “we are sorry sir you cannot check inn right now we have a big problem in the hotel the sewers are blocked, we are trying to evacuate water from the floors and repairing the drainage…”and that we have to go out for a tour maybe 2 or 3 hours till the problem is resolved…..The situation was so bad noting that the stay was prepaid means we cannot change the hotel, we will lose the money…we went out and came back after 4 hours or later there was a very bad smell all over the place we entered the room there was no water to shower no water in taps and inside the room smell of smoke and old furniture ......I have to mention that later on everything was fine again ,we got back the water to shower ..The breakfast wasn’t bad.....we tried to forget what happened and we continued the rest of the trip in a better mood ....after all it wasn't the good choice.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank richard_yas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Dijon is simply beautiful! A must see if you have the opportunity!

I chose this hotel for three reasons:

a) the location of the hotel could not have been better for sightseeing on foot all the main tourist attractions in Dijon.

b) the price was right if you are looking for economy lodgings which we were (travelling with a friend who was on a budget).

c) it was very close to the Train Station which was key in our travel itinerary.

As for the room - it was certainly spaceous (in comparison to Paris standards) and came with a mini kitchen. Having the kitchen didn't make much sense to me since your room key turns on the electricity. So if you wanted to keep food cold in the fridge.....and weren't in the room ....then you're taking your chances. We were pleased to find a safe in the room and not at the front desk as listed in the hotel description. The beds I will admit were simply horrible - like wood planks! Note - some rooms have double beds and other's two singles together. Ironically, we got the room with two singles and our single friend got the room with the double. The furniture, walls, curtains, fixtures are all from the 60s/70s era and I think should be tossed or donated. The only new upgrades in the room can be found in the bathroom.

Other things to note about the City Loft residence - they do not clean the rooms on a daily basis, there is no internet access/computer in the hotel. The front desk staff are young but are friendly, helpful and follow through on any request you may have. The cold breakfast buffet didn't interest either of us especially when there are places within 500 feet to buy fresh croissants or if craving hot cheap eggs - McDonalds.

SUNDAYS and MONDAYS!!!! Nothing is open on Sunday in Dijon and just outside of Dijon everything remains closed on the Monday. The grocery store is open till 11am on Sundays, as well we found a few restaurants and a handful of stores. My suggestion, tour the churches.

Also little jars of mustards are for sale everywhere, however, you can also buy them in the "Casino" grocery store chain at a 1/3 of the price. I wish I had found that deal earlier.

We also did the Authentica Wine Tour. I was surprised at how little wine for the price of the tour you got to sample. Not like back home in Ontario. There was only one tasting of 4-5 wines in a cellar at an unknown winery. Why...the owner of the cellar is friends with the owner of the Tour Company. On the positive at least the price of the wine was cheap. I actually don't think I would recommend the tour. The tour also includes a stop in Beaume which is a pretty little town, however the timing is off unless you like window gazing. 90% of the stores in Beaume are closed from 12-2pm. We did find one winery that was open in Beaume but you need to pay for this.

In closing we chose Dijon because there is a direct train to CDA airport in Paris. The train leaves Dijon at 6:40am and arrives at the airport at 8:30am which was fantastic!!!! For those flying Air Canada - it's even the same terminal!!!

One last note - there is a hat store across the street from the hotel. It's really quite quaint and has an amazing selection of mens and womens hats for all seasons.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelandJohn'sholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night and it was wonderfully located and close to secure underground parking. The beds would benefit from new mattresses otherwise I think the price reflects the standard of accommodation for the location well. Travellers to dijon should note that there are major roadworks at the moment, sept 2011, and it is very, very, difficult to drive in the inner city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Hotel City Loft has a perfect location - very central. It is true that have`t car parking (they say that have - but when we arrived at reception they said - the parking is full). We parked the car at 100 - 150 m from the hotel on the street (in the night it is free and from 09.00 a.m. we paid for parking) and was OK.
Dijon was a pleasant surpise for us - is a very beautiful town (in the center, because the rest of town was full of works for new tram line).
We received a large room, at the corner, with view on 2 streets from the center - a perfect view.
The room wasn`t very clean - but acceptable. It had a clean kitchen (corner) with all amenities and a table with 4 chairs.
We passed breakfast - which anyway did not seem very appetizing and the room for breakfast (in Reception) was full of Chinese people.
The staff was friendly (evening at reception and in the morning - at breakfast room).
So - I recommend this hotel for all type of travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Dijon Central
0.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Dijon Centre
B&B Hotel Dijon Centre
#28 of 59 in Dijon
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#9 of 59 in Dijon
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Adagio Access Dijon Republique
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montigny
Hotel Montigny
#19 of 59 in Dijon
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Loft

Address: 96 rue des Godrans, 21000, Dijon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Price Range: $69 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Loft 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Loft Dijon
City Loft Hotel Dijon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing