We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small menu but easy for lunch. Very nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Chouette - CLOSED

La Chouette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Nous aurons le plaisir de vous accueillir dans notre etablissement du lundi au dimanche de 9h a 18h, pour un cafe, un verre de vin ou une bonne crepe, le tout dans un cadre accueillant et comme a la maison ! Fermeture hebdomadaire le mercredi - Le soir uniquement sur reservation
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
587 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“A small menu but easy for lunch. Very nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Galette (crepe wrapped over filling and baked) is the main choice here but is light and delicious.
The formule meal for lunch works well if you are planning dinner our as well as it is just 2 servings, not the usual 3 - for 11.90€ with a nice cider. The lady who took care of us was lots of fun and we felt relaxed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginie E, Gérant at La Chouette, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello !

I want to thank you for your advice on trip so nice.

I'm happy if you have past a good moment in La Chouette Café.

Kinds regards,

Virginie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    41
    3
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
148 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for lunch or a light evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I do believe that for a restaurant to get a top rating it should be based on the food mainly, but also the atmosphere and service, the whole experience. I'm sure that the number 1 rating for this restaurant are mainly because of the personal service of the hard working, eager to please owner Jimmy and the charming Virginie. They certainly get a 5/5 for being so personable. I think this would be a great choice for lunch - but if you go for an evening meal, you do need to realise that it really is only crepes and gallettes that are on offer. They are nice, but feels 'odd' having this for your main meal - perfect if you have had a good size lunch though. They have a good wine list, and of course the prices are very good. Whilst we had a great evening there, and I believe it should be 'up on the list' I do question the number 1 spot?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank markandsue-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, but just crepes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went because it was #1 in Tripadvisor. Perhaps because of that we ere expecting a lot and ended up slightly disappointed. The owner and waitress were the nicest I've encountered in a long time. Really, helpful, friendly and smiley. I don't think this would be the #1 in Dijon according to food though. You only have crepes (and gallettes) on the menu. Which, sure, were nice, but not that spectacular.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel35232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stopped here for lunch today purely based on the tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed, the galettes were so tasty and the service was friendly and welcoming. We would certainly go again if visiting Dijon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amie228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastcoast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The personal approach works!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

On our way to the opera with not much time on hand we stopped for a quick late lunch at the La Chouette.
A tasty galette with a nice glass of wine was perfect for the occasion.
The friendly and caring welcome we got from Jimmy, the owner was really good.
After a quick chat he not only made sure that we got our food quickly, but he also acquainted us
with a young couple in the restaurant that was also going to the opera and offered us a lift in their car.
Well done and thank you, Jimmy - and please say thank you from us to the young couple that gave us the lift when you next see them!
Wieland & Heather from Suffolk, UK

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happydayzEastcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chouette also viewed

 
Dijon, Cote d'Or
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing