We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, great wines lovely outdoor eating”

Les Jardins By la Cloche
Ranked #39 of 587 Restaurants in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $63
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Zoutleeuw, Belgium
Level Contributor
155 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice food, great wines lovely outdoor eating”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

When you arrive at the hotel at lunch time, do not try to find a restaurant in the city, but enjoy a lovely lunch outdoor. A lovely and quiet garden without noices of the treet. Food is great, staff is very helpfull finding correct wine. The best start for your tay in Dijon

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    109
    45
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Food in the garden with the birds was lovely”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

It was very warm in Dijon and we ate in the evening out in the garden. It was lovely ann cool, cut off from the bustle of Place Darcy outside, it was surprisingly quiet. Apart from the Korean visitors photographing each other, we were amazed at the wildlife around us. Unfortunately I dont know enough about birds to tell you what types they were.
The food was delicious and although pricey, this seemed justified by the ambience and quality of food. I focused on fish (salmon to start was exquisite) and ended with a selection of cheeses second to none. Cant recommend too highly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidzLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go there, it's worth the 3500 miles to get there!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

There is a restaurant inside the Hotel La Cloche that is to die for. The Chef makes food that looks like treasures on as plate, and tastes as good as it looks. A tender salmon has miles of thin shavings of bright, perfectly steamed vegetables that look like ribbons on a gift. The pale gold slice of bread that tops it looks like a sail on a ship, but tastes like a buttery croissant that is so well made, its see through, but finely textured. The other courses are just as inventive, complex, and fresh. yet, as you sit in the restaurant, the lights seem to float like golden lanterns reflected in the garden conservatory room, so pretty and elegant. The staff is amazing too. They float around around you, and attend to every turn of a fork, or a glass that needs to be replenished. The prix fixe menu is a great value, accompanied by elegant burgundies that are well matched. So pretty yet so far away.....sigh!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Level Contributor
255 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Extremely bad service during breakfast”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

while we were having breakfast the was a lot of movement inside of the restaurant, yes, we were the only customers, but we were there and it was breakfast time...
Vaccum the carpet and ironing the tableclothes are not chores you should do with customers having breakfast!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NLDS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a wonderful lunch at La Cloche in June. In a vacation filled with great meals (our group loves food and wine), this was one of the memorable ones. There was a nice garden view, the food was wonderful, and the service was prompt, and attentive without being obtrusive- in a word - perfect. The pre fixe lunch was 27.50 euros, so it's not cheap, but it's worth it if you're looking for a great lunch experience. Half the Dijon streets were under construction and parking was difficult so we just decided to use the hotel car park - and then we discovered that the parking was free because we were having lunch there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank old_lady_who
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins By la Cloche also viewed

 

Been to Les Jardins By la Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing