We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously accomodating”
Review of Dr. Wine

Dr. Wine
Ranked #18 of 587 Restaurants in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A new concept in a beautiful mansion in Old Dijon :- A luxury Wine bar with over 300 wines- Quality food served anytime of the day- A shop to find the best appellations from all over our wine regions- A private club dedicated to our members and eventsNouveau concept au coeur d'un Hotel particulier du XVIIIeme dans le Centre Historique de Dijon :- Un bar a vin haut-de-gamme proposant plus de 300 references de vin- Une restauration raffinee de qualite servie a toute heure- Une boutique avec les meilleurs cepages et appellations de nos partenaires vignerons- Un club prive reserve aux membres et animations
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Deliciously accomodating”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The menu was tapas (small plates) and they allowed us to make changes according to our dietary needs - pescetarian and gluten free. Which you will find is odd in France. Our server was knowledgeable and spoke English very well, which helped with special ordering and their extensive wine list.
This is the only place we had dinner out in Dijon and it was a great choice! We sat outdoors and it was a nice ambience though real grass would have been better than astroturf.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    208
    50
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Smart restaurant. Nice staff”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

A very smart restaurant, with good attentive staff.

The menu Bourgignon was very good - Jambon persillade, followed by boeuf Bourgignon & then a cassis sorbet. I wasn't a huge fan of the sorbet at is was too harsh & there was way to much of it.

Nice bottle of local red to wash it all down.

Helpful?
Thank andresykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food + good service”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Ironically, one of the 2 reasons I won't give 5 star for this place is due to the wine selection. This place is a wine shop as well, but they don't offer tasting type of menu. Also, for wine sell by glass, choice is limited for a wine shop. The dessert I ordered is a bit plain as well, although presentation is good
Otherwise, this place has great food: I had duck breast with foie gras, it's simply to die for; the mini burger with foie gras and sweet onion has perfect combination of the crunchy bun, the sweet onion, the fatty foie gras, mixed perfectly in each bite. The asparagus in meat sauce is also refreshing. Not a cheap place I have to say. 3 small dish plus a dessert plus a wine cost me €30.
The service is great too. They pay good attention to each customer. Overall, a good experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherry X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, kind and professional staff”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We have been at Dr.Wine twice. Once for drinks and once for dinner. The staff is very friendly and know their wines. The menu is different from other restaurants. It offers a wide selection of cheeses, salami's and other kinds of "tapas" alike food, including beautiful desserts.
Obviously there's a large collection of great burgundy wines, ranging from affordable to the expensive grand crus. There are wines for every budget.
The building is great. It breaths a medieval atmosphere and is tastefully decorated.
Dr. Wine offer the possibility to eat/drink outside. The courtyard is nice and heated. One remark, the green carpet took some of the grandeur away. It made it look somewhat cheap.

In short, great place, nice staff, good wines and good food if you're not in the mood for a heavy full option dinner..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning. Deserves a visit.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Went there with another two friends. The portions are very small - they are actually "tapas" accompanying the wine. Each "tapas" costs 4-7 euros. We ordered wine (big selection available) and about 10 dishes in total, which was more than enough actually. The taste was just stunning. Absolutely amazing. Order the risotto porcini, mushrooms, the beef, the quail legs, or the pork. We paid 40 € each (including tips) for a fair quantity of wine and food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ioannis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Wine also viewed

 
Dijon, Cote d'Or
 

Been to Dr. Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing