We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant lunch outside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grill & Cow

Grill & Cow
Ranked #73 of 578 Restaurants in Dijon
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

First of all I should say that we sat outside the restaurant, which looked beautiful inside. but it was summer and we wanted to eat on the terrace. Also, I'm not really sure why the heading on this site says the restaurant is American - it's really not. Oeufs en Meurette, Salade de Chevre Chaud,.....sure, they do steaks, but that doesn't make it an 'American' restaurant - though there were a few Americans here (we could hear them, funnily enough). The service is welcoming, friendly, helpful and efficient. The menu was quite extensive, plenty of choice for a variety of tastes. Not the best value for money, but that didn't really bother us overly. Good wine, good food, good service. We'd go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    204
    92
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove
Level Contributor
380 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“A real find by the market in Dijon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

There don't seem to be many good restaurants in central Dijon, so after a poor meal the previous evening it was a relief to eat in this fashionable restaurant by the market. The decor has crystal chandeliers and a lot of cowhide inside and a covered terrace on the pavement. It seems to attract tourists and locals. I had a delicious veal tornado sliced and served with a mustard sauce and baked garlic potatoes and my partner had a bavette which was perfectly cooked with excellent chips. We had half a bottle of Brouilly and coffee. The desserts and starters around us looked good. The on,y downside is that if you eat on the terrace as we did, people smoke. But that seems standard in France. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Looked promising, didn't quite live up to it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We chose this restaurant having seen the excellent barbecue grill with delicious looking steaks on the go. However sadly the service was slow and the euro24 strip loin steak was burnt at one end and underdone and gristly at the other. A huge disappointment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Canary175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Very smart interior & great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Really quirky / smart restaurant interior situated just opposite the main covered market.

The food was good - had ouef Meurette for the first time which I really loved. Had to return one of the chicken main courses back because it wasn't cooked. Bavette de beouf was very nice, as were the unusual conical cut chips.

Highlight of the meal was the creme brûlée & service - both were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank andresykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I ate here twice, the first time the food was fabulous but on the second visit it was just ok. The service was good and the decor is great - think byre boudoir! Good central location though

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 782Val3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill & Cow also viewed

 

Been to Grill & Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing