We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Guide to highlights of Dijon”

Cathedrale Saint-Benigne (Dijon Cathedral)
Ranked #8 of 67 things to do in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered a masterpiece of Romanesque art, this abbey church was built in 1007 and features a crypt containing sculptures dating from the eleventh century.
San Francisco
2 reviews
“A Guide to highlights of Dijon”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

When visiting Dijon last June, we used the services of a most delightful Guide, Sherry Thevenot, who was able to take us to parts of the Cathedrale Saint-Benigne that are not open to the public (the acoustics in the Crypt were superb for the musicians she provided) as well as to some other wonderful places in that lovely city. The 'Well of Moses' was a particular highlight as was the devine chocolate tasting. I would highly recommend Sherry's services and she can be reached at sherry.thevenot@gmail.com

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joanie425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    110
    25
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Half timbered area”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Dont remember if you go a couple of blocks to see the church with 1000 faces on facade and the streets surrounding with great half timbered bldgs

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank sftraveler1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Grand old cathedral with the most refined liturgy and hospitable atmosphere. What a joy and pleasure!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nordwestexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Church built on up of another church”
Reviewed October 9, 2008

I got to visit this cathedral on September 26, 2008. The cathedral itself is very nice but, the thing I found really fascinating about this cathedral is that is it built on top of another church. The earlier church dates from 1002. You can actually see parts of this church in the crypt. There are carvings in the pillars down there that date from that time. Also, sometimes, they hold services down there. It was something to be in a church that was that old. It felt like I was entering a time capsule seeing these 1,000 year old rooms where early Christians prayed.There is an admission charge to go down into the crypt. I've forgotten how much it is.

Helpful?
7 Thank LOTRfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedrale Saint-Benigne (Dijon Cathedral) also viewed

 

Been to Cathedrale Saint-Benigne (Dijon Cathedral)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing