We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding restaurant.”
Review of Chez Copains

Chez Copains
Ranked #78 of 601 Restaurants in Dijon
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Donegal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the staff are attentive and efficient, and the food is so good it is clear that you are in the care of people who really know how to cook well. There is a clear and extensive wine list which will suit all pockets and occasions. It is obvious that the staff set the highest standards for themselves. The restaurant is in a quiet street alongside Les Halles. It is one of a row of restaurants and does not stand out visually. However, it really stands out in terms of gastronomy and service. My wife and daughter and I had just finished a six day holiday in Burgundy and Franche Comte and had dined very well indeed. We hoped that our last night would bring our holiday to a happy conclusion. Thank you so much to the staff at Chez Copains for providing us with a lovely last night to remember in your beautiful city. You deserve to be famous.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiarmuidMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    146
    48
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local menu, friendly service”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great local menu and the staff went out of their way to help even though they spoke little English and we spoke even less French. Wine was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sando80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a great evening we had !

The food, the service, the ambiance... everything add it up for our pleasure. The cuisine was simple but delicious with the use of fresh produce. The prices just right for what we got. I will come back without hesitation next time around in Dijon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plannerHaolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Quiet meal in Dijon”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This restaurant is located in a quieter back street of dijon in a row of about 4 or 5 restaurants & alongside the large indoor market area. I would not say it is accessible for wheelchair users & those with mobility difficulties are likely to be included too as you need to negotiate a decent step up onto the decking (to sit outside) & a further step (to sit inside). The customer toilet was clean & tidy.
We were seated & served promptly & politely by the waitress. We decided to opt for a main & desert each, both of which were very nicely cooked, prepared & served to us.
The cost was not too expensive either, which finished off a very pleasant evening in dijon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frodo848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Very average food. There is much better food quality in Dijon. Steak, salmon and white fish (sea bass?) were acceptable. If you want a dish which is completely devoid of flavor order the chicken and vegetables which turned out to be a quasi Chinese dish minus any taste. Our server understood enough English to know "is there another kind of fish other than the salmon"(thus my reason for ordering the white) but brought us water with "gas" when we had asked for still water. A real moneymaker, I would think. When the server came to ask about wanting anything else & saw the chicken entree was hardly eaten and told it was lacking flavor--our dissatisfaction was not reflected in the bill--- we were charged the full amount for a hardly touched meal. What a way to spend our last night in Dijon. On to the champagne region-- better luck there, we hope.

Helpful?
Thank BuckyandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Copains also viewed

 

Been to Chez Copains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing