We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising stay”
Review of Hotel des Ducs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Ducs
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in the hotel at the end of june 2013.
When we arrived we found a parking space which has been mentioned as an issue from many people reviewing the hotel. as it was sunday i moved the car one street away at the cost of 1 euro.
The staff were very polite and gave us good advice on the city. The location was so close to the Palace of the Dukes and the main center of Dijon. The town was wonderful and left us with many good memories of our stay.
The room was good and had all the basics we needed. The bed was comfortable and the room had air con which was great as the weather was warm/
The hotel would be the perfect stay and location for a weekend break and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heirfister72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Ducs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 681 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Visited this city with 3 family members enroute to Paris and was quite pleased. Room was clean; staff courteous and helpful; close to center of city and fine restaurants. The front desk person spoke English and helped us get acquainted with the city. Using a local map, she pointed out restaurants worth checking out, location of the Post Office, as well as scheduled a wine tour. Everything was within walking distance. I plan on staying here again on my next trip to this region.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the Rue Lamonnoye.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanumtasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great location, indeed. But a clogged bathtub drain spoiled the "scenery". The staff wasn't particularly reactive about it. Breakfast wasn't worth the money we paid for it. Will go back to Dijon, but will definitely pick another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ekhinops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldesducs, Propriétaire at Hotel des Ducs, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We are sorry for this incident. But no one showed us to our reception a bathtub drain problem. We renovated during the winter all of our hotel.
Our technical staff can only occur during the daytime hours.
All our staff work every day to satisfy all of our customers and make it the most enjoyable stay possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a nice hotel in the center of Dijon within short walking distance from the city center. It's also quite modern and very clean. We recommend it strongly for young couples, but we very much caution families with small babies to be aware that the hotel currently considers babies as extra persons. Apparently, this is a singularity among hotels in the area. What happened to us is that we were traveling with our eight month daughter and booked double rooms for all hotels we stayed (9 of them in total). Upon seeing the baby, the receptionist informed us that "our booking is for two persons, not three" and insisted that for "safety reasons" (?!?!) we had to be considered as three people sharing the room and pay the price of triple room (20 Euros more -> 87 in total). We remarked that the baby usually sleeps between us (unfortunately, this was also the period that her teeth were coming out and she needed the extra care at night) but this did not change the situation. Despite finally paying the price of a triple room, we got a twin room and an extra cot, which the receptionist brought, that was actually blocking part of the room. We fail to see how this improved the "safety" of our stay there... The incident itself, more than the extra 20 Euros, left us with a bad feeling, because the room would have been better without the baby cot in it. An even better alternative would have been to have a double bed instead of twin beds where the baby ends up sleeping in the "gap" for part of the night...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny197109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldesducs, Propriétaire at Hotel des Ducs, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your appéciations our institution and the quality of our rooms.
Institutional security-related fire control provides a maximum number of people per room. Your child, regardless of age, counts as a person in terms of safety.
The provision of a bed for a child under 2 years is free.
You can control your bill.
Only our privilege rooms allow you to receive a cot and or 3rd person.
This information is listed on our website and in all websites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I booked this hotel online, not knowing much about Dijon. When we arrived, and saw the location, we could not believe how close to the center of the historic area we actually were - 1 block away! The hotel was lovely, and quiet, and we even had a tiny balcony. Our two days in Dijon were not enough! When we return, we will definitely stay at Hotel des ducs again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbialy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel enjoys a great location in the historic district. Beautiful area with lovely stores and restaurants. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Alexandra is a wonderful host. Rooms small but clean and have been updated recently. We enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel. We found it difficult to locate the hotel even though we had GPS! Have a good map with you! Parking cost 11euro and was a ten minute walk for me. You are able to pull up right in front of hotel to unload your luggage. As other reviewers have noted, elevator very small. We were sorry that we only had one day in Dijon. We will be back and will definitely stay again at Hotel Des Ducs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalosVerdesPeninsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel was located on line and was a good find; it is in the central district of Dijon and close to restaurants and many of the historic buildings. The staff are helpful, the rooms clean and modern, quiet in the evening. The rooms have air conditioning. Parking is a bit of a pain and is underground some 5 minutes’ walk away, although there is an area for unloading at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.4 mi away
Maison Philippe le Bon
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
0.6 mi away
Mercure Dijon Centre Clemenceau
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Dijon Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Ducs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Ducs

Address: 5 rue Lamonnoye, 21000, Dijon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dijon
#7 Family Hotel in Dijon
#10 Business Hotel in Dijon
Price Range: $87 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Ducs 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel des Ducs (Hotel of the Dukes) in Dijon is a beautiful three star hotel located in the center of Dijon. In the proximate vicinity of the Hotel you can find:* The Palace of the Dukes of Burgundy at 50 meters,* The Museum of Fine Arts at 50 meters,* The Opera of Dijon in front of the hotel* The circuit of "the owl ": discovery of the pedestrian zone with its particular hotels and the shopping center at 50 meters,* The district of the antique sellers at 100 meters,* The Palais des Congrès at 800 meters* The space reserved for travel agent's bus at 25 meters, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel des Ducs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Ducs Hotel
Des Ducs Dijon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing