We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent situation and very comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Le Pre aux Clercs
Ranked #4 of 15 Dijon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

A quirky place to stay with "fun" decor. Brilliantly situated in the centre of town. Our car was whisked away and parked nearby. Friendly and helpful staff with a great restaurant. The restaurant not only had wonderful food but had good art work on its walls --- a rare thing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cratcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 73 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

The
Pre aux Clercs is ideally located, we booked the Suite which is on the top floor and is absolutely romantic! Bathtub just next to the bed! Of course, there is a living room, with Nespresso machine, and a nice bathroom with walk -in shower. Breakfast is very nicely presented, not a huge choice, but we did not mind after the nice dinner the evening before. The owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful, took right away care of our car and bags, we really felt at home away from home. Would definitely return . Dijon is such a pretty town, lots to discover, nice shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: The Suite is worth the $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isi-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in the top floor suite for one night. We wish we had stayed a lot longer! It was in the very centre of town - a perfect location.

The bed was the most comfortable from all of the hotels we had stayed in 6 weeks through France and was also the biggest being a proper King size bed. The suite came with a huge claw foot bath in the bedroom and a separate shower, separate toilet. The water pressure was amazing and the room and linen supplied were immaculately clean.

We also dined at the one Michelin starred restaurant downstairs on the Place de la Liberation. The Place is beautiful and provides an entertaining backdrop to some amazing food - the best foie gras and roast Bresse chicken we have had yet. We also had a very helpful English-speaking waiter who was very friendly.

We will be coming back - in fact - it will be the first place we visit in France next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived late but the staff rushed out immediately to park our car and take our bags to our upstairs room. Though the room was much more modern in style for our taste, it was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. Best of all was Dario, the young man who brought up our bags, said he could make sure we got into hotel's first-rate restaurant, even though it was nearly 9pm. He spoke English and turned out to be our very attentive waiter as well. The view out the window of the restaurant was on the grand plaza before the Duke's palace. We had a dinner worthy of the best Michelin star restaurants, our compliments to chef owner Jean Pierre Billoux, a wonderful bottle of burgundy (Dario's recommendation) and had a glass of calvados and the petit fours from our three-course dinner brought up by Dario to our room afterwards.. We had a wonderful breakfast in our room in the next morning before exploring Dijon. We returned to buy a bottle of their excellent calvados cognac before we left Dijon and chef Jean Pierre greeted us warmly and invited us to have coffee while Dario wrapped up the reasonably price cognac (their own label and delightful). Everything was superb, first class and expensive. But them most of Burgundy and France is these days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill_Kathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Located centrally in Dijon! Moderate modern sized room, clean, lots of storage and outlets. Lovely walk-in shower, but not meant for two! A nice touch with the robes, espresso machine and funky lights above the bed. The room had no a/c and would imagine in summer will be quite warm, as going in November we had to keep windows open!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanm569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is not a hotel as such - it is a restaurant with rooms in a separate building next door.
The reception is in the restaurant where breakfast is served as well. However, there are no hotel facilities. The staff & management were very helpful & parked our car which was a big bonus as there is no on-site car park this being the very centre of the city. The rooms were very modern & funky & the walk in shower was great - the bathroom being very high spec although this is not a room I would like to spend more than a couple of nights in as it was quite small & there was no a/c. I think the room was quite expensive as there were no other hotel facilities but we enjoyed our stay. The restaurant was very good but there was no outdoor seating during our evening visit but I can imagine that to sit outside opposite the Ducal Palace must be wonderful & I hope to have the opportunity to experience that another time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeline34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in Pre Aux Clercs because it is centrally located in Dijon. The building was completely renovated with perfect design and functionality. The originally beams of the house is preserved and new architecture designs were incorporated. The lights are bright, there are enough electric plugs, good plumbing and good water pressure in showers are all rarity when traveling in Europe.
Madame Billoux, the owner of the hotel and restaurant is a gracious hostess and her assistance, Emmanuel is so helpful that we think of him as Mr. Belverdere. He comes straight to the room when Wifi is down and he would fix it as he promised. He also prepared a picnic for us as most things are closed on Sunday. Emmanuel is so considerate and efficient that we almost thought this is not France! We originally planned to stay 1 night and we extended our stay for another! I highly recommend this hotel and also trying their restaurant next door. It has a 1 michelin star and the wine list is very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The "Loft" is a cute room with shower only. The "Suite" is a really spacious ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelbug852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Maison Philippe le Bon
Maison Philippe le Bon
#10 of 59 in Dijon
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#11 of 59 in Dijon
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Dijon Centre Clemenceau
0.4 mi away
Vertigo Hotel & NUXE Spa
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Le Pre aux Clercs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Pre aux Clercs

Address: 3 rue du Palais | 13 place de la Liberation, 21000, Dijon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dijon
Price Range: $128 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Le Pre aux Clercs 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dijon's historic district, opposite the Palace of the Dukes of Burgundy, Residence du Pre aux Clercs offers five elegant guest accommodation, next to the gastronomic restaurant,With free Wi-Fi throughout the property.Guest rooms are decorated in a rather modern style with design furniture. Each room is equipped with a flat-screen TV, safety deposit box and a minibar. Slippers and a hairdryer are provided in the contemporary en suite bathrooms. A delicious home-made breakfast is served each morning . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Le Pre aux Clercs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing