We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Philippe le Bon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison Philippe le Bon
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
LONDON-UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Excellent hotel in a very nice city with old tradition
Very nice comfortable modern rooms in a an old 14th century renovated building
Excellent gastronomic restaurant "Oinophiles"
Planned to return next time at Dijon

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DSK540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHIGO, Gérant at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your comment left on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to see that you really enjoyed your room and the charm of the hotel and its courtyard.

We would be delighted to welcome you if you plan to visit our city once again.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    135
    69
    27
    5
See reviews for
66
197
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed in this hotel twice. The first time was 10 years ago as part of our honeymoon. As part of our 10 year wedding anniversary this year we decided to return here in April for 2 nights.
The hotel is in walking distance to all the main attractions in Dijon although it is not well signposted.
It has a beautiful courtyard and is located in a quiet part of town. Restaurants, shops and the main train station are all within easy walking distance.
However, the room needs updating. Our mattress sunk inwards and the room was very small.
It is ashame as we would now not return to this hotel again unless the room was updated.

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Didianne80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHIGO, Gérant at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your comment left on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to see that you really enjoyed the charm of the hotel, its courtyard and our town.

However, we are upset to read that your room didn’t meet your expectations and will undertake some works to improve this side.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed 3 days and we loved it! It is very good situated, walking distance from the center, good breakfast, clean and excellent rooms, we booked two rooms and they gave us both on the 4th floor, they were the only rooms on that floor so we had it for ourselves, we even left the doors open. We had a nice view to the garden/terrace. We had a car but there is a parking in front of the hotel and not very expensive so no problem there. The only bad thing about the hotel was the reception desk staff.....totally helpless, we asked about laundry, restaurant to eat on sunday, internet....the answer: don't know, don't know, don't know, and it was not a language barrier because we asked in french first and just to be sure we asked in english (French is not a problem since my daughter lives in Lausanne and she is very fluent!!) Anyway, we still enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyranag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHIGO, Gérant at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your comment left on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to see that you really enjoyed your room, the charm of the hotel and our town.

We relay as from now your comments about the reception desk to concerned staffers.

We would be delighted to welcome you if you plan to visit our city once again.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at this for one night (Fortunately). We had booked a double room, we are a couple with a baby of one year. The room was horrible! so small we can't even walk easily between the fourniture. The most annoying thing was the bed, a very very small one that is used usually for single rooms. There was a mansard roof that we had to avoid each time. No windows in the room. It was really like a prison room. For the price practiced it is a shame. The service and the hospitality are poor!!! we were sittng in the garden in the morning around 10 and the personal decided that it was the time to clean up the garden and they started without even asking us to move or something! the cleaning was with a big aspirator, a lot of noise and dust. In short we don't recommand this hotel at all actually I don't understand how it can be a 4 star Hotel...

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres sont très petites! Hotel très loin d'un hôtel 4 étoile, se mefier..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank difrancu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHIGO, Gérant at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your comment left on TripAdvisor.

We are upset to see that you didn’t enjoy your room and the atypical character of our establisement.
However, we are doubting on the legitimacy of your comment. Indeed, how can you imagine a 4 star hotel having rooms without windows ? It would be clearly not rated as a 4 star hotel : we agree on that point.

We would be delighted to really welcome you if you plan to visit our city.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanhoe, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel itself is charming & has a lovely garden & it is very well located. Our room was small but adequate & faced the street. Unfortunately it was a hot day & our air conditioning did not work.we reported this to the staff who acknowledged that this was the case but showed no interest in rectifying it. We had to leave the window open, but this was extremely noisy until almost 3am (the World Cup was on) There is a car park nearby & we could hear people returning to their cars as the noise travelled up as we were above street level
Breakfast was good & we were able to have it in the garden which was nice

Room Tip: Never agree to a front room facing the street. If you select a room at the rear you will enjoy your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marsham745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHIGO, Gérant at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your comment left on TripAdvisor.

We are upset to read that you had troubles with the air conditioning and thus with the noise in the street. We hope you had mentioned it when leaving at the hotel so that we can at least offer you the breakfasts.

We would be delighted to welcome you if you plan to visit our city once again.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I spent 3 nights at this hotel. Very easy to navigate by car or walk from the train station. Parking St. Anne is directly across the street. The staff was very nice and helpful. I stayed in room 301 which was a junior suite. It had historical elements in the room. Very nice bathroom and ac, which at 33C was welcomed. We had dinner two of the evenings in the courtyard. Both meals were superb. Highly recommend. The only negative, the wifi was very sporadic.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wannabegardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHIGO, Gérant at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your comment left on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to see that you really enjoyed your room and the charm of the hotel.
We relay as from now your positive feedback about the food to the Chef.

Regarding your comments about the Wifi, we are really sorry to read that the connexion was mediocre ; the problem has been fixed.

We would be delighted to welcome you if you plan to visit our city once again.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We arrived in Dijon on a holiday weekend where there was little choice for restaurants. So we ate in and had a great dinner in the garden of the hotel with attentive service and fresh, well cooked dishes which were well prepared with lovely flavours. Rooms are on the small side here but well appointed with good bathrooms. A hotel with lots of character in the centre of Dijon. Only negative is that the WIFI is unreliable and complicated to use.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old back part of the hotel have more charm and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHIGO, Gérant at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your comment left on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to see that you really enjoyed your room, the charm of the hotel and its courtyard.
We relay as from now your positive feedback to the Chef. We are really happy to read that your stay was perfect and that you enjoyed a lovely dinner in our restaurant.

Regarding your comments about the Wifi, we are really sorry to read that the connexion was mediocre ; the problem has been fixed.

We would be delighted to welcome you if you plan to visit our city once again.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#9 of 59 in Dijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vertigo Hotel
Vertigo Hotel
#4 of 59 in Dijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Dijon Centre Clemenceau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Philippe le Bon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Philippe le Bon

Property: Maison Philippe le Bon
Address: 18 rue Sainte Anne, 21000, Dijon, France (Formerly Hotel Philippe le Bon)
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dijon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Philippe le Bon 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the Palace of the Dukes of Burgundy, nestling in the heart of the historical centre of Dijon, Hotel Philippe Le Bon and its restaurant La Closerie, are made up of three majestic town houses dating from the 15th and 18th centuries. With its shaded patio, its listed Gothic courtyard and its several historical caveaux, you will appreciate this timeless place which then becomes a point of convergence of modernity and refinement on one hand, and of charm, authenticity and of French art de vivre, on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Maison Philippe le Bon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippe Le Bon Dijon
Philippe Le Bon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing