We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison Philippe le Bon
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was travelling with family and a small child so I was looking for a restaurant with rooms. This hotel fitted the bill perfectly. There are two restaurants that cater for different budgets. We would have loved to eat in the Les Oenophiles as the menu looked great but as he had eaten a big lunch in an Italian restaurant near the hotel we opted for the bistro for a simple supper. The food is good at the bistro as it has the same kitchen as the Oenophiles restaurant and the service is friendly and efficient. The wine list was small but the prices were good and we enjoyed a decent Chorey-les-Beaune Bourogne red wine while we ate outside in the fabulous courtyard.

The hotel has a nice sitting area in the courtyard where the Oenophiles outdoor dining area is located, a great place to chill out in the summer months. The rooms are good if you don't end up in one of the cramped street facing rooms (at least the first room we were given was like this). We had a room on the 4'th floor with a spectacular view.

The location is great. There are many areas with restaurants and bars nearby. It took us just ten minutes to walk to Les Halles market which is a must see if you are in Dijon & we left with a car full of great food. There is a car park right across the road and it cost only 9 euro for the 24 hours our car spent there. When we are in Dijon again we will be sure to come back here & next time to eat in the other restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are not so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPhilippeLeBon, Propriétaire at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

We thank you for your lovely comment left on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed most of the parts of our establishment and would be delighted to make you discover one of our rooms situated in the listed part of our buildings next time you visit Dijon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    143
    73
    27
    5
See reviews for
69
209
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fabulous location, steps away from the Museum of Burgundian Life and near the old centre. The restaurant is very nice and reception staff are friendly and helpful. Our booking was purely down to having to find a family room as we were travelling with our 3 young children and the Philippe le Bon was willing to work with us, booking adjoining rooms with one double and 2 single beds and a 3rd single. We arrived late and got room service with a smile at 10pm and had a lovely breakfast in the courtyard the next morning. Parking is across the street in a public garage which was clean and secure. We were only passing through but plan to return to Dijon for a longer break and will be returning to this ideally placed and lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the street-side balconies on the 1st (2nd to Americans) floor and it was perfectly quiet on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPhilippeLeBon, Propriétaire at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

We thank you for your comment left on TripAdvisor and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be more than delighted to welcome you again in one of our Family suite.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
Level Contributor
203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is tucked away in a quiet street yet only about 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre. Our room was small, very clean but was also very hot although there were three large windows that we could open.

Staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and was simple but plentiful. Dinner was served in either the restaurant or the bistro but I would recommend eating in the little courtyard belonging to the bistro as you feel you have stepped back in time. This hotel is ideally suited to those wanting to explore Dijon and further afield.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayPeaSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPhilippeLeBon, Propriétaire at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Madam,

We thank you for your comment left on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment. We are also glad to read that you loved our listed gothic courtyard dated back from the 15th century (time of the building of the hotel).

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Philippe le Bon for 1 night en route to a family party in Burgundy. The staff were so hospitable and friendly they couldn’t do enough to help, they really looked after us. We had a wonderful evening meal out in the garden which I would highly recommend and the breakfast was exceptionally good with all sorts of choices to suit an international clientele. Look no further for accommodation in the beautiful City of Dijon and experience the warmth and gracious hospitality unique to this part of France. We will definitely be back.

Gwyn Roberts, Ian, Pat and Colin Mackinnon

Room Tip: The elderly or infirm should avoid the rooms at the top of the medieval tower as there is a long cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gwyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPhilippeLeBon, Propriétaire at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear all,

Thank you for your comment left on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that your stay in our hotel was a success and we hope that you also enjoyed your family party in our wonderful region of Burgundy.

Hoping to welcome you very soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I had booked this hotel for a week's holiday as a package with French Travel Service. Our room (27) was in the new part of the hotel and had a lift (luckily for us, as we had large suitcases). We overlooked the old part of the hotel which was very quaint but there were winding narrow staircases and I would imagine those rooms would not be suitable for anyone infirm or elderly. Our bedding was changed at least three times during the week's stay and the room was kept very clean by the staff who were incredibly obliging. The reception staff spoke French and English as did the restaurant staff. We had a fridge in the room and the television had numerous channels though sadly only one English channel (BBC World). We used the restaurant twice which was also open to non-residents. Their gourmet menus were rather expensive (one was 69 euros per person) but we ate in the bistro which was better suited to our pockets! Those meals were served in a beautiful courtyard (we had wonderful weather but you could also have eaten inside had the weather been less kind). There was a pretty garden between the old and new parts of the hotel and breakfast could be taken there over the weekend. There were numerous comfortable chairs there too and we took a bottle of wine down late one afternoon to enjoy the sunshine. The hotel was situated only five minutes from the start of the shopping area and was around a 15 minute walk up to the railway station. This again took you through the shopping area which we found incredibly tempting! Restaurants abounded in this foodie city but we found several to our liking in the Place Emile Zola which again was situated around a 10 minute leisurely walk from the hotel. I would have no hesitation at all in recommending this hotel to any of my friends or relatives.

Room Tip: If in the new part, ask for a room overlooking the garden. If in the old part, be aware that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillibet12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPhilippeLeBon, Propriétaire at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

We thank you for your comment left on TripAdvisor.

We are more than happy to read that you enjoyed our establishment as well as its facilities and location.

The staff of the Hotel Philippe Le Bon would be delighted to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is centrally situated to follow the owlets route around old Dijon and not too far from the Place de la Resistance for more restaurants and cafes. The hotel has a fabulous courtyard where drinks are served and the restaurant is sited in the summer months. Our room was a little small but perfectly formed, looking out over the courtyard. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the quality of the food was excellent. Unfortunately (and here comes the 'nearly' bit) it took THREE AND A HALF HOURS to serve, mainly it seemed to us because the waiting staff had a really good natter with all the French guests and kind of forgot we were there! Breakfast was very good and the staff were very attentive and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPhilippeLeBon, Propriétaire at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

We thank you for your comment left on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read that your stay met your expectations and that you enjoyed your time spent with us.

We also take good note of your remark for the service of the restaurant in order to improve it.

Hoping to welcome you soon,

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at Philippe le Bon. It was our honeymoon and Alexandre took excellent care of us and gave us great tips for getting around the lovely city of Dijon. It was close to everything, but quiet at night. a superb hotel. When we come back, we will surely be staying here and cannot recommend the hotel enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CBW1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPhilippeLeBon, Propriétaire at Maison Philippe le Bon, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Sir and Madam,

We are more than happy to read that you loved our hotel and that we met our expectations for your honeymoon.

Alexandre and all the staff of the Hotel Philippe Le Bon would be delighted to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#11 of 59 in Dijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vertigo Hotel
Vertigo Hotel
#4 of 59 in Dijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Dijon Centre Clemenceau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Philippe le Bon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Philippe le Bon

Property: Maison Philippe le Bon
Address: 18 rue Sainte Anne, 21000, Dijon, France (Formerly Hotel Philippe le Bon)
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dijon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Philippe le Bon 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the Palace of the Dukes of Burgundy, nestling in the heart of the historical centre of Dijon, Hotel Philippe Le Bon and its restaurant La Closerie, are made up of three majestic town houses dating from the 15th and 18th centuries. With its shaded patio, its listed Gothic courtyard and its several historical caveaux, you will appreciate this timeless place which then becomes a point of convergence of modernity and refinement on one hand, and of charm, authenticity and of French art de vivre, on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Philippe le Bon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippe Le Bon Dijon
Philippe Le Bon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing