We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and next to Stephane Derbord” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wilson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Wilson
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Charming and next to Stephane Derbord”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel has great character, in a good location and as if that is not enough you have the sublime experience of Stepane Derbord next door. Pleasant attentive staff. Good clean room with all the facilities, a touch dark with little outlook. Short walking distance from the main town and sights

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnothernameScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson21000, Propriétaire at Hotel Wilson, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your commentary about our hotel.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Wilson in Dijon. I told to my team and to Stephan Derbord who is the the restaurant’s chief close to our Hotel all your satisfaction. We hope we will see you again if you come back in Dijon.
Your Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    132
    64
    15
    0
See reviews for
37
175
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aus
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel Wilson is about a 10 minute walk into the centre of Dijon. We arrived on a freezing cold afternoon in April after coming in by train from Paris and having to wait an age for a taxi. Once we got to the hotel we were quickly shown to our room and recommended a restaurant 3 minutes away. Had breakfast only on the first morning which was nice - fresh fruit, yoghurt, boiled egg, toast, etc. Staff were always very quick to respond to any questions and whilst the bathroom was very small (just enough room to turn around!) there was hand wash and in the shower, hair and body wash. Bed very comfortable and room was warm and cosy.

Room Tip: A comfortable place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soobooAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson21000, Propriétaire at Hotel Wilson, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your commentary about our hotel.
We have done our possible to adapt the old building that is why each room is unique and different to the other one.
We noted that you appreciated our staff and you enjoyed our breakfast. We are very happy about that and we will pass on this information to our staff. We are sure that they will be very happy too.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in a superior room on the 2nd floor (203) and while it was perfectly nice - clean, quiet, comfortable - it was not what we were expecting for a "hotel de charme" and at the price. No bath, just a small shower with removable head, and the toiletaries were a "3 in 1 shampoo, face wash and body wash", the TV was very small with just a few channels, very small window, no tea/coffee facilities, sparsely decorated, and with a slightly "old" smell. But the staff were nice, the breakfast was lovely and served in a cosy room with a log fire, plus the restaurant next door is excellent and very reasonably priced. All in all nothing bad, just nothing special, we have stayed in hotels like this in France elsewhere for about half the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson21000, Propriétaire at Hotel Wilson, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your commentary about our hotel. Your opinion will help us to do better in the future and we are going to work about your comments.
Nevetherless we noted that you appreciated our staff and you enjoyed our breakfast. We are very happy about that and we will pass on this information to our staff. We are sure that they will be very happy too.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
207 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We just left after two nights from this charming hotel. It's well situated in the city and offers parking in the courtyard at the back entrance. This is secured and private. The staff offered excellent service from a courteous welcome entry, when we needed extra towels or wine glasses, they were most accommodating. The morning breakfast bar was well stocked with fresh fruit, eggs, meats & cheeses, cereals, yogurts, salmon, & more. The breads were fresh and delicious croissants. The morning room was very pleasant with even a fireplace burning in the beamed room. Free internet service and a computer to use in the lobby. The room was adequate with a well made bed, a remodeled bath and plenty of towels. What more can you ask. This is definitely a place to return to. Don't miss out on this one. It's much nicer than two others we stayed at in the city. And the price, a super value for it all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StanSylvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson21000, Propriétaire at Hotel Wilson, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your commentary about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Wilson in Dijon. I told my team all your satisfaction and they were very proud of that. We hope we will see you again if you come back in Dijon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Pros:

- Friendly, English speaking staff on reception
- Quiet, upper level room overlooking the inner courtyard which was used as a parking lot. Other reviews have mentioned that there was noise from vehicles as they parked, we were lucky enough not to hear any of this
- Good central heating (a bit too good! spent a very warm first night before turning it off for the rest of our stay)
- Free wi-fi available throughout the hotel (passwords supplied at reception, one password required per device using the wi-fi)
- Short walk from the city centre (10 minutes?), streets were a little quiet at night time when returning to the hotel but felt perfectly safe
- Bus stop a few metres from the hotel, one of the buses went to the train station
- Right next door to the Michelin starred Stephane Debord (see my review), I think that there is a combined hotel/dining offer available
- Lift to upper floors (a little bit of a tight fit for 2 people with luggage)
- Lobby area with beamed ceiling and comfy armchairs was a great place to relax

Cons:

- The hotel is situated on a main roundabout, so rooms overlooking the street may be noisier
- Don't remember there being any English TV channels (if that's something that's important to you)
- Not really a con, but just be aware that the reception area is below street level, so if entering the main hotel entrance from street level, you immediately go down a short flight of stairs
- We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, so can't comment on this

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. On arrival we were met by an unfriendly lady staff member; who rushed us in. We've reserved secure parking for a fee; which was handy. On the second night we've parked in the street outside the hotel for free. The room was of a good size, clean and comfortable and well equipped. Room was facing busy and noisy street; quieter at night. There is breakfast option which we didn’t take due to overpriced fee. Wi-Fi was free and with a password. If you use more than one device in the room (laptop and mobile phone) ask for 2 different passwords! We wish we were told this info on arrival and not on our departure. Check out was by far a much better experience! Would warmly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: try to book a quiet room if you are light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hershie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This seemed like a great hotel in a good location in Dijon. It was our bad luck to have Room 1 which was kind of like a basement room. Very dark and with a small window that opened out into the public parking lot. So I felt like I was in a dungeon. It looked like the rest of the hotel was very nice -- so if you go there, be sure and don't get room #1.

Room Tip: I think I've made my point -- stay away from chambre 1. After a 24 hour trip from Boston, this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinrouge46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson21000, Propriétaire at Hotel Wilson, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your commentary about our hotel.
We are very sorry that you did not appreciate your room. As we try to do our best for our guests, if we have availabilities, we propose other rooms when our gusts want change. All our rooms are different, so we hope you will be able to choose another room if you decide to come again in Dijon.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sandrine, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#9 of 59 in Dijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Philippe le Bon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Mercure Dijon Centre Clemenceau
0.6 mi away
Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilson

Property: Hotel Wilson
Address: 1 rue de Longvic, 21000, Dijon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wilson 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located on the famous Place Wilson, at the heart of Dijon's historic centre, in a 17th century coach house which has been completely renovated.The 27 rooms of the hotel benefit from either a view on the green interior courtyard, showing the half-timbered wall, typical in Burgundian architecture, or on the famous Place Wilson.The large drawing room of the hotel has a stone fireplace in front of which you can enjoy your breakfast in winter. The bar welcomes you every day until 11:30pm.Finally, a beautiful room with an arched ceiling, equipped with all the modern technology, is the ideal location for your seminars, meetings and team-building weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Hotel Dijon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing