We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but a little disappointing”
Review of Hotel Wilson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wilson
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but a little disappointing”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in a superior room on the 2nd floor (203) and while it was perfectly nice - clean, quiet, comfortable - it was not what we were expecting for a "hotel de charme" and at the price. No bath, just a small shower with removable head, and the toiletaries were a "3 in 1 shampoo, face wash and body wash", the TV was very small with just a few channels, very small window, no tea/coffee facilities, sparsely decorated, and with a slightly "old" smell. But the staff were nice, the breakfast was lovely and served in a cosy room with a log fire, plus the restaurant next door is excellent and very reasonably priced. All in all nothing bad, just nothing special, we have stayed in hotels like this in France elsewhere for about half the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson21000, Propriétaire at Hotel Wilson, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your commentary about our hotel. Your opinion will help us to do better in the future and we are going to work about your comments.
Nevetherless we noted that you appreciated our staff and you enjoyed our breakfast. We are very happy about that and we will pass on this information to our staff. We are sure that they will be very happy too.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    144
    66
    15
    0
See reviews for
40
191
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
207 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We just left after two nights from this charming hotel. It's well situated in the city and offers parking in the courtyard at the back entrance. This is secured and private. The staff offered excellent service from a courteous welcome entry, when we needed extra towels or wine glasses, they were most accommodating. The morning breakfast bar was well stocked with fresh fruit, eggs, meats & cheeses, cereals, yogurts, salmon, & more. The breads were fresh and delicious croissants. The morning room was very pleasant with even a fireplace burning in the beamed room. Free internet service and a computer to use in the lobby. The room was adequate with a well made bed, a remodeled bath and plenty of towels. What more can you ask. This is definitely a place to return to. Don't miss out on this one. It's much nicer than two others we stayed at in the city. And the price, a super value for it all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanSylvain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson21000, Propriétaire at Hotel Wilson, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your commentary about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Wilson in Dijon. I told my team all your satisfaction and they were very proud of that. We hope we will see you again if you come back in Dijon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Pros:

- Friendly, English speaking staff on reception
- Quiet, upper level room overlooking the inner courtyard which was used as a parking lot. Other reviews have mentioned that there was noise from vehicles as they parked, we were lucky enough not to hear any of this
- Good central heating (a bit too good! spent a very warm first night before turning it off for the rest of our stay)
- Free wi-fi available throughout the hotel (passwords supplied at reception, one password required per device using the wi-fi)
- Short walk from the city centre (10 minutes?), streets were a little quiet at night time when returning to the hotel but felt perfectly safe
- Bus stop a few metres from the hotel, one of the buses went to the train station
- Right next door to the Michelin starred Stephane Debord (see my review), I think that there is a combined hotel/dining offer available
- Lift to upper floors (a little bit of a tight fit for 2 people with luggage)
- Lobby area with beamed ceiling and comfy armchairs was a great place to relax

Cons:

- The hotel is situated on a main roundabout, so rooms overlooking the street may be noisier
- Don't remember there being any English TV channels (if that's something that's important to you)
- Not really a con, but just be aware that the reception area is below street level, so if entering the main hotel entrance from street level, you immediately go down a short flight of stairs
- We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, so can't comment on this

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
119 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. On arrival we were met by an unfriendly lady staff member; who rushed us in. We've reserved secure parking for a fee; which was handy. On the second night we've parked in the street outside the hotel for free. The room was of a good size, clean and comfortable and well equipped. Room was facing busy and noisy street; quieter at night. There is breakfast option which we didn’t take due to overpriced fee. Wi-Fi was free and with a password. If you use more than one device in the room (laptop and mobile phone) ask for 2 different passwords! We wish we were told this info on arrival and not on our departure. Check out was by far a much better experience! Would warmly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: try to book a quiet room if you are light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hershie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This seemed like a great hotel in a good location in Dijon. It was our bad luck to have Room 1 which was kind of like a basement room. Very dark and with a small window that opened out into the public parking lot. So I felt like I was in a dungeon. It looked like the rest of the hotel was very nice -- so if you go there, be sure and don't get room #1.

Room Tip: I think I've made my point -- stay away from chambre 1. After a 24 hour trip from Boston, this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinrouge46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson21000, Propriétaire at Hotel Wilson, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your commentary about our hotel.
We are very sorry that you did not appreciate your room. As we try to do our best for our guests, if we have availabilities, we propose other rooms when our gusts want change. All our rooms are different, so we hope you will be able to choose another room if you decide to come again in Dijon.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Sandrine, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent two nights here at the front and back end of a week stay in the area. Rooms were clean. It was about a 10 minute walk to the center of the sites. Good value for the price. Free wireless in the lobby that also has bar service we took advantage of while using the internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a stopover. The old coaching inn is attractively decorated and a nice change from the bland chain hotel furnishings. We went out to eat and enjoyed looking around the centre of Dijon which is an easy walk, and did not realise we were next door to a michelin starred restaurant! The booking in and leaving process was very professional and friendly.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard which could get noisy with people parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
0.4 mi away
Maison Philippe le Bon
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#10 of 59 in Dijon
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
0.7 mi away
Vertigo Hotel
Vertigo Hotel
#5 of 59 in Dijon
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilson

Property: Hotel Wilson
Address: 1 rue de Longvic, 21000, Dijon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wilson 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located on the famous Place Wilson, at the heart of Dijon's historic centre, in a 17th century coach house which has been completely renovated.The 27 rooms of the hotel benefit from either a view on the green interior courtyard, showing the half-timbered wall, typical in Burgundian architecture, or on the famous Place Wilson.The large drawing room of the hotel has a stone fireplace in front of which you can enjoy your breakfast in winter. The bar welcomes you every day until 11:30pm.Finally, a beautiful room with an arched ceiling, equipped with all the modern technology, is the ideal location for your seminars, meetings and team-building weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Hotel Dijon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing