We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Respite”
Review of Notre Dame

Notre Dame
Ranked #4 of 72 things to do in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Early 13th-century gothic church features gargoyles and slender columns topped by the famous 14th-century Jacquemart Clock.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
950 reviews
521 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Peaceful Respite”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was not a "wow factor" church. It was very peaceful and prayerful. The windows were beautiful. I would like to have been at services there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    143
    31
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“beautiful architecture”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This beautiful piece of history forms part of the owl tour around the magnificent mediaeval town of Dijon, cote d'or.
the amazing silence hits you on entering an puts you immediately at peace with the world as you walk around the stained glass wonderment. the history is complemented by descriptive commentary under each artifact on English and French and other languages are accommodated on the printed sheets you can also find, describing the history of the building.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GarmischP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malua Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gothic splendour”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

More than just another church! A gothic masterpiece. Very cool inside so ideal for a warm day visit. Lots of other historical attractions nearby so plenty to see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unique Facade”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited several gothic churches while in Europe. This one had a facade unlike any other we have ever seen. There were very slender columns covering much of the front of the church. I've never seen a Catholic church that looked like this. We found many wonderful statues inside the church. Our son loved the tradition of touching the owl on the outside corner of the church.

The church is centrally located and easy to find. It is part of the owl trail. It was open when we were there, which was around 3:00 on a Friday, but I was never able to find out the exact hours the church is open. If you are walking around the area, this church is definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walmer, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Wonderful stained glass”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited this church twice, once as part of he Owl trail and again with a guide doing the Medieval walk. The stained glass is amazing, some is 500 years old. There are frescoes and a Madonna dating to medieval times.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrscoml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notre Dame also viewed

 

Been to Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing