We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief visit and mass”
Review of Notre Dame

Notre Dame
Ranked #4 of 72 things to do in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Early 13th-century gothic church features gargoyles and slender columns topped by the famous 14th-century Jacquemart Clock.
Edinburg, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Brief visit and mass”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We attended mass at Notre Dame. While impressive, we have visited other "Notre Dames" that wowed us more. We did enjoy attending the service. There were folks who held the door open though with a jar for money in their hands--they are beggars not door attendants. The lucky owl is a symbol for the city of Dijon. Our Lady of Hope (formerly the Black Madonna) is located in this church.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    146
    32
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Steep climb but worth it”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Absolutely beautiful views from the top. The bell tower is cramped and a bit overrated but nice to see. We felt very unfit walking up the spiral stairs but as I said it is definitely worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TimSouthportUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,351 reviews
388 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 667 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Notre Dame isnt as imposing as its Pariseanne namesake, tucked away in the centre of Dijon, but I can honestly say its architecture and sculpture on its frontage is as equally impressive

Small and dark inside the stained glass windows are beautiful

Nice place to spend 20 mins or so

Helpful?
1 Thank MJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting and pretty”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went to visit the Notre-dame on our walking tour through Dijon. It's really beautiful, and although not as big and well-known as the one in Paris it's still well worth the visit. The only thing that is slightly annoying is the people begging for money outside the entrance of the Cathedral. There is no entry-fee, so don't get fooled by these people.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lreburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“Fine Burgundian Gothic Style With Fine Colonettes, Home of Owl & Sacred Black Virgin”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I absolutely loved Dijon’s Notre Dame Cathedral, an architectural delight of Burgundian Gothic Style—most striking because of its tall, incredibly slender colonettes and delicate spires. The building dates from the 13th century, and much of its stained glass is original. The church is also topped on the right of its facade by a clock, called the Jacquemart Clock which was brought to Dijon by Phillip the Bold from Flanders in the 14th century. It has become one of the most recognized sites in Dijon.

Inside, the cathedral is soothing and warm—even on a winter day of snow. It’s definitely an ideal space for rest and reflection. The cathedral’s most sacred item is its famous Black Virgin, also called Our Lady of Good Hope. In 1513, this 11th century wooden image of Mary was credited with freeing the besieged city from the Swiss; and in 1944, she was credited with influencing the Germans to suddenly and almost miraculously lift their siege of Dijon. Her shrine is to the right of the main altar and near a spectacular display of stained glass. There’s a great energy of peace and inspiration here.

When you leave the cathedral, be sure to go to the right side of the cathedral (the side that has a street running by)—the Rue de la Chouette /Street of the Owl. Here, the famous Dijon Owl sits around six feet from the ground. For good luck, rub the owl WITH YOUR LEFT HAND. Don’t forget! He will impart wisdom and a sharp sense of direction, so you’ll never get lost on your many adventures!

TIP: Dijon's Notre Dame is located in the heart of Dijon’s historical center—behind the Ducal Palaces, steps from both the Francoise Rude Square and Les Halles Food Market. For the most picturesque approach to the cathedral, start from Rude Square and take the Rue des Forges to the Notre Dame Cathedral Square. Rue des Forges is the most picturesque street in Dijon that has the famous multi-colored tiled roofs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Loretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notre Dame also viewed

 

Been to Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing