We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad it was only one night - restaurant is best given a wide berth”
Review of Ibis Dijon Gare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Dijon Gare
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Tumbulgum, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Glad it was only one night - restaurant is best given a wide berth”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed in several of the Ibis chain whilst in France, mainly because this is quite a long trip and we decided to try out this hotel chain as it was quite affordable. We've stayed in Ibis in Bayeux, Chartres and now Dijon with Lyon, Avignon and Cannes to go yet. Obviously, you get what you pay for so the rooms are small and lack some of the finer things that nice hotels have. But so long as the beds are big enough and they are clean this is all good. However, let me tell you about Ibis Dijon Gare. I should've know that 'Gare' means station. This hotel is practically on top of the tracks of a very large train station which is situated directly across the road and it must have a heavy cargo train schedule going through because there was next-to-no let up from the trains. Despite having double hung windows, it's still noisy. We drove from Chartres to Dijon and were a little tired so we decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant. I'll start with the menu - it's in French, not that that's a problem, but when something is written up as 'Cotelettes d'agneau, jus au thym' you'd expect to get something a little more palatable than fatty, tasteless lamb chops of unequal thicknesses with fries that taste EXACTLY like they've been poured from a McDonalds bag. We were served 3 fatty boring chops, un-frenched with some bland pan juices and a medium serve of 'McDonald's tasting fries. For this we were charged 15 euro each and it was revolting. The waiter that served us was patronising and I don't believe it was because he was French as we have had nothing but wonderful and delightful experiences with the French and he was bordering on rude. The female and other younger male working tonight (25 Feb 2013) were very polite and professional, however this male waiter (who appeared to be the senior of the staff) was anything but. My advice is don't eat in the restaurant - you would enjoy slapping together some ham and cheese on a baguette more than any dish in this restaurant. Additionally, we were the only customers in the restaurant so it's not as though they were exceptionally busy. Getting back to the rooms, they are basic and outdated - the bed is comfortable though and the bathroom is satisfactory. I would not recommend this hotel though due to it's location and restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eyeball09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    294
    147
    35
    10
See reviews for
72
230
67
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked two rooms (for two couples) staying two nights in transit between Paris and Chalon-sur-Soane prior to commencing a river cruise. The hotel's proximity to the Dijon train station was very convenient being only a short walk away and also easy access to explore the city centre. We dined in both the breakfast room (continental buffet breakfast was included in tariff) and restaurant finding the quality of food and service quite good. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating to all our needs. The rooms were clean and comfortable meeting the usual Ibis standard for a short stay however we could have easily stayed a little longer. Excellent value for money and great staff, enjoying our time at Ibis Arquebusse.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmoreBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is located near the central station in a more industrial part. Within 10 minutes by foot, you are in the centre of Dijon by going through the station.
There is a private parking without extra charge. The room is big enough for a few nights, but not to stay in for a week or so. The breakfast is excellent with fresh bakeries.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The ibis hotel chain provides good value for money. While most of their hotels are 2 or 3 stars (dependent on who the awarding authority is), they do have a standard set of quality control. This meant that the service standards do not differ across their chain.

I can always find an ibis hotel next to the train station (within 5 mins), a major plus for me as I have to handle both luggages and a toddler. Standards are acceptable for the price we paid and there is always their 15min guarantee to resolve any issues you have (even for a change of room if you are unhappy about the conditions; I haven't done so before).

Highly recommended for mid budget travelers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xdarrenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel handily placed couple of hundred metres from the Station and ten mins from Town Centre. Ibis is unfussy without frills, fairly basic and this is reflected on the price. However if you want a nice clean bright modern hotel I doubt you would find better value. The Staff were efficient and friendly and the continental breakfast more than adequate. I have stayed at several European Ibis hotels and for a weekend away, as a base for touring the locality I would thoroughly recommend their Brand

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteinbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepe
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Clean and comfortable, somewhat clinical, hotel. Free car park in a grubby lot at the back of the hotel. Situated on a main road about 5 minutes away from town the location if fine just not at all picturesque.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Dijon Centre Clemenceau
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Dijon Central
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Campanile Dijon - Congres - Clemenceau
1.3 mi away
Mercure Dijon Centre Clemenceau
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Dijon - Gare
Kyriad Dijon - Gare
#36 of 59 in Dijon
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Dijon Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Dijon Gare

Property: Ibis Dijon Gare
Address: 15 A avenue Albert 1er, 21000, Dijon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Dijon Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close the main access routes, the town center and Dijon station, next to Arquebuse botanical gardens, natural history museum and the Planetarium, Ibis Dijon Arquebuse hotel is easy to get to. Added to this is the charm of a cozy contemporary hotel, with friendly staff to welcome you 24h a day. At 'Le Klub' restaurant: local cuisine, fixed meals and menus. On more practical matters, hotel has private and enclosed free external parking for cars and coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Dijon Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Dijon Arquebuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing