We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2009

You know when you are absolutely dying for a beer and you go to the fridge more in hope than expectation and there's a cheeky bottle of Kronenberg behind the milk? That's a little like Sofitel. Been driving for hours and was expecting a Fawlty Towersesque experience, but the service was excellent, the rooms so comfortable and the bed ridiculously comfy. It has got an old school elegance and is bang int he middle of Dijon - itself a really nice little town. All in all definitely worth a stop over - and I am the worlds biggest boutique hotel kinda guy...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2009

You find a few of these gems in travels across Europe. OK the decor is dated but the service is brilliant, the rooms comfortable and the restaurant superb. They have covered valet parking with private garages which I guess is why there's a procession of very tasty cars (mostly Swiss).

Breakfast buffet can get a bit hectic - you need to be on your toes to negotiate all the stations and people knocking you out of the way to get to a boiled egg. Think Germans and sunloungers x 10.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We only stayed 1 night as we were on our way to Monaco.

The check in service was fantastic we had pre booked a garage space.

We arrived quite late but still ate in the restaurant - good food, service & wine.
Breakfast was also very good with good service.

The only thing I would say was the rooms were quite small, but for the purpose of our visit they were fine.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed here in June for a weekend to explore Dijon. Reasonable room on the first floor, and we were surprised that the double glazing completely blocked out any noise from the busy street outside which was great. The room was clean & the bed was one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in!
However, we were really surprised on coming back to the hotel on our first night at midnight after a late dinner, that it was locked up for the evening. We had to call the main switchboard & ask for someone to come down to let us in - which I have never seen before in a 4-star hotel. The staff member who eventually opened the door to us seemed very grumpy to have been disturbed, and no apology was given.
Didn't bother with eating in the hotel as there were too many other nice restaurants in the area that were a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManxLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

La Cloche must have been a stunning hotel in 1985 when the Sofitel opened. Now it still has great rooms, extremely comfortable beds and nice decor, but the bathrooms and fittings are a bit old and dated. Breakfast is really good with lots of breads, eggs, croissants etc, but you have to sit in hte 1980's decorated breakfast room to eat it. Overall a comfortable and slightly worn hotel, probably due a refurbishment.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shentone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Traveled with husband, two married daughters and spouses. We found this hotel to be conveniently located for a wine tour, cave drawings, and chateau visiting. We spent 4 nights here. The staff was pleasant, the rooms clean, and breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsaAnnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed here for one night and thought it was great. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was great, and the staff were very helpful. We did eat dinner in the hotel because it was raining hard, and it was very pricey. There are lots of great restaurants right nearby to enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderLust044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0 mi away
Vertigo Hotel & NUXE Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Philippe le Bon
Maison Philippe le Bon
#11 of 59 in Dijon
486 reviews
7.5 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Dijon Centre Clemenceau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection

Address: 14 Place Darcy, 21000, Dijon, France (Formerly Sofitel Dijon La Cloche)
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dijon
#1 Spa Hotel in Dijon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dijon
#8 Business Hotel in Dijon
Price Range: $182 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the capital of Burgundy, this hotel is conveniently located near the Old Town and a number of attractions, including museums and the Ducal Palace. We offer you 88 elegantly appointed rooms and 6 luxurious suites, all equipped with modern amenities. Delightful gourmet French and international cuisine is available at our restaurants. For our more athletic customers we have a fitness center, and SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dijon La Cloche Hotel Dijon
Accor Dijon La Cloche
Dijon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing