We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in best location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We spent 2 nights in this centrally located, elegant old hotel. We had a large, beautifully refurbished room on the top floor with 3 attic windows overlooking the Place Darcy. There was a Nespresso machine, bottled water, robes, slippers, and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was very modern with a huge shower, ample toiletries, and a powerful hair dryer..
The breakfast room looked over the very pretty hotel garden and breakfast was adequate but could have offerred more variety. I didn't like the look of the sloppy scrambled eggs, so asked if I could have an omelette cooked, but that was not an option apparently.
We ate dinner close to the hotel, as it was raining, and had delicious food at L'Edito a quirky place decorated with many shelves of books.
Dijon is a great base for exploring the vineyards. On the way down from Paris we tasted the chablis in Chablis, and the next day we drove through the vineyards of Burgundy on our way to Beaune.
I would love to return there to see a bit more of this beautiful area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus2Argie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    389
    136
    50
    10
See reviews for
171
617
72
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
189 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

After the disastrous stay in Reimms this was a very refreshing welcome. Upon arrival the Concierge took care of everything. Our room was fantastic, with lots of space and views. The Hotel also had a Garden Terrace which was very pretty, and a nice bar. Located in the heart of the City with a Car Park, lots of Restaurants and Bars. Very nice staff and high standard of Service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absolutevenues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Ten minutes walk from the station and centrally located, this is an ideal base to explore the beautiful city of Dijon - La Chouette (the owl trail, rub the tiny stone owl carved on the cathedral wall with your left hand for luck) and the Musee de Beaux Arts are time well spent. As is the beautiful Musee Magnin with its superb 18th century rooms and decor.

The hotel has a restful garden which is also used as an adjunct to the dining room. The Jardin Darcy directly opposite also offers all the pleasures of a well-maintained park.

Full in-room tea/coffee making facilities (including Nespresso), adequate breakfast and cleanliness throughout were all pluses.

But there were niggles: annoying Wifi (have to constantly log on with name, email address etc), the smallest hotel safe I've ever encountered (could just manoeuvre an iPad into it, laptop would be out of the question) and an insubstantial shower screen that made flooding inevitable.

I booked directly with the hotel about 3 months prior, received a slightly advantageous deal and requested a quiet room. On booking in, the room assigned had a pleasant view of the street and park but a locked interconnecting door with the next room meant that every sound from it was heard (including intense and belligerent phone conversations).

After the first night, a change of room helped but this is a noisy hotel - not from the exterior (double glazing looks after that) but from within: building work on the second floor, the constant banging of doors automatically slamming shut, conversations echoing in the corridors.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PartyofOne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Two separate stays in July en route to and from Switzerland. We chose this because of proximity to the station (10 minute walk) but it was also very convenient place from which to explore this lovely city. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our rooms, both recently renovated, were very well appointed and comfortable. The restaurant has lovely outlook over a garden and reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregatimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I wasn't expecting much from the hotel, but it turned out to be a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay. We were very happy with our room and its amenities, and the attitude of the front desk staff was very professional and friendly. They were patient and helpful. Our car was parked for us at the hotel garage for free.

Dinner at the hotel restaurant (taken in the tranquil garden) was also a pleasant surprise: excellent gourmey quality, good service, and really good value. My only grip is that at an otherwise excellent breakfast, the young blonde waitress hesitated a lot and acted as if she was doing me a favour when I ordered fresh fried eggs instead of helping myself to the existing supply of scrambled eggs. But an otherwise faultless stay.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have eaves, but are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonmammoth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

A very competent hotel. Located opposite the park and at one end of the main shopping area, the hotel is s perfect location for exploring Dijon. Especially if you want to buy some wine, mustard, food from the excellent market...it's easy to nip back to your room with your shopping!

Parking is good - the hotel has its own spaces in a multi-level car park at the rear.

Room was what you would expect from this standard of hotel - not huge, but an enormous, comfortable bed.

Breakfast is served in a lovely rear court yard...but was pricey, so we ate in one of the local bars.

In summary, it is a hotel which delivers what it promises. No surprises, but for a stopping off point for a couple of nights, we were very satisfied with it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveCo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a few days with my wife to enjoy the region and ge wine tours.
The hotel was in front of a nice park, and the main street of dijon with all the traditional burgundy restaurant.
The hotel was quiet thanks to double windows in the room, and the staff was nice, open to help you out discovering the region.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Baptiste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
0.0 mi away
Vertigo Hotel
Vertigo Hotel
#5 of 59 in Dijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Dijon Centre Clemenceau
0.4 mi away
Maison Philippe le Bon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection

Property: Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
Address: 14 Place Darcy, 21000, Dijon, France (Formerly Sofitel Dijon La Cloche)
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dijon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dijon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dijon
#8 Business Hotel in Dijon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the capital of Burgundy, this hotel is conveniently located near the Old Town and a number of attractions, including museums and the Ducal Palace. We offer you 88 elegantly appointed rooms and 6 luxurious suites, all equipped with modern amenities. Delightful gourmet French and international cuisine is available at our restaurants. For our more athletic customers we have a fitness center, and SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dijon La Cloche Hotel Dijon
Accor Dijon La Cloche
Dijon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing