We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was torn between Hotel Du Palais and this. But in the end, for the sake of an elevator with my huge suitcase, I chose Sofitel.

For a 5-star, I was quite surprise when nobody helped to bring my bags up to the room while I check-in. But there was a porter to unload and brought my bags into the hotel lobby.

The room, albeit small coz I booked the single room, was very cozy, modern and clean. They can do a better job in the bathroom but it was clean enough (some soap scums but I've been to 5-star hotels with that in Asia too). Not dirty at all, so don't worry about the other reviews about the dirty bathroom.

The downside is that the free internet is capped only 3-hours. That's kind of weird for a 5-star. Even the Beau Rivage Palace, Lausanne which I've stayed in my inital few days of my Franco Swiss experience gave me free internet 24/7.

Aside from that, I'm loving this hotel. The room is very comfy, clean, contemporary and the hotel is strategic in its location. It's a nice relief after staying in a 3-star in Lyon. Remind me not to do that again! Totally not worth the vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzeeLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is, simply stated, an excellent hotel. It is located on a pleasant square with a park and is close to the historical part of Dijon.

I stayed in a "superior" room which is one step up from the standard room; this room included a nice sitting area and couch, which the standard rooms don't have. My rate averaged about $260 per night. The room had 2 windows overlooking Darcy square and park. Everything was first class from the soft towels to the nice bed to the spacious bathroom with separate toilet. There was also a small walk in closet with space for the suitcase and plenty of clothes hangers.

The reception staff was pleasant and helpful. There is a very nice restaurant overlying the hotel garden - I did not dine there. The hotel is close to the train station. Overall, a superb place to stay.

Room Tip: You may want to spring for a superior room with its nice sitting area with couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfmdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahjd65
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is not up to 5 star standard. I stayed on buisness in one of the standard room facing the back. The bathroom was not cleaned properly. When reported, I was ignored. The restaurant is overpriced .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Desmet666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank savvastzeve
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very nice hotel for the price! Location is very nice and central to most things to see in Dijon. We walked everywhere that we wanted to go. Room was a nice size, comfortable bed, clean, great views of Dijon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenleblancdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dijon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
0 mi away
Vertigo Hotel & NUXE Spa
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie du Chapeau Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#10 of 59 in Dijon
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Dijon Centre Clemenceau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection

Address: 14 Place Darcy, 21000, Dijon, France (Formerly Sofitel Dijon La Cloche)
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dijon
#1 Spa Hotel in Dijon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dijon
#8 Business Hotel in Dijon
Price Range: $190 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the capital of Burgundy, this hotel is conveniently located near the Old Town and a number of attractions, including museums and the Ducal Palace. We offer you 88 elegantly appointed rooms and 6 luxurious suites, all equipped with modern amenities. Delightful gourmet French and international cuisine is available at our restaurants. For our more athletic customers we have a fitness center, and SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dijon La Cloche Hotel Dijon
Accor Dijon La Cloche
Dijon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing